WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Wayland  (Read 6886 times)

Offline GNUser

  • Wiki Author
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1378
Re: Wayland
« Reply #30 on: October 22, 2023, 01:21:45 PM »
weston has been updpated in the x86_64 and aarch64 repos.
Thank you, Juanito. Do you know how to configure weston so that it shows a window list (known as "iconbar" in fluxbox--screenshot here) on its panel? I find it difficult to use a stacking window manager without a window list/iconbar.

Online Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14636
Re: Wayland
« Reply #31 on: October 22, 2023, 02:20:13 PM »
I don’t know of an icon bar that works in weston - you can use super+tab to switch between windows.

Offline GNUser

  • Wiki Author
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1378
Re: Wayland
« Reply #32 on: October 22, 2023, 03:10:03 PM »
I don’t know of an icon bar that works in weston
I feared as much. Thanks for confirming.

you can use super+tab to switch between windows.
For testing purposes that will do just fine. Thanks again :)

Offline GNUser

  • Wiki Author
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1378
Re: Wayland
« Reply #33 on: October 23, 2023, 08:05:26 PM »
I submitted labwc for the x86_64 repo.

labwc does not come with an icon bar but, since it is wlroots-based, it could eventually be used with waybar. Getting waybar into the repo would not be trivial because some of its dependencies need to be added to the repo first.

Offline GNUser

  • Wiki Author
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1378
Re: Wayland
« Reply #34 on: November 02, 2023, 09:41:35 AM »
Of course the idea is not to use xwayland, which is a little painfull as it means the tinycore helper gui applets don't work.

Note that all gtk3 apps will work without xwayland as it has a wayland backend - qt-5.x apps will probably work too.
I've been running  labwc  in pure wayland environment. I recently discovered, to my surprise, that gtk2 apps and tc helper gui applets (e.g., mnttool, apps) work just fine. It turns out that  labwc  wraps applications in Xwayland as needed--automatically and without any special configuration.

When I run labwc, Xwayland is not normally running in the background (i.e., pgrep -fa Xwayland returns no hits). But after running and closing a gtk2 or fltk app, I find that Xwayland is running:
Code: [Select]
$ pgrep -fa Xwayland
7642 Xwayland :0 -rootless -core -terminate -listenfd 27 -listenfd 28 -displayfd 61 -wm 58
I find labwc's no-hassle, Xwayland-only-when-needed approach to make a lot of sense. Discovering this made my day :)
« Last Edit: November 02, 2023, 09:43:54 AM by GNUser »

Online Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14636
Re: Wayland
« Reply #35 on: November 02, 2023, 10:59:32 AM »
That’s good to know.

As I think was mentioned earlier, fltk-1.4 has a wayland backend so the applets work (except where the accompanying script has something x specific).

Offline GNUser

  • Wiki Author
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1378
Re: Wayland
« Reply #36 on: November 07, 2023, 01:10:27 PM »
Hi curaga and Juanito. Can you think of any reason to load  xf86-video-intel.tcz  when running wayland? Could it possibly help applications running inside Xwayland? When I remove it from  onboot.lst  and boot into wayland+labwc, everything seems okay (including gtk2 applications running in Xwayland).

I've been loading  xf86-video-intel.tcz  ever since curaga recommended it here but I'm not sure if the advice applies to wayland/Xwayland. Please enlighten me, as my understanding of graphics is very limited.

P.S. On a totally unrelated note, it seems weston.tcz.dep is missing dbus.tcz (dbus is needed to start weston).
« Last Edit: November 07, 2023, 01:17:28 PM by GNUser »

Offline CardealRusso

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 169
Re: Wayland
« Reply #37 on: November 07, 2023, 02:14:19 PM »

Tu é BR? Vi esses dias seu nome "Bruno Dantas" em algum tcz, não me lembro qual. Isso é bem nome BR.

Offline GNUser

  • Wiki Author
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1378
Re: Wayland
« Reply #38 on: November 07, 2023, 02:18:52 PM »
Sou americano mas nasci no Brasil, sim, e falo português em casa com meus filhos ;D

Offline curaga

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10992
Re: Wayland
« Reply #39 on: November 08, 2023, 02:55:45 AM »
xf86-video-intel only affects Xorg. Xwayland always uses glamor 3d acceleration.
The only barriers that can stop you are the ones you create yourself.

Online Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14636
Re: Wayland
« Reply #40 on: November 08, 2023, 04:33:34 AM »
P.S. On a totally unrelated note, it seems weston.tcz.dep is missing dbus.tcz (dbus is needed to start weston).

Are you saying that weston has a missing dependency on dbus or that the dbus daemon needs to be running?

Offline GNUser

  • Wiki Author
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1378
Re: Wayland
« Reply #41 on: November 08, 2023, 06:02:18 AM »
xf86-video-intel only affects Xorg. Xwayland always uses glamor 3d acceleration.
Hi curaga. Thank you very much for educating me about this.

Hi Juanito. Weston has a missing dependency. dbus.tcz should be added to weston.tcz.dep.

(It is also true that dbus daemon needs to be running, but user should know that if they follow your instructions in weston.tcz.info :) )
« Last Edit: November 08, 2023, 06:10:39 AM by GNUser »

Online Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14636
Re: Wayland
« Reply #42 on: November 08, 2023, 06:15:36 AM »
I just checked on both x86_64 and aarch64 and weston starts without dbus being loaded - as mentioned in the info, dbus can optionally be used with gtk3/dconf.

Offline GNUser

  • Wiki Author
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1378
Re: Wayland
« Reply #43 on: November 08, 2023, 06:25:38 AM »
Oops. You are correct, of course. Sorry for the noise. weston.tcz.dep is fine as-is.

P.S. On a few occasions I got an error about dbus not being available when I tried to start weston, but that's only because I go the gtk3/dconf route 100% of the time. If user doesn't need gtk3/dconf, then no need for dbus (weston.tcz.info does explain both ways of starting weston.)


Offline GNUser

  • Wiki Author
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1378
Re: Wayland
« Reply #44 on: November 09, 2023, 08:34:38 PM »
To fellow users: Don't run GUI applications as root.

But if you must run GUI applications as root, here's how to do it in wayland ;)

For Xwayland applications, you need to run this once per boot:
Code: [Select]
$ xhost +SI:localuser:rootThen, for example:
Code: [Select]
$ sudo gpartedFor wayland-native applications, create this wrapper script and give it a nice name. I went with gksudo:
Code: [Select]
#!/bin/sh
exec sudo WAYLAND_DISPLAY="$XDG_RUNTIME_DIR/$WAYLAND_DISPLAY" XDG_RUNTIME_DIR="/run/user/0" "$@"
Then, for example:
Code: [Select]
$ gksudo foot
I noticed that /run/user/0 does not need to exist. Maybe setting XDG_RUNTIME_DIR in gksudo is not actually necessary. I'm still learning.

P.S. The above is probably terrible for security. Use at your own risk. I post it here because it was hard to figure out and I needed this for rare situations.