WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Sound on AMD Geode LX800  (Read 9841 times)

Offline s3704ssv

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
Sound on AMD Geode LX800
« on: May 18, 2010, 01:59:17 PM »
hello to all!,

I am having problems with getting alsa working on my AMD Geode Device!, no audio output at all  ???.

alsamixer displays:
Card: CS5535 Audio
Chip: 0x800f800f P¦P  <-- not properly detected???

I'm seeing plenty of error like [in dmesg]:
May 19 04:17:25 (none) user.err kernel: Failure writing to cs5535 codec
May 19 04:17:25 (none) user.err kernel: Failure reading codec reg 0x7c,Last value=0x2680800f

Please see attached files

I hope someone can help out! :)
« Last Edit: May 19, 2010, 07:07:18 AM by curaga »

Offline wohlstandpenner

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
Re: alsa on AMD Geode LX800
« Reply #1 on: May 18, 2010, 03:17:43 PM »
isapnp off

and you can test it with the sb16 driver...

Perhabs.. there are lot of problems with the Geode moduls..


Offline s3704ssv

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
Re: alsa on AMD Geode LX800
« Reply #2 on: May 18, 2010, 04:29:11 PM »
@wohlstandpenner

I have tried out the boot code isapnp=off and tried to load alsa.tcz and still no avail :(

how to load these sound blaster modules? like 'sudo modprobe sb16'

note: I have tried this unit of mine on windows xp and ubuntu 8.10 and the sound works!

Offline wohlstandpenner

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
Re: alsa on AMD Geode LX800
« Reply #3 on: May 18, 2010, 09:31:32 PM »
looks on ubuntu whats configure you have..for sound..

I have some geode clients from the geode gx to geode lx..
It was very diificult to run sound on this device with tinycore.. But i have bring it to work..
Oss run often better on this devices.. I searched when i come home, for the modprobe modules parameters


Offline s3704ssv

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
Re: alsa on AMD Geode LX800
« Reply #4 on: May 18, 2010, 09:47:25 PM »
@^thehatsrule^

My apologies, I thought it was the right section to post. Anyways, Thank You.

@wohlstandpenner

ubuntu 8,10 loading on an AMD Geode LX800 is too slow too boot  :D and I don't know what to search for in order to import/note its settings.

@all

Any info would be appreciated!  :D

Offline s3704ssv

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
Re: alsa on AMD Geode LX800
« Reply #5 on: May 18, 2010, 10:48:29 PM »
I have tried using OSS and it works out of the box  :D

Can somebody tell the difference or enlighten me about OSS and ALSA? I'll be just playing wav, mp3, ogg or other audio files [maybe 2 to 3 players running the same time].

Will OSS be enough for my needs as indicated above?

Offline curaga

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10974
Re: alsa on AMD Geode LX800
« Reply #6 on: May 19, 2010, 01:37:19 AM »
Different sound systems, both with pros and cons, that's all. For a bit OSS-biased history see
http://insanecoding.blogspot.com/2007/05/sorry-state-of-sound-in-linux.html

OSS can handle your use case just fine.
The only barriers that can stop you are the ones you create yourself.

Offline s3704ssv

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
Re: alsa on AMD Geode LX800
« Reply #7 on: May 19, 2010, 05:01:18 AM »
ok, but I seem to be deviating to my topic titile :(

anyways, lets say I'll use OSS instead.

I've already loaded OSS.tcz and tested it with osstest and there was sound output!

[loaded up mpg321.tcz, ogg-vorbis.tcz and oggz.tcz as well]
I have 3 audio samples: 1 wav, 1 ogg and 1 mp3

played them in ossplay and only the wav file is played

played them in mpg321 and only the mp3 file is played [the wav file seems garbage and the ogg file did not play]

what audio plugins that I'm missing?

