WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: desktop text  (Read 6774 times)

Offline JoXo009

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 152
desktop text
« on: September 01, 2009, 06:29:35 AM »
I found solutions to set TC desktop background color or to use a background wallpaper via the /home/tc/.xsession and /home/tc/.setbackgound scripts.

But I found no solutions how to output text on that desktop.

Is such text output possible and how could I it get working / which extensions should be used?

-------------
Postscript:
What I mean is something I've got on my UltimateBoot live CD - text not in some window, but on the desktop itself - for example a list of the actual PC settings or a ToDo list.
« Last Edit: September 01, 2009, 06:46:56 AM by JoXo009 »

Offline mikshaw

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 368
Re: desktop text
« Reply #1 on: September 01, 2009, 08:19:28 AM »
Is this the sort of thing you want?
http://home.schmorp.de/marc/root-tail.html

Offline JoXo009

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 152
Re: desktop text
« Reply #2 on: September 01, 2009, 08:43:55 AM »
Quote from: mikshaw
http://home.schmorp.de/marc/root-tail.html
I'll try if it's working for me.

Thanks, mikshaw

Offline MikeLockmoore

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 525
  • Good software needn't be big!
Re: desktop text
« Reply #3 on: September 01, 2009, 09:00:54 AM »
Sounds like you might want to check out conky.  I'm not very familiar with it, but it can put various kinds of system status info directly on your desktop.  I don't know if you can put *any* text, but I'm fairly sure you can at least choose from various categories.  There are .tce and .tcz versions of a conky extension in the official repository.
--
Mike L.

Offline JoXo009

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 152
Re: desktop text
« Reply #4 on: September 01, 2009, 10:00:25 AM »
Quote from: MikeLockmoore
... check out conky. 

I saw conky, but it's actually more a to do list than the system status I want to create as desktop background.

And it's first the idea and the question if possible at all.

In the meantime - with your help - I got the feeling, it's possible. So I'll create my automatic ToDo list and test if I can get it working.

Will take some time. If it's of any use I'll try to report the result here.

Offline MikeLockmoore

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 525
  • Good software needn't be big!
Re: desktop text
« Reply #5 on: September 01, 2009, 02:28:14 PM »
Main webiste is http://conky.sourceforge.net/.  It says it has built-in support for showing processes, mem usage, cpu status, etc.  I sounds like it can be customized with scripts written in the Lua langurage (maybe others?) to show about anything. 
--
ML

Offline alu

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 429
Re: desktop text
« Reply #6 on: September 01, 2009, 02:38:35 PM »
i would be very interesting to know much about how to do it; i find it funny and useful to have a black background with command lines or to do lists or something like that

Offline florian

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 116
    • Home Page
Re: desktop text
« Reply #7 on: September 01, 2009, 06:39:15 PM »
With TC2.2 you can put text on the desktop with everything included in the base.

aterm knows some nice tricks:
Code: [Select]
aterm -tr +sb -bl -sh 99
Used this in conjonction of your wm config, you maybe be able to achieve what you want.

For example, if you use jwm:
1 - add some group configuration magic in the configuration file:
Code: [Select]
<Group>
    <Name>backterm</Name>
    <Option>layer:1</Option>
    <Option>notitle</Option>
    <Option>noborder</Option>
    <Option>nolist</Option>
</Group>
2- restart jwm for the option to take effect.
3- create a symlink with name you specified in the goup config:
Code: [Select]
ln -s /usr/bin/aterm backterm4- and then finally:
Code: [Select]
./backterm -tr +sb -sh 99 -fade 100 [-e my_program...]tadaaaaaa! ;D

tip: you can use the -g flag to specify the position on the desktop

Offline Lee

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 645
    • My Core wiki user page
Re: desktop text
« Reply #8 on: September 01, 2009, 09:37:14 PM »
Quote
...
tadaaaaaa!

You, sir, are a genius.

I have to go play with that -right now-.
32 bit core4.7.7, Xprogs, Xorg-7.6, wbar, jwm  |  - Testing -
PPR, data persistence through filetool.sh          |  32 bit core 8.0 alpha 1
USB Flash drive, one partition, ext2, grub4dos  | Otherwise similar

Offline philip

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 125
Re: desktop text
« Reply #9 on: September 02, 2009, 02:17:28 AM »
florian, that aterm trick is a real winner. Thanks! ... Now for an extra challenge: does anybody know how to do the same stuff with flwm instead of jwm? I mean run aterm in the root window with no border, title bar, etc.

Offline jpeters

  • Restricted
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1017
Re: desktop text
« Reply #10 on: September 02, 2009, 05:00:39 AM »
Nice idea, write on your desktop.
   with  vim:

[removed due to policy]apps/vim-desktop.png

Offline bmarkus

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7183
    • My Community Forum
Re: desktop text
« Reply #11 on: September 02, 2009, 05:31:02 AM »
Hm.... Inventing 'Active Desktop' I have seen it already somewhere  ;D
Béla
Ham Radio callsign: HA5DI

"Amateur Radio: The First Technology-Based Social Network."

Offline alu

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 429
Re: desktop text
« Reply #12 on: September 02, 2009, 06:41:26 AM »
or do it with .setbackground:

Esetroot -s /opt/backgrounds/yourfavoritewallpaper && aterm -tr +sb -bl -sh 99 -geometry 120x50+1+1 -e vi

Offline jpeters

  • Restricted
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1017
Re: desktop text
« Reply #13 on: September 02, 2009, 11:59:36 AM »
or do it with .setbackground:

Esetroot -s /opt/backgrounds/yourfavoritewallpaper && aterm -tr +sb -bl -sh 99 -geometry 120x50+1+1 -e vi

That's a much better way to do it.  Loading "./backterm -tr +sb -sh 99  -e vim &" doesn't work
from a hotkey unless a terminal window is loaded. 

Offline alu

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 429
Re: desktop text
« Reply #14 on: September 02, 2009, 12:24:11 PM »
i am not totally satisfied with my solution, because i am using evilwm and have my aterm only on the first workspace, and not on all workspaces; i have no solution to make it stick across workspaces; does anyone know how to perform this? thanks