WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Having trouble setting up Sway on TCL CorePure 64 15.x  (Read 124 times)

Offline asilentmurmur

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Having trouble setting up Sway on TCL CorePure 64 15.x
« on: October 18, 2024, 09:37:07 PM »
Hello TCL Family!

I hope all is well. I am trying to run Sway on TCL CorePure64 15.x on a QEMU VM and I am running into some issues.  I have the Sway TCE and Sway-dot TCE installed and loaded.  I wrote a small startup script called start-wl and placed it in ~/.local/bin to start up Sway. The script looks like this:

Code: [Select]
#/bin/sh

tce-load -i sway sway-dot

# set env

read USER < /etc/sysconfig/tcuser

if [ ! -d /run/user/$(id -u "$USER") ]; then

      mkdir -p /run/user/$(id -u "$USER")
      chown "$USER:staff /run/user/$(id -u "$USER")
      chmod 700 /run/user/$(id -u "$USER")
fi

sudo seatd -g staff -n /run/seatd.sock &
export XDG_RUNTIME_DIR=/run/user/$(id -u)

exec sway

The issues I am facing are as follows: 1) whenever I run the script and Sway starts, I am able to use the keybindings but if, lets say I do a Super + a and open the Apps browser application, I am unable to click on anything. In other words, my mouse is unable to click on any links or any buttons or anything.  Only my keyboard works.  2) when I do a pkill sway and kill the Sway process, I see the following error:  [seatd/seatd.c:198 could not write readiness signal: Bad file descriptor]

I have no idea how to fix these two issues and I would greatly appreciate it if someone could help me with these issues.  Also, would the same issues occur if I decide to install TCL on my bare metal laptop instead of a VM?


Thank you!

Offline Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11544
Re: Having trouble setting up Sway on TCL CorePure 64 15.x
« Reply #1 on: October 19, 2024, 01:08:37 AM »
Hi asilentmurmur
Did you read the  .info  files? They contain a lot of notes:
http://tinycorelinux.net/15.x/x86_64/tcz/sway-dot.tcz.info
http://tinycorelinux.net/15.x/x86_64/tcz/sway.tcz.info

Offline gadget42

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 747
Re: Having trouble setting up Sway on TCL CorePure 64 15.x
« Reply #2 on: October 19, 2024, 06:25:10 AM »
looking back through old posts...

https://forum.tinycorelinux.net/index.php/topic,22230.0.html

how did that finally work out?
The fluctuation theorem has long been known for a sudden switch of the Hamiltonian of a classical system Z54 . For a quantum system with a Hamiltonian changing from... https://forum.tinycorelinux.net/index.php/topic,25972.msg166580.html#msg166580

Offline asilentmurmur

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Having trouble setting up Sway on TCL CorePure 64 15.x
« Reply #3 on: October 19, 2024, 07:11:39 AM »
looking back through old posts...

https://forum.tinycorelinux.net/index.php/topic,22230.0.html

how did that finally work out?

lol damn I forgot I had even posted that question LOL   I am able to run Xorg just fine on TinyCore.. its running Sway that I am having issues with unfortunately

Offline asilentmurmur

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Having trouble setting up Sway on TCL CorePure 64 15.x
« Reply #4 on: October 19, 2024, 07:12:42 AM »
Hi asilentmurmur
Did you read the  .info  files? They contain a lot of notes:
http://tinycorelinux.net/15.x/x86_64/tcz/sway-dot.tcz.info
http://tinycorelinux.net/15.x/x86_64/tcz/sway.tcz.info

I did.. Unfortunately even after following the steps mentioned in the notes, I still face the same issues that I mentioned in my original post.