WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Swedish keyboard layout.  (Read 7932 times)

Offline meo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 651
Swedish keyboard layout.
« on: January 04, 2015, 12:42:29 PM »
Hi!

I'm not so familiar with piCore yet and I would like to know how to get a Swedish keyboard layout. In TC for x86 it's identified as sv-latin1. I've seeked in the forum but haven't found a conclusive answer so I'd appreciate some help. Thanks!

Greetings,
meo
"All that is very well," answered Candide, "but let us cultivate our garden." - Francois-Marie Arouet Voltaire

Offline bmarkus

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7183
    • My Community Forum
Re: Swedish keyboard layout.
« Reply #1 on: January 04, 2015, 01:34:29 PM »
In this respect piCore is the same as Core on x86.
Béla
Ham Radio callsign: HA5DI

"Amateur Radio: The First Technology-Based Social Network."

Offline patrikg

  • Wiki Author
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 680
Re: Swedish keyboard layout.
« Reply #2 on: January 05, 2015, 07:04:05 AM »
My picore work's greate with loading tzdata and kmaps and add some text in the kernel cmdline.

Like this.
Code: (bash) [Select]
tce-load -wi kmaps
tce-load -wi tzdata

sudo mount /dev/mmcblk0p1
cd /mnt/mmcblk0p1/

sudo nano -w cmdline.txt
tz=Europe/Stockholm kmap=qwerty/sv-latin1

Offline meo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 651
Re: Swedish keyboard layout.
« Reply #3 on: January 05, 2015, 10:53:07 AM »
Hi!

I'm running TC x86 6.0 now but I tried to change the keyboard layout running piCore. In TC x86 loading kmaps.tcz and adding the following line  loadkmap < /usr/share/kmap/qwerty/sv-latin1.kmap in /opt/bootlocal.sh  gives me a Swedish keyboard layout. I tried it running piCore but that didn't work so thanks for the info patrikg. Will try that ASAP.

Kind greetings,
meo
"All that is very well," answered Candide, "but let us cultivate our garden." - Francois-Marie Arouet Voltaire

Offline meo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 651
Re: Swedish keyboard layout.
« Reply #4 on: January 06, 2015, 04:47:50 AM »
Hi!

Tried to load tzdata but got an error message. It wasn't found. Looked through the Apps repo too but couldn't find it. So no Swedish keyboard here yet.

Greetings,
meo
"All that is very well," answered Candide, "but let us cultivate our garden." - Francois-Marie Arouet Voltaire

Offline patrikg

  • Wiki Author
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 680
Re: Swedish keyboard layout.
« Reply #5 on: January 06, 2015, 07:42:47 AM »
But tzdata is only for correct timezone settings.
kmaps is for keyboard settings.

You could try to load from the old repo.

Code: (bash) [Select]
wget http://tinycorelinux.net/5.x/armv6/tcz/kmaps.tcz
wget http://tinycorelinux.net/5.x/armv6/tcz/tzdata.tcz
tce-load -i kmaps.tcz
tce-load -i tzdata.tcz

Best regards
/Patrik
« Last Edit: January 06, 2015, 08:04:28 AM by patrikg »

Offline meo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 651
Re: Swedish keyboard layout.
« Reply #6 on: January 06, 2015, 08:02:19 AM »
Hi patrikg!

I loaded the kmaps and tzdata from the x86 repository and made changes to cmdline.txt but no change in the keyboard layout. I checked that the different layouts were in place and they were so I don't know what's wrong. Any advice would be greatly appreciated to get the Swedish keyboard layout. It's kind of hard to explore the GO language if the keyboard layout isn't correct. I have it working fine in the TC 6.0 x86 version.

Greetings,
meo
"All that is very well," answered Candide, "but let us cultivate our garden." - Francois-Marie Arouet Voltaire

Offline patrikg

  • Wiki Author
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 680
Re: Swedish keyboard layout.
« Reply #7 on: January 06, 2015, 08:08:26 AM »
Did you add this into the cmdline ??
And not forget to add -w into nano to get nowrap long lines.
Code: (bash) [Select]
kmap=qwerty/sv-latin1

I have a very long /proc/cmdline, but at the end of this i get :

cat /proc/cmdline
...
...
...
root=/dev/ram0 elevator=deadline rootwait nortc loglevel=3 waitusb=5 tz=Europe/Stockholm kmap=qwerty/sv-latin1 host=raspxe noautologin nodhcp

« Last Edit: January 06, 2015, 08:15:26 AM by patrikg »

Offline meo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 651
Re: Swedish keyboard layout.
« Reply #8 on: January 07, 2015, 06:58:41 AM »
Hi patrikg!

