WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: cpu frequency scaling  (Read 9166 times)

Offline cast-fish

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1000
  • hi there
cpu frequency scaling
« on: October 29, 2011, 10:13:49 AM »
Hello

is it ok to turn off cpu freq scaling?

cpufreqd.tcz.....extension

What do i edit in the conf file there?.....ondemand HIGH and LOW....do i just set everything to 100
percent in those routines?

when saving the conf file, where do i put it for it to be persistent over reboots?

thanks

V.

Offline bmarkus

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7183
    • My Community Forum
Re: cpu frequency scaling
« Reply #1 on: October 29, 2011, 10:23:08 AM »
Install cpufrequtils.tcz

Add following line to bootlocal.sh

If you have a single CPU:

Quote
cpufreq-set -g performance -c 0

If you have two CPU's:

Quote
cpufreq-set -g performance -c 0
cpufreq-set -g performance -c 1

and so on. Don't forget to exit with backup or to make a backup using ControlPanel to make setting permanent.

After reboot use cpufreq-info to check settings.
« Last Edit: October 29, 2011, 10:28:36 AM by bmarkus »
Béla
Ham Radio callsign: HA5DI

"Amateur Radio: The First Technology-Based Social Network."

Offline cast-fish

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1000
  • hi there
Re: cpu frequency scaling
« Reply #2 on: October 29, 2011, 10:36:13 AM »
Hello

ok thanks bmarkus. will give it a go with your advice.

V.

Offline cast-fish

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1000
  • hi there
Re: cpu frequency scaling
« Reply #3 on: October 29, 2011, 12:02:28 PM »
hello

well it worked......but performance of the laptop seemed to actually go worse.

i checked the cpu speed and it had improved from 500mhz to 1.2ghz.

hmmm

the cpu chip is a 1.2ghz amd athlon mobile.

Offline gerald_clark

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4254
Re: cpu frequency scaling
« Reply #4 on: October 29, 2011, 12:13:09 PM »
All computers wait at the same speed.
Why do you want to do nothing with the fastest clock possible?

Offline Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11704
Re: cpu frequency scaling
« Reply #5 on: October 29, 2011, 12:32:57 PM »
Because it slows down his typing when the clock gets throttled down to 500Mhz.

Offline bmarkus

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7183
    • My Community Forum
Re: cpu frequency scaling
« Reply #6 on: October 29, 2011, 01:35:48 PM »


i checked the cpu speed and it had improved from 500mhz to 1.2ghz.

hmmm

the cpu chip is a 1.2ghz amd athlon mobile.

So it is running at maximum speed.
Béla
Ham Radio callsign: HA5DI

"Amateur Radio: The First Technology-Based Social Network."

Offline cast-fish

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1000
  • hi there
Re: cpu frequency scaling
« Reply #7 on: November 20, 2011, 11:27:31 AM »
hello

so how do you install "cpu freq scaling" feature into tcl?

extension "cpufrequtils"........... and then what?

ty

V.


Offline bmarkus

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7183
    • My Community Forum
Re: cpu frequency scaling
« Reply #8 on: November 20, 2011, 03:22:14 PM »
Béla
Ham Radio callsign: HA5DI

"Amateur Radio: The First Technology-Based Social Network."

Offline cast-fish

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1000
  • hi there
Re: cpu frequency scaling
« Reply #9 on: November 20, 2011, 08:39:06 PM »
Markus

Ok thanks

It's working right here....

just trying to get reasonable performance from this laptop.

started using a Firefox plug-in "youpop" which seems to be great for youtube videos.

This laptop has been giving me issues in the sense of performance. It's 400 mhz faster than
an old Pentium 3 (800mhz) laptop here.....but this compaq laptop has worse tcl performance. It's a
a k7 athlon mobile chip at 1.2 ghz. Same RAM and same swap drive.

not sure why it's performance is worse. But it's quite noticable.

Gone back to tcl 3.8 to see if that makes any difference.  Otherwise it's a bit of a mystery why
a 400 mhz faster chip would be noticeably worse?....unless it's this actual laptop's hardware which
is not agreeable with Linux...

It does mention some BUS incompatability at boot....and says use "force=1". It's basically saying that
tcl has incompatability with the aspects of hardware and bios of this machine. Not sure what the problem
is or how it affects the machines tcl performance.  I have not seen this boot error with any other machine running tcl
before.

V


Offline Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11704
Re: cpu frequency scaling
« Reply #10 on: November 20, 2011, 09:38:10 PM »
Hi cast-fish
Quote
Otherwise it's a bit of a mystery why a 400 mhz faster chip would be noticeably worse?
From a strictly hardware point of view, the processors speed is not necessarily a good measure
of how fast the machine really is. For example, consider this hypothetical system:
1. 100Ghz processor with 4K of cache
2. Hard drive with a 33Mbyte/Sec transfer rate
3. Memory connected via a 100Mhz bus
4. Maybe a nice video card plugged into that ISA bus
5. 1+2+3+4=A real dog of a system
High speed processors mean nothing unless the I/O systems they are coupled to are tailored to
compliment those speeds.

Offline gerald_clark

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4254
Re: cpu frequency scaling
« Reply #11 on: November 20, 2011, 11:56:25 PM »
My Compaq Presario R3000 Athlon is a real dog.

Offline cast-fish

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1000
  • hi there
Re: cpu frequency scaling
« Reply #12 on: November 21, 2011, 03:17:06 PM »
yes.

The thing is, however,...the compaq is fine with win32 and it shows it's fine by it's better performance than a pentium 3 (800mhz)..............  (800 mhz p3 versus 1.2 ghz  athlon k7)

Yes, i am not sure. You see Puppy shows what you would expect in performance increase on
the compaq....... Yet TCL goes the other way in performance. The tcl performance de-grades on the compaq.

It could be this booting flag error tcl throws. Something tcl does not like about this Compaq
 Moving from 3 or 4 tcl made no difference.

well...the compaq is usable even though it feels like sitting at a tank. It is usable with TCL
but not very pleasant.

There could be another laptop issue although i am unsure. Booting to these laptops sometimes reveals
a "stale ntfs clusters" error message for the same hdd. Infact Puppy won't boot to the HDD because of the error.

i figured that this error was not relevant if Linux is only using an ex2 swap partition which isn't corrupt.

V.








Offline Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11704
Re: cpu frequency scaling
« Reply #13 on: November 21, 2011, 04:25:33 PM »
Hi cast-fish
Quote
It does mention some BUS incompatability at boot....and says use "force=1". It's basically saying that
tcl has incompatability with the aspects of hardware and bios of this machine.
Maybe you want to post the exact message?

Offline cast-fish

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1000
  • hi there
Re: cpu frequency scaling
« Reply #14 on: November 22, 2011, 07:15:43 PM »
rich i don't remember it exactly

some kind of BUS incompatablity.....and says "upgrade your bios" or use "force=1"

It is perhaps concerning IRq's and bus lines...

i looked on google and it said "force=1" argument is extremely dangerous for hardware and can render a computer broken if used incorrectly...

this compaq never showed that "force" message with any other OS...

hmmmm

thx

V.