WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: keyboard in xorg.conf doesn't load at boot  (Read 4421 times)

Offline ramonvaldezz

keyboard in xorg.conf doesn't load at boot
« on: December 19, 2015, 07:42:15 PM »
I'm a total newbie (3-days and something...) in Linux world, coming from Window$.
I'm running Corepure64 from USB stick, created via Core2usb using the official .iso file.
I want to configure an italian keyboard. This is what i done so far:
1 - create a xorg.conf file in /usr/local/share/X11/
Code: [Select]
Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier "Keyboard0"
    Driver "kbd"
    Option "XkbLayout" "it"
    Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
EndSection

2 - add the /usr/local/share/X11/xorg.conf to .filetool.lst via ControlPanel - Backup/Restore for persistance.
I checked on reboot, the file is here with its content, so far so good.
3 - but when i boot, the keyboard is still US
4 - if i exit to prompt, then
Code: [Select]
startx
the keyboard is the one in xorg.conf file!
So, it seems that at boot time the xorg.conf file is not loaded, or that something overwrites its content.
So far I installed via Apps, both OnBoot:

- kmaps
- firefox

I read a lot of posts on keyboard settings, but still I can't figure out what is happening.
Thank you.

Offline Juanito

• Administrator
Re: keyboard in xorg.conf doesn't load at boot
« Reply #1 on: December 19, 2015, 08:33:19 PM »
Xorg conf files go in /etc/X11 or /usr/local/share/X11/xorg.conf.d/

Offline ramonvaldezz

« Reply #2 on: December 20, 2015, 02:39:10 PM »
Xorg conf files go in /etc/X11 or /usr/local/share/X11/xorg.conf.d/
I tried, but it doesn't work.
Maybe is not a problem of file position, because if I exit to prompt and restart the GUI with startx my xorg.conf file is correctly load (the keyboard layout is italian): basically X can find and load my file, at least when i do startx.
The problem is on boot.
Is it possible that on boot my xorg.conf is not loaded?