WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Downloading the repository  (Read 4678 times)

Offline Atle

Downloading the repository
« on: January 08, 2010, 09:48:53 AM »
Dear Forum...

I am leaving for Africa, and would like to give out Tiny Core for thoose who does not have internet acsess.

But how can I download the whole repo as one zip file or to be clear...  Download it all in one download.

Anyone got some tips?

I need to do it within 4 days

Best regards

Atle

Offline Kingdomcome

Re: Downloading the repository
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2010, 10:02:08 AM »
There are a couple of scripts in the Programming and Scripting section of the forum to download the entire repo.  I have posted the one I use here

Offline Atle

« Reply #2 on: January 08, 2010, 10:13:13 AM »
Hmmm... Ok... I am not that good at this:-)

Is there any way to make this a bit easy?

some simple command to copy paste?  like wget or what what?

I read you link and did not undersstand anything:-)

Offline maro

« Reply #3 on: January 08, 2010, 04:53:18 PM »
Hmm, I wonder why people are not using rsync to create (and maintain) local mirrors of the extension repository. FWIW here is the command I'm using to sync my private mirror:

rsync -tuvz --progress --stats --no-motd distro.ibiblio.org::distros/tinycorelinux/2.x/tcz/* tcz

The options mean:
    -t           preserves modification times,
    -u           skips files that are newer on the receiver,
    -z           compresses file data during the transfer,
    -v           increases verbosity, together with --progress --stats provides more stats,
    --no-motd    suppresses the MOTD from ibiblio.org

By using .../tcz/* tcz I can ensure that only files are copied to my local tcz directory (ignoring links or directories). But that is just what I do. Feel free to find the options that work best for yourself.

Offline Kingdomcome

« Reply #4 on: January 08, 2010, 05:02:58 PM »