WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: VM Out of Memory; Kernel panic - not syncing: System is deadlocked on memory  (Read 8710 times)

Offline the_hopelessest

Hi there,
I'm new to TC and the forum. Please excuse me if I got something wrong.

I'm trying to build a VM for test purposes with frugal install of TC and as little memory as possible.
I saw the requirements of 64 mb and recommendation of 128 mb, and I went for it, but with 128 the TinyCore-12.0.iso wouldn't boot. It says Out of Memory: killed (process name) and some extra info I don't really comprehend well ... and at the bottom:  Kernel panic - not syncing: System is deadlocked on memory. Adding up a bit more memory (to 164 mb) would make it boot well.
Then I realized I need 64 bit version (for the binary I need to run there is compiled against 64 bit cpu), so I went for CorePure64-12.0.iso. It needed even more: 256 mb to boot.
I played with several boot options, making opt and home persistent, used nozswap and tried adding a swapfile - no success lowering the memory.

I came across this post:
http://forum.tinycorelinux.net/index.php?topic=23905.0
and so I decided to use an older version (10.1 as suggested) but ... it didn't help either.

Please let me know what are the realistic minimum memory requirements for such a VM running TC frugal install and how I might achieve it on VMware VM.
Thanks in advance.

Offline curaga

• Administrator
Software keeps getting bigger, and 64-bit software needs more RAM than 32-bit, that's unfortunately how it is. We haven't redone those measurements for a while, they were on an older version.
The only barriers that can stop you are the ones you create yourself.

Offline andyj