WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Disc errors when booting latest TC release from a CD  (Read 19917 times)

Offline tinypoodle

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3857
Re: Disc errors when booting latest TC release from a CD
« Reply #15 on: May 25, 2011, 10:03:07 AM »
But does this mean every user sees these errors?

users must all have hard drives probably with windows XP or win 7 on them?...right?

No. And no.
e.g.: amongst other, TC is ideal for many cases of diskless PC's.
"Software gets slower faster than hardware gets faster." Niklaus Wirth - A Plea for Lean Software (1995)

Offline gwalther

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 139
Re: Disc errors when booting latest TC release from a CD
« Reply #16 on: May 25, 2011, 10:45:52 AM »
Using boot code nofstab I do not get the error messages during the boot process, of course it does not pickup my extensions on hdb1 or my restore file.

The boot code ide-core.nodma=0.0 had no effect, still got error messages during boot process.
« Last Edit: May 25, 2011, 05:06:27 PM by gwalther »

Online Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11267
Re: Disc errors when booting latest TC release from a CD
« Reply #17 on: May 25, 2011, 04:48:55 PM »
Hi gwalther
That advice was for Guy. If you want to try it use ide-core.nodma=0.1 for hdb or ide-core.nodma=1.0
for hdc or ide-core.nodma=1.1 for hdd. You can try the  libata  advice as written if you wish.

Offline beerstein

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 530
Re: Disc errors when booting latest TC release from a CD
« Reply #18 on: May 25, 2011, 07:57:26 PM »
Hi:
I also have this errors during boot (from CD) when I use a machine with winxp on it.
When I tried the new 3.7 rc1 even more errors show up during boot - but at the end the
system works.
I Installed TC 3.7rc1 to HD and see- the errors disappeared completely. Strange?
t(w)o be(ers) or not t(w)o be(ers) that is the question

Offline roberts

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7361
  • Founder Emeritus
Re: Disc errors when booting latest TC release from a CD
« Reply #19 on: May 26, 2011, 07:34:45 AM »
How is cdrom connected to system? pata / sata / usb self power hub/ external powered hub / ?
What does /etc/sysconfig/cdroms display?
After boot with device error messages, are the same messages displayed. if you open an xterm and run sudo /usr/sbin/rebuildfstab ?
10+ Years Contributing to Linux Open Source Projects.

Offline Guy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1089
Re: Disc errors when booting latest TC release from a CD
« Reply #20 on: May 26, 2011, 09:51:55 AM »
Quote
Check if dmesg mentions  libata, if it does then you could try
libata.dma=0 instead
.

It does and I did. It did not work. Thanks anyway.

I am wondering if the drive needs defragmenting.


I have installed Tiny Core on another hard drive, in case that one fails.
Many people see what is. Some people see what can be, and make a difference.

Offline curaga

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10970
Re: Disc errors when booting latest TC release from a CD
« Reply #21 on: May 26, 2011, 09:53:54 AM »
Defrag is completely unrelated.
The only barriers that can stop you are the ones you create yourself.

Offline cast-fish

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1000
  • hi there
Re: Disc errors when booting latest TC release from a CD
« Reply #22 on: August 13, 2011, 07:17:16 PM »
Hello

has this "errors on boot screen during tcl CD disc boot"  been fixed?

Did most people fix it manually? by entering a bootcode?

what did they enter?

what

Offline JeffAF

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Disc errors when booting latest TC release from a CD
« Reply #23 on: August 31, 2011, 03:17:46 AM »
Hi

I'm new to TinyCore so I'm likely to make dumb assumptions etc - please be kind!

I've downloaded TC 3.8.3 and I'm getting the kind of error messages mentioned in this thread. This happens whether I'm using a CD to boot my laptop or the original ISO file directly to boot a VirtualBox VM. In either case the machine starts after a few repetitions of the error.

But ... when I use the installer in MultiCore to put a bootable copy on a USB external drive I get the error messages (four times each attempt so far) and the machine appears to hang.

Did anyone come up with an explanation (and a fix please) for this?

Thanks (and hello)
Jeff

Offline cast-fish

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1000
  • hi there
Re: Disc errors when booting latest TC release from a CD
« Reply #24 on: August 31, 2011, 02:31:33 PM »
hello,

i am not sure what has happened about this thread subject.