I've done just as you suggested and I still doesn't get a Swedish keyboard layout. Just a thought; the command line (cmdline.txt) is read before the extensions are loaded. This means that the different keyboards aren't available when the command line is read. So how would the contents of the command line effect the keyboard layout? Just a thought. I've used the TC x86 since it forked off from DSL (like 6 years ago) and I used DSL almost from the beginning of it. So what I usually do is to make a clean install of TC x86 and copy the mydata.tgz and I'm all set. All the settings are saved in mydata.tgz which loads after the extensions. When it comes to the Raspberry Pi I prefer the Bell Labs port of Plan 9 OS to the RPi but I thought I had to give the TC port to the RPi a chance also. But as mentioned, no Swedish keyboard layout yet. Will ponder over it and see if I can solve the problem somehow and thanks for all your suggestions.

Kind Regards,
meo
"All that is very well," answered Candide, "but let us cultivate our garden." - Francois-Marie Arouet Voltaire

Offline bmarkus

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7183
    • My Community Forum
Re: Swedish keyboard layout.
« Reply #9 on: January 07, 2015, 07:05:06 AM »
Are we talking about keyboard in Xorg or in console without X?
Béla
Ham Radio callsign: HA5DI

"Amateur Radio: The First Technology-Based Social Network."

Offline patrikg

  • Wiki Author
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 680
Re: Swedish keyboard layout.
« Reply #10 on: January 07, 2015, 07:35:50 AM »
I am talking cli.
And for you and Meo I am using ver 5.3.1.
« Last Edit: January 07, 2015, 07:49:29 AM by patrikg »

Offline bmarkus

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7183
    • My Community Forum
Re: Swedish keyboard layout.
« Reply #11 on: January 07, 2015, 07:42:56 AM »
Qustion is not you but Meo :)
Béla
Ham Radio callsign: HA5DI

"Amateur Radio: The First Technology-Based Social Network."

Offline meo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 651
Re: Swedish keyboard layout.
« Reply #12 on: January 07, 2015, 09:26:21 AM »
Hi again!

I'm running piCore X. Sorry I missed out on mentioning this. That maybe has gotten this question off track. My aim was exploring the GO programming language with a GUI. My bad; sorry for that. But there must be a way to get a Swedish keyboard running piCore X. I've tried the way it's done in TC x86 with GUI but that doesn't work (adding the following line to /opt/bootlocal.sh loadkmap < /usr/share/kmap/qwerty/sv-latin1.kmap). I'm open for any other ideas on how to achieve the purpose of getting a Swedish keyboard layout.

Regards,
meo

PS piCore 6.0 rc 1 that is DS
« Last Edit: January 07, 2015, 09:29:21 AM by meo »
"All that is very well," answered Candide, "but let us cultivate our garden." - Francois-Marie Arouet Voltaire

Offline patrikg

  • Wiki Author
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 680
Re: Swedish keyboard layout.
« Reply #13 on: January 07, 2015, 09:48:26 AM »
Okey X.
I don't know is this is correct tiny core linux way, but it works.
You just add this line at the end of the .xsession file

Code: (bash) [Select]
nano -w /home/tc/.xsession
Code: (bash) [Select]
[ -e /usr/local/bin/setxkbmap ] && setxkbmap -layout "se" -variant "nodeadkeys"
Don't forget to take backup after change the file.
Code: (bash) [Select]
filetool.sh -b -v
« Last Edit: January 07, 2015, 10:01:43 AM by patrikg »

Offline bmarkus

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7183
    • My Community Forum
Re: Swedish keyboard layout.
« Reply #14 on: January 07, 2015, 06:44:57 PM »
For Xorg keyboard config use the standard Xorg configuration method, nothing piCore specific. Create file in /usr/local/share/X11/xorg.conf.d

Code: [Select]
Section "InputClass"
    Identifier "system-keyboard"
    MatchIsKeyboard "on"
    Option "XkbLayout" "hu,en"
    option "XkbModel" "pc105"
    Option "XkbOptions" "grp:alt_shift_toggle"
EndSection

File name is up to you but it must end with .config

Above example configures a Hungarian/English keyboard layout on a Hungarian keyboard. Customize to Swedish and add to backup.

For mor info read http://www.x.org/releases/X11R7.6/doc/xorg-docs/input/XKB-Config.html
Béla
Ham Radio callsign: HA5DI

"Amateur Radio: The First Technology-Based Social Network."