WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Logitech Media Server (LMS) on TC.7  (Read 49847 times)

Offline Paul_123

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1243
Re: Logitech Media Server (LMS) on TC.7
« Reply #60 on: January 24, 2016, 11:35:50 AM »
Neither will do what you think.   When compiling natively on an armv6 machine, you do not need to specify the architecture.

The binaries in the CPAN directory are dynamically linked, which could be a problem too

Offline sbp

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 429
    • piCorePlayer homepage
Re: Logitech Media Server (LMS) on TC.7
« Reply #61 on: January 24, 2016, 12:34:23 PM »

Offline Paul_123

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1243
Re: Logitech Media Server (LMS) on TC.7
« Reply #62 on: January 24, 2016, 01:21:01 PM »
I don't think using precompiled binaries is going to work for us on the armv6

I know it takes forever, but I'm just compiling everything natively on my rpi B

for Perl 5.20.3
Code: [Select]
./Configure -Duse64bitint -Dusethreads -Dprefix=/usr/local/perl5 -D archname=arm-linux-gnueabihf-thread-multi-64int -de
I'm moving onto the slimserver-vendor stuff.......

Offline jgrulich

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 341
    • GRULICH DESIGN - R&D Lab.
Re: Logitech Media Server (LMS) on TC.7
« Reply #63 on: January 24, 2016, 02:01:28 PM »
OK than, I'll try to make the perl5.20.2 and use the working slimserver for this version. Let's see if something of this will finally work.

Offline jgrulich

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 341
    • GRULICH DESIGN - R&D Lab.
Re: Logitech Media Server (LMS) on TC.7
« Reply #64 on: January 24, 2016, 02:08:32 PM »
I've tried build the  slimserver-vendor modules, but hit the error: "please install either yasm or nasm."
But no idea what to do with this. I've not found such a tool in the tcz repo.

Offline Greg Erskine

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 404
Re: Logitech Media Server (LMS) on TC.7
« Reply #65 on: January 24, 2016, 02:12:48 PM »
I don't think using precompiled binaries is going to work for us on the armv6

Hi Paul_123,

I am using the .deb package, which I assume use the same CPAN binaries, on a RPi B (Raspbian Wheezy).

Doesn't that mean they should work on piCore with the same version of perl?

regards
Greg

Offline Paul_123

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1243
Re: Logitech Media Server (LMS) on TC.7
« Reply #66 on: January 24, 2016, 02:28:45 PM »
Hi Paul_123,

I am using the .deb package, which I assume use the same CPAN binaries, on a RPi B (Raspbian Wheezy).

Doesn't that mean they should work on piCore with the same version of perl?

regards
Greg

Not all Raspbian binaries will run on piCore.   I believe that jgrulich has tried that approach.   What is odd, is that everything runs fine on piCore for armv7 on a rpi2.

rpi2 would be a much better LMS server platform anyway.


Offline Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11594
Re: Logitech Media Server (LMS) on TC.7
« Reply #67 on: January 24, 2016, 02:33:17 PM »
Hi jgrulich
Quote
I've tried build the  slimserver-vendor modules, but hit the error: "please install either yasm or nasm."
Try opening the  buildme.sh  file and find this snippet (don't worry about the line numbers):
Code: [Select]
99 which yasm > /dev/null
100 if [ $? -ne 0 ] ; then
101     which nasm > /dev/null
102     if [ $? -ne 0 ] ; then
103         echo "please install either yasm or nasm."
104         exit 1
105     fi
106 fi
Comment out the  exit 1  statement. As near as I can tell, it's only used for Apple computers running darwin.

Offline Paul_123

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1243
Re: Logitech Media Server (LMS) on TC.7
« Reply #68 on: January 24, 2016, 03:18:57 PM »
Comment out the  exit 1  statement. As near as I can tell, it's only used for Apple computers running darwin.

I see the same thing Rich..... there are some submodules that have their own configure script, but i've not run across any that need it.  I'm not sure what it would even do on arm, since it is an x86, x64 assembler.

