WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: [SOLVED] xprofile or xsession fails to execute  (Read 3195 times)

Offline slinxj

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
[SOLVED] xprofile or xsession fails to execute
« on: August 21, 2009, 09:27:03 AM »
Hi,

I am running tinycore 2.0 with waitforX. I added waitforX into .xsession after the XVesa line to help with x not being ready yet. It seemed to help as I would be able to graphically boot much more often than before. The problem is that even with waitforX, sometimes (1/10) boots something still fails and it drops me to a command prompt where I have to type "startx" manually to continue.

Are there any places I can "sleep" or add some magic remedy code to make it not drop me to prompt on boot?

Thanks!

P.S. Loving tinycore :)
« Last Edit: August 25, 2009, 03:49:21 PM by slinxj »

Offline ^thehatsrule^

  • Retired Admins
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1726
Re: xprofile or xsession fails to execute
« Reply #1 on: August 22, 2009, 12:33:28 AM »
There is a 'timeout' set at around 10 seconds.  What kind of system are you running?

If you think it does take longer than that, you could confirm it by changing the waitforX line in ~/.xsession with
Code: [Select]
date > /tmp/somelog
waitforX 2>> /tmp/somelog
date >> /tmp/somelog
and post the contents of /tmp/somelog here.

Otherwise, posting ~/.xession may help

Offline slinxj

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: xprofile or xsession fails to execute
« Reply #2 on: August 24, 2009, 09:28:27 AM »
Hey, thanks for getting back to me.
I am running it on a core2duo so 10 seconds should be plenty. .xsession is stock except I added a line at the end to launch Dillo as I include it and a few packages into the initrd which does increase the size. Don't know if that causes some of the timings to be off?
 

Offline ^thehatsrule^

  • Retired Admins
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1726
Re: xprofile or xsession fails to execute
« Reply #3 on: August 24, 2009, 04:08:47 PM »
Posting the contents of that file might be easier to see.  Upgrading to a later version might help as well, since that is when waitforX was officially included (could compare configs with it).

Offline slinxj

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: xprofile or xsession fails to execute
« Reply #4 on: August 25, 2009, 11:10:14 AM »
Hey, here's my xsession:

Code: [Select]
Xvesa -br -screen 1024x768x32 -shadow -2button -mouse /dev/input/mice,5 -nolisten tcp -I > /dev/null 2>&1 &
waitforX

export ICONS=`cat /etc/sysconfig/icons`
export DESKTOP=`cat /etc/sysconfig/desktop`
"$DESKTOP" 2>/tmp/wm_errors &
export WM_PID=$!
[ -x ./.setbackground ] && ./.setbackground
#[ "$ICONS" == "wbar" ] && /usr/bin/wbar.sh
[ -x ./.mouse_config ] && ./.mouse_config &

#launch browser
dillo

wait $WM_PID
 

I also noticed sometimes instead of dropping to prompt it drops me to password login screen and sometimes it launches dillo but my background and window decoration is missing. Really sounds like something is still racing something else.

Thanks.

Offline ^thehatsrule^

  • Retired Admins
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1726
Re: xprofile or xsession fails to execute
« Reply #5 on: August 25, 2009, 01:26:03 PM »
Try "dillo &" (but this probably won't fix the root cause)

Offline slinxj

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: xprofile or xsession fails to execute
« Reply #6 on: August 25, 2009, 02:02:20 PM »
Tried it with no luck  :-\ Thanks.

I really don't want to remaster again but I guess if this issue is non-existent in the new initrd I will try to upgrade to 2.2.

Offline slinxj

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: xprofile or xsession fails to execute
« Reply #7 on: August 25, 2009, 03:27:34 PM »
Solved!

For anyone also having this problem:

Edit etc/inittab and add "-d N" to your getty where N is some number of seconds. 5 seems to be long enough to make sure everything works!


Offline ^thehatsrule^

  • Retired Admins
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1726
Re: [SOLVED] xprofile or xsession fails to execute
« Reply #8 on: August 27, 2009, 01:27:36 AM »
Just wondering... was your inittab modified when you first encountered this problem?