WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: PHP5 - with zlib installed ?  (Read 19692 times)

Offline mamasboy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
PHP5 - with zlib installed ?
« on: January 03, 2011, 11:36:52 PM »
Hello there,

I need PHP5 to have the zlib added. Is there any easy way to add that?

Thank you!

Offline vinnie

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1187
  • HandMace informatic works
Re: PHP5 - with zlib installed ?
« Reply #1 on: February 16, 2011, 06:04:13 PM »
I might have a problem related, this is my phpinfo , on my php can not unzip file, i discuss of this here.

Offline gutmensch

  • Retired Admins
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 605
  • I can make it disappear, have no fear!
    • remembrance blog
Re: PHP5 - with zlib installed ?
« Reply #2 on: February 20, 2011, 07:52:38 AM »
try to use apache2-mod-php5 instead of php5, zlib should be enabled there.
If I seem unduly clear to you, you must have misunderstood what I said. (Alan Greenspan)

Offline vinnie

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1187
  • HandMace informatic works
Re: PHP5 - with zlib installed ?
« Reply #3 on: February 21, 2011, 12:19:14 AM »
this implies that I know to use apache, Please tell me where can I find a smart tutorial

Offline gutmensch

  • Retired Admins
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 605
  • I can make it disappear, have no fear!
    • remembrance blog
Re: PHP5 - with zlib installed ?
« Reply #4 on: February 21, 2011, 04:35:57 AM »
it's quite simple...

1. install apache2-mod-php5 (appbrowser or tce-load), apache2 will be fetched as dep
2. in a terminal run: $ sudo apachectl -k start
3. create test.php within /usr/local/apache2/htdocs/ including phpinfo()
4. browse to http://localhost/test.php

main configuration file for apache2 is /usr/local/apache2/conf/httpd.conf, for php they're in /usr/local/apache2/conf/php5/. add or remove extensions for php in dist.ini file and load appropriate dependencies (mentioned in the file). e.g. for bz2.so extension you need bzip2-lib.tcz.
« Last Edit: February 21, 2011, 04:38:15 AM by gutmensch »
If I seem unduly clear to you, you must have misunderstood what I said. (Alan Greenspan)

Offline vinnie

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1187
  • HandMace informatic works
Re: PHP5 - with zlib installed ?
« Reply #5 on: February 21, 2011, 06:55:27 AM »
gutmensch:works beautifully, to try to use something easier, I complicated my life for a week in a row, and apache is perfect.
Very thanks!  ;D

Offline robc

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 447
Re: PHP5 - with zlib installed ?
« Reply #6 on: February 21, 2011, 10:38:02 AM »
The apache2-mod-php5 is recommended for most users that are using apache + php.  The php5 extension is more of an example and place of reference for those who want to use php-cgi instead of a module.  I recommend creating a custom build of php5 to include only the features that your server needs. This is what I do since it keeps the size of the binary down and reduces the number of deps.

The build script for php5 can be found in the extension source directory.

For more information on php-cgi: http://php.net/manual/en/security.cgi-bin.php

Also, I am updating/rebuilding php5 and will make sure all of the default settings are be enabled.
"Never give up! Never surrender!" - Commander Peter Quincy Taggart

"Make it so." - Captain Picard

Offline vinnie

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1187
  • HandMace informatic works
Re: PHP5 - with zlib installed ?
« Reply #7 on: February 21, 2011, 06:46:11 PM »
Ok, thanks robc  ;)

Offline vinnie

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1187
  • HandMace informatic works
Re: PHP5 - with zlib installed ?
« Reply #8 on: February 28, 2011, 02:50:38 PM »
Ok, I have another problem, I begin to think that I'll never have happened.
Everything works, but when I go to log in with the data set during installation of dokuwiki, the login page is reloaded always from scratch and will not let me continue.
I understand that you probably do not know the reason, but I try the same, (I also asked two other forums): I think it has nothing to do with dokuwiki because it worked well with xampp.
This is my php info: http://pastehtml.com/view/1dfiflm.html

Offline gutmensch

  • Retired Admins
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 605
  • I can make it disappear, have no fear!
    • remembrance blog
Re: PHP5 - with zlib installed ?
« Reply #9 on: February 28, 2011, 05:36:58 PM »
heyho vinnie,

please always take a look into /usr/local/apache2/logs/error_log as PHP errors will appear there. It seems that dokuwiki needs a pcre lib with utf8 support, whilst our pcre.tcz in the repo doesn't support utf8 (at least this is the error I got when trying to run a dokuwiki login here). Though I don't like bundled libs that much, I will try to build php with its built-in pcre lib, which should support utf8 - only a guess but we'll see if it works out ;-)
If I seem unduly clear to you, you must have misunderstood what I said. (Alan Greenspan)

Offline vinnie

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1187
  • HandMace informatic works
Re: PHP5 - with zlib installed ?
« Reply #10 on: March 01, 2011, 03:44:08 AM »
Sorry gut, the fact is that I am really unaware of how it works, but from now on I'll keep it under control.
I try to ask directly to the packager, i send him a private message, I too would prefer a shared library :)

Offline gutmensch

  • Retired Admins
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 605
  • I can make it disappear, have no fear!
    • remembrance blog
Re: PHP5 - with zlib installed ?
« Reply #11 on: March 01, 2011, 05:14:31 AM »
updated the mod with bundled pcre, dokuwiki login now works for me... let's see what daniel says about pcre + utf8 ;)
If I seem unduly clear to you, you must have misunderstood what I said. (Alan Greenspan)

Offline vinnie

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1187
  • HandMace informatic works
Re: PHP5 - with zlib installed ?
« Reply #12 on: March 01, 2011, 05:38:00 AM »
I contacted Daniel with a pm, hope to respond soon.
Thanks again gutmensch :)

Offline vinnie

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1187
  • HandMace informatic works
Re: PHP5 - with zlib installed ?
« Reply #13 on: March 01, 2011, 10:10:45 AM »
Gut, I think you put the same version to the repository, is to wait for the response of the pcre package?

Offline gutmensch

  • Retired Admins
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 605
  • I can make it disappear, have no fear!
    • remembrance blog
Re: PHP5 - with zlib installed ?
« Reply #14 on: March 01, 2011, 10:19:59 AM »
no, I didn't update the current entry because I cleaned up some error from previous version... the current version is online, I ran tce-update, got it and dokuwiki was running. but you can recheck with ldd mod_php5.so, it shouldn't depend on libpcre.so any longer whereas the old version does.
If I seem unduly clear to you, you must have misunderstood what I said. (Alan Greenspan)