AND I seem can't do simultaneous playing :(

these are what ossdevlinks says:
1 audio devices
/dev/dsp2 is the next free legacy device
/dev/dsp0: symlink -> /dev/oss/oss_allegro0/pcm0 (should be /dev/oss/oss_geode0/pcm0)
   Already linked to /dev/dsp1
2 legacy dsp device files
Adev 0 (/dev/oss/oss_geode0/pcm0) is legacy device file /dev/dsp1
/dev/oss/oss_geode0/pcm0 is the default /dev/dsp device
/dev/oss/oss_geode0/pcm0 is the default dsp_out device
/dev/oss/oss_geode0/pcm0 is the default dsp_in device
/dev/oss/oss_geode0/pcm0 is the default mmap output device
1 mixer devices
/dev/mixer2 is the next free legacy device
/dev/mixer0: symlink -> /dev/oss/oss_allegro0/mix0 (should be /dev/oss/oss_geode0/mix0)
   Already linked to /dev/mixer1
2 legacy mixer device files
Mixdev 0 is legacy device file /dev/mixer1
/usr/lib/oss/etc/legacy_devices: Read-only file system

also, I tried: sudo vmixctl attach /dev/mixer1
error is: SNDCTL_ENGINEINFO: Invalid argument

Offline lucky13

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 76
    • my mostly linux-related blog
Re: alsa on AMD Geode LX800
« Reply #8 on: May 19, 2010, 05:13:49 AM »
[loaded up mpg321.tcz, ogg-vorbis.tcz and oggz.tcz as well]
I have 3 audio samples: 1 wav, 1 ogg and 1 mp3

played them in ossplay and only the wav file is played

played them in mpg321 and only the mp3 file is played [the wav file seems garbage and the ogg file did not play]

what audio plugins that I'm missing?

mpg321 only plays mpg/mp3 files; ossplay only plays raw files (like wav). Did you try the ogg with ogg123, xmms, mocp, or any other player?

Offline curaga

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10974
Re: alsa on AMD Geode LX800
« Reply #9 on: May 19, 2010, 05:15:21 AM »
Quote
played them in ossplay and only the wav file is played

played them in mpg321 and only the mp3 file is played [the wav file seems garbage and the ogg file did not play]

I recommend mplayer.

Quote
/usr/lib/oss/etc/legacy_devices: Read-only file system

That's a bug in the extension, thanks for reporting.

Quote
also, I tried: sudo vmixctl attach /dev/mixer1
error is: SNDCTL_ENGINEINFO: Invalid argument
This shouldn't be necessary, things should be automatic.
The only barriers that can stop you are the ones you create yourself.

Offline s3704ssv

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
Re: alsa on AMD Geode LX800
« Reply #10 on: May 19, 2010, 07:00:28 AM »
@lucky13

I thought that they could cater other formats but thanks for the info!

@curaga

I'll try mplayer then.

also, is there a way for me to help out to fix this 'bug'? or how can I enable mixing with my audio device as currently only 1 app can access the audio device?

Offline s3704ssv

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
Re: alsa on AMD Geode LX800
« Reply #11 on: May 19, 2010, 07:05:43 AM »
to Moderators:

can we change the title to 'ALSA or OSS on AMD Geode LX800'

I don't know how to change it.

Offline curaga

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10974
Re: Sound on AMD Geode LX800
« Reply #12 on: May 19, 2010, 07:08:08 AM »
Fixed already. Try the updated extension, hopefully you'll have automatic vmix with that.
The only barriers that can stop you are the ones you create yourself.

Offline s3704ssv

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 30
Re: Sound on AMD Geode LX800
« Reply #13 on: May 19, 2010, 07:47:56 AM »
@curaga

wow! very fast!, so..., I'll just download back OSS.tcz? and use it?

I'll try it after my work! and give feedback tomorrow then

Thanks!  :D

Offline curaga

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10974
Re: Sound on AMD Geode LX800
« Reply #14 on: May 19, 2010, 07:52:36 AM »
You can also do a delta update using appsaudit, saves time & bandwidth.
The only barriers that can stop you are the ones you create yourself.