WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: how to setup grub2 to boot dCore from HD?  (Read 3053 times)

Offline krooooo

how to setup grub2 to boot dCore from HD?
« on: December 18, 2015, 11:33:20 PM »
Hi, I'm a newbie...

I boot VM from dCore-trusty.iso and then fdisk /dev/sda, make a new partition and make it bootable, and then mkfs.ext4 then reboot then tce-setdrive then sce-import "grub2" then sce-load then "sudo grub-install --root-derctory=/mnt/sda1 /dev/sda", after reboot, I saw grub>

But, the manual :
    set root=(hd1,msdos1)
    kernel /vmlinuz-trusty
    initrd /dCore-trusty.gz
    boot
(http://wiki.tinycorelinux.net/dcore:usb_installation_test-drive) can not be used here, error...

how to do then?

Offline nitram

Re: how to setup grub2 to boot dCore from HD?
« Reply #1 on: December 19, 2015, 03:46:46 AM »
Hi krooooo. I am not familiar with VM, so not sure if this helps. This boots my dCore install from hard drive using Grub2. This menuentry is placed in /etc/grub.d/40_custom, then run  sudo update-grub  which updates /boot/grub/grub.cfg. It might be more useful if you fully describe the error.
Code: [Select]
menuentry "dCore" {
set root=(hd1,1)
linux /dCore/boot/vmlinuzjessie nozswap showapps tce=sdb4 desktop=fluxbox
initrd /dCore/boot/dCorejessie.gz
}

Offline krooooo

« Reply #2 on: December 19, 2015, 11:57:13 PM »
Hi nitram

the partition only contain "vmlinuz-trusty" and "dCore-trusty.gz", no etc/, no boot/...

Offline nitram

« Reply #3 on: December 20, 2015, 12:09:15 AM »
The way i understand it the partition that boots vmlinuz-trusty and dCore-trusty.gz essentially becomes read-only. So actual system files need to be located on another partition. So in my grub2 example above, the boot kernel and base file system (vmlinuzjessie and dCorejessie.gz) are installed in sdb1 (hd1,1), while the tce directory is located in sdb4 (tce=sdb4 boot code).