When I tried to build this stuff a year ago, I ran into problems with the image scale routines.....would build but always fail testing.  I expected problems with the armhf libraries.  we'll see what happens when I get there.

Offline jgrulich

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 341
    • GRULICH DESIGN - R&D Lab.
Re: Logitech Media Server (LMS) on TC.7
« Reply #69 on: January 24, 2016, 04:28:23 PM »
Hi guys, as I've found the deb and git package are the same as the point of the program itself. In the deb package are some additional scripts for system integration, nothing important for us. What's important, that there are CPAN modules in the package and we have to use them and need to find the perl which will run with these modules. No way to make the modules again and again. For the perl 5.20.2 at Jessie I needed to use this CPAN arch modules patch: http://www.mediafire.com/download/153ccfm16lb5ka2/logitechmediaserver_7.9.0_CPAN_5.20_armv6hf.tar.gz.
(The link need to be updated due to dynamic link generation).
I'm using the really same mediaserver package as I have for Jessie for the testing at piCore. The only difference is the core and perl. Seems to me that the core is not so different and if the same kernel modules are enabled, that the perl need to work the same way. I'm trying to extract the perl from the Jessie, but it is quite difficult, because it's not in the separate folders, but spread in the system. Only libs are separated. It's fine.
As stated, I'll try to make the perl5.20.2  with the same config as Paul provided and test with my deb version. Will let you tomorrow when the compilation will finished.



Offline Paul_123

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1243
Re: Logitech Media Server (LMS) on TC.7
« Reply #70 on: January 24, 2016, 04:55:07 PM »

Offline Paul_123

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1243
Re: Logitech Media Server (LMS) on TC.7
« Reply #71 on: January 24, 2016, 06:52:17 PM »
Well piCore for a rpi B+ and rpi2 are working.

Extensions loaded and tested.....scanned my musing library and is playing music to a player.  I have not tried to download 3rd party apps or anything funny, but it should all work, as the only place it writes is the Cache folder and the prefs folder.

Cache and prefs is defaulted to being created at $TCEDIR/slimserver/.......  this is a persistent device
Logs is created at /var/log/slimserver  and is not persistent.

slimserver runs as a daemon with default ownership as tc.staff,

if you would like to change anything, you can make a copy of /usr/local/etc/init.d/slimserver and make changes and then back that up with filetool.sh.....

perl-5.20.3.tcz and slimserver.tcz extensions are here
https://www.dropbox.com/sh/qj0hrk42tiepokl/AAApIaR9_mpmmHor0SZPPGhZa?dl=0


Please test and give me some feedback with the setup

Offline jgrulich

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 341
    • GRULICH DESIGN - R&D Lab.
Re: Logitech Media Server (LMS) on TC.7
« Reply #72 on: January 25, 2016, 08:23:03 AM »
Paul,
I see that you've rebuild the perl too, what config setup you've used for building? What is different?

Offline Paul_123

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1243
Re: Logitech Media Server (LMS) on TC.7
« Reply #73 on: January 25, 2016, 08:27:32 AM »
Paul,
I see that you've rebuild the perl too, what config setup you've used for building? What is different?

The same CDM line that I copied above. I think the old one was fine, but  I just built on a model B+ to avoid any problems with armv6

Offline sbp

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 429
    • piCorePlayer homepage
Re: Logitech Media Server (LMS) on TC.7
« Reply #74 on: January 25, 2016, 02:50:45 PM »
Hi Paul

It is working fine - I haven't run into any problems yet.

It even plays through piCorePlayer on the same RPi2 (Squeezelite is using 0,3% CPU and LMS 0.2%CPU) playing flac through the analog out.

Good work.

How do you think we should handle the update process? Most likely people would like to update the LMS more often than you would like to update the tcz package.
I noticed that Michael just made a small dedicated ARM version (about 30MB in size) can it simply be untarred on top?


Steen
« Last Edit: January 25, 2016, 02:52:33 PM by sbp »