WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: What program do you use to burn a Tiny Core ISO in a CD-R?  (Read 5383 times)

Offline Mauricio

Re: What program do you use to burn a Tiny Core ISO in a CD-R?
« Reply #15 on: February 06, 2024, 01:42:57 PM »
I didn't understand the last part, what do you mean by dd-ing the InstantCore.img? That sounds interesting.

It means that an image is written to the drive with the help of dd utility. As far as I understand You have Debian up and running. Are You not familiar with dd utility? Sorry, I didn't catch the question.

I have a Debian based distro, yeah. I never used DD before, I'm a beginner in Linux world haha, but it will be my next try. I will learn to use DD, I don't want to bother you with it.

I already downloaded the InstantCore image. If I understand correctly, DD has an option to "install" that image to a plugged HDD?

Offline jazzbiker

« Reply #16 on: February 06, 2024, 01:54:18 PM »
Nothing in Your posts prompted that You are new to Linux :-) Sure, it is very useful utility and You can easily find a lot of descriptions and use cases. You are absolutely right, I meant it in the sense of writing of the image directly to the drive.

I should warn You to be very careful while selecting the target (of=/dev/sd?), dd should be run as root, so writing to an incorect target may cause the disaster. You'd better describe the steps You'll make to determine the target drive here in the topic before executing.

Offline jazzbiker

« Reply #17 on: February 06, 2024, 01:59:00 PM »
The final step will be
Code: [Select]
sudo dd if=InstantCore.img of=/dev/sdX bs=1Mwhere big X will determine the drive which will be totally rewritten with InstantCore.img without any chances to be recovered.

Offline CNK

« Reply #18 on: February 06, 2024, 01:59:40 PM »
Post Part One (working around forum errors)