Tiny Core Base > CorePlus

Need some help on WiFi

(1/4) > >>

ernest072:
Need some help with WiFi  :-[ I have made an USB-bootable stick with the TC-Plus. After some struggle to format the internal hard-disk I was able to install the TC on this hard-disk and can boot from it. So far so good, but once booted the WiFi does not work. If I boot from the USB-stick I can see and choose from available WiFi networks and can install from the mirror (like wireless_tools and such). But being an absolute newbie not sure how to get the WiFi going when booted from the HD.

Info: When booted from HD I have this WiFi icon on the desktop, but if I click that I get a window with sudo on the top-left, and a black screen. This screen disappears after about 10 seconds. The dhcp service is on.
If I go to the terminal and type: sudo wpa_supplicant -v I can see that I have v2.9 installed.
If I connect to LAN it works, and I could install the same wireless tools on the HD, but no WiFi ...

TIA for any tips

Rich:
Hi ernest072
Welcome to the forum.

--- Quote from: ernest072 on February 09, 2024, 06:19:54 AM --- ... After some struggle to format the internal hard-disk I was able to install the TC on this hard-disk and can boot from it. So far so good, but once booted the WiFi does not work. ...
--- End quote ---
When you got to this step:
http://tinycorelinux.net/install.html#5_
Did you remember to check all of the boxes for  Wireless ?

ernest072:
Hi Rich, thanks!
Indeed, good point. I think I only checked the top one. But it seems I have WiFi support installed.
I wanted to redo the install and then check both boxes, but now I do not succeed to format the internal HD, as it says the whole time that it is "busy".