WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: libreoffice  (Read 6214 times)

Offline jls

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2135
libreoffice
« on: February 11, 2011, 11:48:09 AM »
is it only in english?
dCore user

Offline Arslan S.

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 825
Re: libreoffice
« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2011, 12:17:04 PM »
default is us english but there are internationalizations which can be installed optionally
http://www.archlinux.org/packages/extra/any/libreoffice-it/

download tarball (click on download from mirror link above)
extract and move usr/lib/libreoffice --> usr/local/lib/libreoffice
mv directory basis-link to basis3.3 in usr/local/lib/libreoffice
then copy them to your file system (or create an extension)

run libreoffice go to options->language settings and set user interface language to italian, finally restart libreoffce for changes to take effect

there it is now in italian  8)
« Last Edit: February 11, 2011, 12:43:15 PM by Arslan S. »

Offline Onyarian

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 337
Re: libreoffice
« Reply #2 on: February 11, 2011, 01:46:57 PM »
I have made an spanish extension.
In this page
http://www.libreoffice.org/get-help/installation/linux/
is the information
in this the download of an rpm or deb language file
http://www.libreoffice.org/download/

With the rpm2cpio I have copied the results (this are going to make the installation in an /opt/libreoffice directory) to /tmp/package/usr/local/lib/libreoffice) and then mksquash to have the extension.

In my case there is no need to go to option->language settings because it was automatically detected with my boot configuration.

Is there a good idea to submit differents language tcz extensions to TC repository in the form libreoffice-es or -it, etc.??



Offline Arslan S.

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 825
Re: libreoffice
« Reply #3 on: February 11, 2011, 02:15:53 PM »
steps to create language pack extensions can be a script for various languages
but there are so many languages, in this case we can only add major languages and the ones requested by community

every update of libreoffice will also require the update of language packs so these extensions better be maintained by a single build script, i guess i should do it but if someone is willing to maintain libreoffice language packs just do it :)

Offline jls

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2135
Re: libreoffice
« Reply #4 on: February 11, 2011, 02:17:43 PM »
when I tied to compile libreoffice I remeber a configure option for all the languages
dCore user

Offline Arslan S.

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 825
Re: libreoffice
« Reply #5 on: February 11, 2011, 02:37:43 PM »
when I tied to compile libreoffice I remeber a configure option for all the languages

then libreoffice.tcz would be 1GB maybe

Offline jls

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2135
Re: libreoffice
« Reply #6 on: February 11, 2011, 02:41:44 PM »
don't think so
dCore user

Offline Arslan S.

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 825
Re: libreoffice
« Reply #7 on: February 11, 2011, 02:55:28 PM »
libreoffice has more than 100 language packs and each is approximately 15MB
http://download.documentfoundation.org/libreoffice/stable/3.3.0/rpm/x86/
« Last Edit: February 11, 2011, 03:51:47 PM by Arslan S. »

Offline Onyarian

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 337
Re: libreoffice
« Reply #8 on: February 12, 2011, 11:39:05 AM »
I made a first script that works for many languages, not all because some rpm files are named differently.
For example, the rpm files are as follows:

libobasis3.3-"$LANG"-3.3.0-6.i586.rpm
libobasis3.3-"$LANG"-base-3.3.0-6.i586.rpm
libobasis3.3-"$LANG"-binfilter-3.3.0-6.i586.rpm
libobasis3.3-"$LANG"-calc-3.3.0-6.i586.rpm
libobasis3.3-"$LANG"-math-3.3.0-6.i586.rpm
libobasis3.3-"$LANG"-res-3.3.0-6.i586.rpm
libobasis3.3-"$LANG"-writer-3.3.0-6.i586.rpm
libreoffice3-dict-"$LANG"-3.3.0-6.i586.rpm
libreoffice3-"$LANG"-3.3.0-6.i586.rpm

but, for example, in the german (de) language there is one as:

libreoffice3-dict-de-DE-3.3.0-6.i586.rpm
(a second DE after de)
and the result libreoffice-de.tcz is without this file.

In this case, first delete the newly created directories in /tmp (libreoffice and package), edit the script in the line:
/usr/bin/rpm2cpio ../libreoffice3-dict-"$LANG"-3.3.0-6.i586.rpm | cpio -id
substitute with
/usr/bin/rpm2cpio ../libreoffice3-dict-"$LANG"-DE-3.3.0-6.i586.rpm | cpio -id

and run the script another time


I tested it and works with es, it, fr.


The script is in the Programming&Scripting section:
http://forum.tinycorelinux.net/index.php?topic=8712.0

Offline Arslan S.

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 825
Re: libreoffice
« Reply #9 on: February 13, 2011, 01:54:25 AM »
i have created extensions of about 25 language packs, i used something like below to extract sources in my script

Code: [Select]
for i in $(ls *.rpm)
do
  rpm2cpio $i | cpio -idv
done

also there is helppack missing in your script which contains libreoffice help documents
« Last Edit: February 13, 2011, 01:58:06 AM by Arslan S. »

Offline Onyarian

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 337
Re: libreoffice
« Reply #10 on: February 13, 2011, 05:08:14 AM »
Yes, you're right, I have not taken account the helppack, because I have not clear whether we should make another help .tcz instead of integrating it all, many people do not use it and saves space.

Thanks for your code, I will modify the script.


Edit: script modified
« Last Edit: February 13, 2011, 10:01:41 AM by Onyarian »