Author Topic: setfonts don't work  (Read 2495 times)

Offline ferran

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 159
setfonts don't work
« on: March 21, 2020, 12:31:52 PM »
Hello again.

The next battle to set up my TC is againts the console fonts because currently are a bit small for my view.

Thus i've been readen this link:

http://forum.tinycorelinux.net/index.php/topic,23048.msg144202.html#msg144202

but it don't work anything to me :(

some examples i did:

Code: [Select]
setfont /usr/local/share/consolefonts/lat1-12.psfu.gz
(no error but no change)

setfont sun12x22
(no error but no change)

busybox_setfont /usr/local/share/consolefonts/lat1-12.psfu.gz
sh: busybox_setfont not found

setfont

Thanks in advance.
TC CorePlus v.11.1 i686 & lots of coffe

Offline jazzbiker

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 934
Re: setfonts don't work
« Reply #1 on: March 21, 2020, 01:43:36 PM »
Hi, ferran!

Code: [Select]
setfont sun12x22

works fine in pure console, not in terminal emulator under X. You can switch to console with Ctrl-Alt-F1 and back to X with Ctrl-Alt-F2

Correct call of busybox' executable is

Code: [Select]
busybox setfont lat1-12

without underline.

If You need to change Your terminal emulator font You can do this in ~/.Xdefaults
« Last Edit: March 21, 2020, 01:49:09 PM by jazzbiker »

Offline ferran

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 159
Re: setfonts don't work
« Reply #2 on: March 21, 2020, 03:03:39 PM »
OMG when I press Ctrl+Alt+F! I drops to a dark dungeon under my desktop !  ;D

Now I understand the difference between "terminal" and "console" terms. One big lesson for today. Also I tried diferents fonts into the Console successfully, I saw the spanish es.kmap running there  (another headhache I did) and so fine. Really I am satisfied with this discover.

OK. So let's focusing this question only with the fonts of Terminal this is my problem now.

Quote from: jazzbiker
If You need to change Your terminal emulator font You can do this in ~/.Xdefaults

 jazzbiker: Can you tell the full path to find it, please? (*)

(*) the linux command Find or Locate don't works either to me, but this will be another Q6A post.
« Last Edit: March 21, 2020, 03:10:05 PM by ferran »
TC CorePlus v.11.1 i686 & lots of coffe

Offline jazzbiker

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 934
Re: setfonts don't work
« Reply #3 on: March 21, 2020, 03:18:10 PM »
Heh, dungeon is the first impression, it's near-light-speed highway )

What the problems with find?

Code: [Select]
tc@box:~$ find /home -name ".Xdefaults"
/home/tc/.Xdefaults

Offline ferran

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 159
Re: setfonts don't work
« Reply #4 on: March 21, 2020, 03:48:20 PM »
Another lesson learned !

My -old- problem with Find was I didn't write "-name" attribute in the command. Never more.

Well, now I want to change the line "Aterm*font=fixed" for another font. What can i do it?



TC CorePlus v.11.1 i686 & lots of coffe

Offline jazzbiker

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 934
Re: setfonts don't work
« Reply #5 on: March 21, 2020, 04:23:34 PM »
Default fixed fonts are located in /usr/local/lib/X11/fonts. I think /usr/local/lib/X11/fonts/misc are of interest. Try
Code: [Select]
ls /usr/local/lib/X11/fonts/misc

You will see a lot of font files, along with "fonts.dir" and "fonts.alias" files.

In Your .Xdefaults You can use either font description from "fonts.dir", for example
Code: [Select]
-misc-fixed-bold-r-normal--18-120-100-100-c-90-iso10646-1

or alias from "fonts.alias", for example

Code: [Select]
10x20

Sorry, may be it is not the best explanation, but I feel that You understand.

Offline jazzbiker

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 934
Re: setfonts don't work
« Reply #6 on: March 21, 2020, 04:29:39 PM »
The problem of default aterm is that it doesn't work with UTF-8, so You may need another terminal emulator, my favorite is rxvt for fixed fonts. And terminus fonts are great, imho.
If You will use terminus, read extension info and make some steps, explained in it.
« Last Edit: March 21, 2020, 04:31:13 PM by jazzbiker »

Offline ferran

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 159
Re: setfonts don't work
« Reply #7 on: March 21, 2020, 04:47:13 PM »
All right. Thank you very much jazzbiker !!

Tomorrow i will test all you told and search more info about termnal emulators and Terminus, etc.



TC CorePlus v.11.1 i686 & lots of coffe

Offline ferran

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 159
Re: setfonts don't work
« Reply #8 on: March 22, 2020, 03:05:08 AM »
Solved problem.

My terminal now is so beautiful, readable for my eyes and able to work.

the steps i did:

Code: [Select]
#First let's take a look inside all the fonts we can to select for our terminal

cd /usr/local/lib/X11/fonts/misc
ls | more

#I chose 3 different options to try on and wrote it in a notebook (you chose it that you like)
#
#    8x13.pcf.gz (aka 8x13)
#    8x16.pcf.gz (aka 8x16)
#    10x20.ISO8859-1.pcf.gz (aka 10x20)

#I save a copy of original .Xdefaults in case i needed it:

cd  /home/tc
cp .Xdefaults .Xdefaults_original

# Now i'm ready to change the font:

editor .Xdefaults

# I will change the default line Aterm*Fonts=fixed by Aterm*Fonts=8x13
# (The font 8x13 in an alias from 8x13.pcf.g font file)
# Also I could change too the color of cursor, background, foreground, etc. But for me its enough.

#Now exit from the Terminal and open it again.

Absoultely fantastic !   :D

I would like to thank jazzbiker for his great help.
« Last Edit: March 22, 2020, 03:35:20 AM by ferran »
TC CorePlus v.11.1 i686 & lots of coffe

Offline jazzbiker

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 934
Re: setfonts don't work
« Reply #9 on: March 22, 2020, 03:47:50 AM »
Hi, ferran!

Nice to hear that You got what You need. In TinyCore if You know, what You want, You move straight toward Your goal, thanks to its architecture.

Haven't You read "Into the Core" book? If not - I recommend it stongly, it's real fun! You can find it here - http://tinycorelinux.net/book.html

TinyCore is great to explore, good luck!
« Last Edit: March 22, 2020, 04:00:19 AM by jazzbiker »

Offline ferran

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 159
Re: setfonts don't work
« Reply #10 on: March 22, 2020, 04:13:27 AM »
Hi again jazzbiker

Surely i will buy it (i need it) as soon as possible, but it's sadly that in my country is closed by coronavirus now, so it's forbidden to buy anything but food or health products.

Instead, I like to read a lot of threads of this forum, searching in the net, etc. and I'm learning very much :)
TC CorePlus v.11.1 i686 & lots of coffe

Offline jazzbiker

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 934
Re: setfonts don't work
« Reply #11 on: March 22, 2020, 06:34:29 AM »
I believe "Into the Core" is definitely health product! Why not to try? ;-)

Offline ferran

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 159
Re: setfonts don't work
« Reply #12 on: March 22, 2020, 07:59:09 AM »
LOL I believe it with all my hearth... but the police surely don't  ;D
TC CorePlus v.11.1 i686 & lots of coffe

Offline jazzbiker

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 934
Re: setfonts don't work
« Reply #13 on: March 22, 2020, 09:09:53 AM »
Hi, ferran!

This is the link for free downloading book in pdf format, no viruses, no fees! Sorry, I was joking a little, expected You will try.