WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: 915resolution how-to  (Read 4119 times)

Offline jur

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 863
    • cycling photo essays
915resolution how-to
« on: October 13, 2009, 12:37:05 AM »
I have read roberts' way to add a 915resolution startup script, but some of the finer details are lacking due to my own lack of knowledge. So here is an attempt to clarify for myself:

1. Copy the 915resolution [binary?] file to /usr/local/sbin/915resolution. (Not sure from where but I'll find it.)

2. Create a new file:  /usr/local/tce.installed/915resolution
whose contents are simply

#!/bin/sh
/usr/local/sbin/915resolution 50 X Y

where X and Y are the horizontal and vertical screen pixel resolution parameters.

3. Make it executeable. (Right-click Rox menu, set permissions)

4. Then tar up your new extension

tar -c / 915resolution.tce usr/local/sbin/915resolution usr/local/tce.installed/915resolution
(is it: create tar file 915resolution.tce from usr/local/sbin/915resolution and usr/local/tce.installed/915resolution?)

5. Copy your new tce to your tce directory.


Here I fall over because tce is no longer used. Should it be a tcz, so at some point should be zipped. Should it be zipped instead of tarred?

Also, why is mode 50 always spec'ed? Is that one used by default? Could it be any other one? If so, how do I tell Xvesa to use any particular mode?

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14755
Re: 915resolution how-to
« Reply #1 on: October 13, 2009, 12:58:36 AM »
What you're aiming to achieve is your own personalised extension.

If an extension contains a script in /usr/local/tce.installed with the same name as the extension, the script will be executed when the extension is loaded.

If you take the existing 915resolution.tce extension, you can do something like this to copy 915resolution into /usr/local/sbin:
Code: [Select]
$ mkdir /tmp/pkg
$ cp 915resolution.tce /tmp/pkg
$ cd /tmp/pkg
$ sudo tar xzf 915resolution.tce
$ sudo cp -a usr/local/sbin/915resolution /usr/local/sbin
Note that you would be better to load the gnu tar extension to do this, busybox tar seems to mess up the date/time stamp on files in tarballs.

A tce will still work, but you can make a tcz like this, starting with the new tce you just made:
Code: [Select]
[load the squashfs-tools-4.0 extension]
$ mkdir /tmp/pkg
$ cp 915resolution.tce /tmp/pkg
$ cd /tmp/pkg
$ sudo tar xzf 915resolution.tce
$ rm 915resolution.tce
$ cd ..
$ sudo mksquashfs pkg/ 915resolution.tcz
$ sudo chown tc:staff 915resolution.tcz

The "50" in "mode 50" is a graphics mode that you do not intend to use that will be overwritten by 915resolution to provide the graphics mode of your choice. You could use any other mode supported by you graphics chipset.

Offline jur

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 863
    • cycling photo essays
Re: 915resolution how-to
« Reply #2 on: October 13, 2009, 01:23:23 AM »
The "50" in "mode 50" is a graphics mode that you do not intend to use that will be overwritten by 915resolution to provide the graphics mode of your choice. You could use any other mode supported by you graphics chipset.
So how does Xvesa know which mode to invoke?

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14755
Re: 915resolution how-to
« Reply #3 on: October 13, 2009, 01:44:33 AM »
Xvesa gets it from ~/.xsession - in my case, the best I can get without 915resolution is "1024x768". With 915resolution I get 1280x800, eg:
Code: [Select]
Xvesa -br -screen 1280x800x32 -shadow -2button -mouse /dev/input/mouse0 -nolisten tcp -I 2>&1 > /dev/null

Offline jur

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 863
    • cycling photo essays
Re: 915resolution how-to
« Reply #4 on: October 13, 2009, 07:06:27 PM »
I couldn't get the 1600x900 external resolution going. At one stage I had a corrupted colour screen at a lowish resolution so it looks like it tried to use the setting but borked something.

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14755
Re: 915resolution how-to
« Reply #5 on: October 13, 2009, 11:40:40 PM »
Just to check - 915resolution is only for some intel graphics chipsets. Is yours one of these?

Offline jur

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 863
    • cycling photo essays
Re: 915resolution how-to
« Reply #6 on: October 13, 2009, 11:49:45 PM »
I have a EeePC 1000HE with 945GM chipset.