I also use the latest TCL release 3.8.3 on CD disc and it still has the
same error messages while booting. The messages show up on any machine
i try it on.

They said it was not seriuos error and did not stop tcl from working.

However, i was
thinking that they may have repaired it. Since this thread began there have been
2 new releases of tcl but they still both contain the error.

i believe that some people were able to avoid the errors by using
certain bootcodes but it's not clear if that was favourable.

I imagine they are too busy to fix these errors.

 Also the fact that they released the new
Multicore disc means that many people will actually "install" tcl to hard disc
and so less people will be booting off CD more than once. So the tcl team may be
less inclined to weed out the disc errors.


but you say your multicore disc does not boot at all...?

V.




Offline JeffAF

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Disc errors when booting latest TC release from a CD
« Reply #25 on: August 31, 2011, 02:55:45 PM »
I'm getting a bit confused having tried a number of options several times with different variations on the boot: selection (tc, tci etc). I think where I am is that a physical CD booting my laptop or an ISO booting a VM in VirtualBox throws errors but then works. An installation on a USB hard drive (produced from a VM booted using the MultiCore ISO) produced the same errors but hung completely.

I've checked my hardware by downloading another small distro and installing to the USB drive - which then works fine. I'd rather use TinyCore, or even MicroCore though because I really don't need much in the way of apps at all and I want this to work as fast as possible.

Cheers
Jeff

Offline cast-fish

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1000
  • hi there
Re: Disc errors when booting latest TC release from a CD
« Reply #26 on: August 31, 2011, 03:00:34 PM »
hello,

Yes. I also tested my hardware and found there isn't any problem
exhibited by other similar software tools.

Microcore may be ok.  i never tried microcore.

I tried multicore and it installed fine onto hard drives without errors.
(never tried it onto USB sticks)

i am not sure what you are doing with the VM...

V.

Offline JeffAF

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Disc errors when booting latest TC release from a CD
« Reply #27 on: September 01, 2011, 12:30:08 AM »
Installing into a VM was just part of trying out different scenarios to see what worked. Using it to install on the USB HD was simply because that way the install routine didn't have access to my laptop hard drive - I'm paranoid about messing that up!
Jeff

Offline cast-fish

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1000
  • hi there
Re: Disc errors when booting latest TC release from a CD
« Reply #28 on: September 01, 2011, 09:50:39 AM »
hello

same here jeff

My laptop has a special tool on it called "hyperos" which has a bootloader that is
different to all other bootloaders. (or at least it seems that way)

i am paranoid about putting any kind of new bootloader near my laptop hard drive. Which really means paranoia about installing any new OS. It's silly really, but i don't want to have to rebuild the laptop.

The "hyperOS" tool i have is suppossed to deal with both win32 and Linux at the same time but it's not clear about how it does it.

VM's is the only answer in this situation, but even doing the testing inside
 a VM will take me quite a while. I must install lots of stuff and test stuff.

i have only been given one real solution for sticking tcl onto my laptop hard drive
without affecting the current hard drive bootloader. That idea came from a guy on here who makes a special remix of tcl. He explained to me how to install tcl to it's own hard drive partition without including any bootloader involvement on the hard drive..... and then just use a floppy disc to boot into that hard drive version of tcl.

His idea only really works with his remaster of tcl. I notice many people are interested
in his remaster.  "The Lite Core"

However, for him to come up with this solution, i had already told him in advance about
"hyperOS" and i think he studied the bootloader system that was involved.

(also guys RICH and JASON told me how to achieve my needs and use a floppy containing the Super Grub2 tool to boot into the hard drive tcl version).....[non of the existing
hard drive bootloader was affected"


I don't understand all this stuff, but it seams that some forum people also don't fully
understand it.

My broadband DSL is going nuts here now. i am shifting 100 gigs of data per month. Extreme
data usage but i am on an unlimited data account.

As for these errors on CD disc booting of tcl. It would be great if the tcl team fixed it
because it is a bad thing to see when using a computer tool. Newcomers to tcl won't
like it at all.

V.

Offline coreplayer2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3020
Re: Disc errors when booting latest TC release from a CD
« Reply #29 on: September 01, 2011, 01:40:52 PM »
Isn't this the error of the new optical driver??  Where booting with a cd in the drive produces pages of these error messages?   I just open the cd try when booting since the issue has not been resolved.