WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: TC Boot and Sys configuration  (Read 1993 times)

Offline Cyberwinder

TC Boot and Sys configuration
« on: March 27, 2022, 10:04:08 PM »
Hi there,

I'm new to TC so I apologize in advance for my lack of familiarity for what many of you could probably do blindfolded... in your sleep.

I'm working on a project similar to the kiosk browser concept but that instead runs my own application, and is completely contained to a flash drive. Users would boot into their own device, only have access to the application and be are restricted from viewing and modifying any other part of the OS. Anything else that isn't depended on by the application can go away to achieve a bare minimum system with minimized insecurities. The idea is to create an environment where a user can use the application but nothing the user does persists across reboots.

At this point I have TCP installed on a drive, and I've gone through the first several sections of "Into the Core - A look at Tiny Core Linux."
However, it's not clear to me where and how system configuration happens. I've gotten a glimpse of the how, but I am clueless as to the where. Maybe the when as well, whether or not I can configure after install.

If I could get some general pointers, direction to resources it would be fantastic and much appreciated.

Your questions help me as much as my answers help you.

Offline polikuo

Re: TC Boot and Sys configuration
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2022, 09:00:40 AM »
At this point I have TCP installed on a drive, and I've gone through the first several sections of "Into the Core - A look at Tiny Core Linux."
However, it's not clear to me where and how system configuration happens. I've gotten a glimpse of the how, but I am clueless as to the where. Maybe the when as well, whether or not I can configure after install.

Hi Cyberwinder.
Welcome to the forum
I believe you're looking for chapter 7. Persistence