WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Where to build/install ADC module  (Read 28344 times)

Offline MTCAT

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 370
Re: Where to build/install ADC module
« Reply #135 on: March 19, 2021, 10:06:33 PM »
Hi Rich,

Followed your instructions, the 486 package loaded okay on the DX, but when I typed "sudo start24dsi" I saw the same thing as before,

Driver loading: 24dsi...
Creating /dev/24dsi.0
Floating point exception
sh: 01: unknown operand
Driver loaded: 24dsi

But, typing "lsmod", I do see "24dsi" there, and I ran "./id24dsi" and it was okay, but running "./rxrate -bmdma" generated an error for the "AI Sample Rate", you guessed it, floating point exception. Even though the VortexDX claims to do floating point operations, it must not be 100 percent so to speak ?

Too bad, it's actually a well laid out board, with nice connectors, but it's really only 1.5W lower power than the DX3 it seems, I measure it at about 5.5-6.5 W even though spec is 4W. It's a noticeable step down in performance though, terminal windows in X are a lot more jerky than with the DX3. Seems like a better designed board though, oh well, too bad, back to the DX3 I guess. I could try a Geode, rated at 4.5 W, but I never seem to be able to trust the mfr's power ratings, it too might only be a Watt or two lower power than the DX3, might not be worth it.

Thanks,

David

Offline MTCAT

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 370
Re: Where to build/install ADC module
« Reply #136 on: March 19, 2021, 10:19:38 PM »
Hi Rich,

Just noticed too, when running "./id24dsi" on the VortexDX, the GSC sample program thinks the VortexDX is an i586, it's supposed to be i486.

This has never been good when the software (or kernel) is confused about the CPU type.

Thanks,

David

Offline Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11634
Re: Where to build/install ADC module
« Reply #137 on: March 19, 2021, 10:29:37 PM »
Hi MTCAT
Yeah, I suspected it would fail. If you check the  Vortex86  Wiki, they even mention the  Vortex86SX  will run  i586  code.

Offline MTCAT

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 370
Re: Where to build/install ADC module
« Reply #138 on: March 19, 2021, 11:17:18 PM »
Hi Rich,

Thanks a lot for all your help, I'll put the DX3 stack back together and keep moving forward with that !

I guess installing ntp and getting the PPS going into one of the serial ports will be next, and then the logger program, hopefully w/o the need for a real time kernel !

Thanks,

David


Offline MTCAT

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 370
Re: Where to build/install ADC module
« Reply #139 on: March 20, 2021, 05:51:06 PM »
Hi Rich,

I put the DX3 stack back together and all is well, inow just have to read up on ntp, and seeing the PPS signal and NMEA strings over the serial port, although, apparently can do it through the "GPIO" port on the VortexDX3 too.

Kind of unrelated, but for something different and fun, I downloaded the script "tinierclock.sh" and tried out the command below in the window manager (flwm ?), it works !, now I'm trying to automatically invoke that command at bootup by placing it in bootlocal.sh,

aterm -geometry 10x1+1860+1060 -bl -si -sb -sk -sl 0 -fade 100 -e sh -c /home/tc/tinierclock.sh

But, it didn't work, I'm guessing this is not the right thing to do as the above command needs to be run within the window manager ? within "X" (FLWM ?) so to speak, and bootlocal.sh tries to run the command before "X" starts up ?

Is there an "xconfig" type of file somewhere for flwm that I could place the above command in, to have the nice little clock come up automatically for me as soon as the window manager starts ?

I downloaded "flit" package as well but it's kind of overkill I think with the battery monitor and all the sound related stuff,  so I thought something simple like "tinierclock.sh" would be good enough for me.

Thanks,

David

Offline Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11634
Re: Where to build/install ADC module
« Reply #140 on: March 20, 2021, 06:27:43 PM »
Hi MTCAT
Download the newer version  tinierclock2.sh  attached to reply #1:
http://forum.tinycorelinux.net/index.php/topic,13794.msg150397.html#msg150397
Make it executable:
Code: [Select]
chmod 775 tinierclock2.shMove it to the your  ~/.local/bin  directory:
Code: [Select]
mv tinierclock2.sh ~/.local/binNow create a file in  .X.d (any name you want) containing the following line:
Code: [Select]
tinierclock2.sh &
Now it will start whenever the window manager starts.

This post explains one criteria about where to place startup commands:
http://forum.tinycorelinux.net/index.php/topic,24526.msg155602.html#msg155602

Offline MTCAT

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 370
Re: Where to build/install ADC module
« Reply #141 on: March 20, 2021, 11:04:08 PM »
Thanks a lot Rich, I did try tinierclock2.sh as well, manually, but I got some errors, couldn't find "pstree", I need to install a new package I guess ?

Thanks for the reference re: where to place startup commands, that's super helpful, I always forget about the hidden files and directories in home !

Thanks,

David

Offline Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11634
Re: Where to build/install ADC module
« Reply #142 on: March 20, 2021, 11:40:22 PM »
Hi MTCAT
The newer version won't work on older versions of Tinycore. It requires the busybox version of pstree.

Follow the instructions in reply #140, but with the original script (tinierclock.sh).

When you get to this part:
... Now create a file in  .X.d (any name you want) containing the following line:
Code: [Select]
tinierclock2.sh & ...
Place this in the file instead:
Code: [Select]
aterm -geometry 10x1+1860+1060 -bl -si -sb -sk -sl 0 -fade 100 -e sh -c tinierclock.sh &
Restart X and the clock should be there.

Offline MTCAT

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 370
Re: Where to build/install ADC module
« Reply #143 on: March 22, 2021, 08:27:59 PM »
Thanks a lot Rich, that worked like a charm !

Now back to reading up on gpsd and ntpd !

Thanks,

David

Offline Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11634
Re: Where to build/install ADC module
« Reply #144 on: March 22, 2021, 08:42:48 PM »
Hi MTCAT
Thanks a lot Rich, ...
You are welcome.

Quote
... that worked like a charm ! ...
Hey, how about that. I got it right. :)

Offline MTCAT

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 370
Re: Where to build/install ADC module
« Reply #145 on: March 23, 2021, 07:32:40 PM »
Hi Rich,

I'm horsing around trying to get gpsd and ntp etc. to work, going fairly well so far, but I have a question related to that, should I start a new thread for that ?

Thanks,

David

Offline Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11634
Re: Where to build/install ADC module
« Reply #146 on: March 23, 2021, 07:40:04 PM »
Hi MTCAT
Yes, that sounds like it should get its own topic.