WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Extensions not working?  (Read 2307 times)

Offline jgreenburg

Extensions not working?
« on: January 04, 2012, 01:05:41 PM »
Hello, I am new to the Tiny Core Linux distro.  I have used several other distros for setting up servers but Tiny Core really attracts me because of it's extremely low system requirements and ease of use.  I have played around with the distro for awhile now but I cannot get one very important feature to work, the extensions.   I have setup the distro and done a frugal install to the hdd under physical boxes and vm's under virtual box, vmware, and xenserver.  But each time I have issues with the extensions. 

After I get past the point where my TCL machine is booting up, I go to load an extension.  I am able to use the extension browser to find the extensions I want and I set them to "on boot" and press go.  It does it's seemingly normal routine of downloading the extension and gets to the point where it appears to be done.  But no matter what extension I load, even after a reboot.  They do not appear to be functional.  I have tried nginx and openssh for example.  I load these particular extensions but I am not able to communicate with the server.  I am not familiar enough with TCL to determine if the service is running for either one but I know if I do a port scan on the IP, neither port 80 or port 22 are open.  I checked to see if it was a firewall issue but from what I read by default iptables is turned off.

I was able to load nano as an extension and use nano from the terminal afterwards so I believe the extensions in general are working.  Is there some extra configuration I have to do to get nginx or openssh running?  Are services by default listening on the eth0 interface?
It seems like all network based services aren't working out of the box for me, is there a simple fix someone can point out?  I dont mind calling myself an idiot :)

Offline gerald_clark