WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: black screen on startup in tiny core  (Read 6866 times)

Offline manit123

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 315
black screen on startup in tiny core
« on: November 08, 2013, 01:24:24 AM »
Please see attached image.
on right clicking I get the menu & everything works.
It is just that desktop is black & terminal is white over black.
Is any component missing ?

Offline Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11704
Re: black screen on startup in tiny core
« Reply #1 on: November 08, 2013, 01:38:44 AM »
Hi manit123
Are you booting from a CD or hard drive?

Offline manit123

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 315
Re: black screen on startup in tiny core
« Reply #2 on: November 09, 2013, 02:41:52 AM »
i am booting from hard disk.
If I kill x server & restart it then I get blue desktop with tiny core engraved on it , as desired.

Offline Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11704
Re: black screen on startup in tiny core
« Reply #3 on: November 09, 2013, 04:27:04 PM »
Hi manit123
Your attached screen shot shows you are using a  cde  directory. That is only for read only media. You should be using
a  tce  directory.

Offline manit123

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 315
Re: black screen on startup in tiny core
« Reply #4 on: November 12, 2013, 08:03:27 AM »
currently i am booting 4.5.5 from hard disk partition using legacy grub.
tce folder of boot partition loads mydata.tgz which contains special /home/tc/.ashrc
Code: [Select]
# ~/.ashrc: Executed by SHells.
#
. /etc/init.d/tc-functions
set -o vi
# Alias definitions.
#
alias df='df -h'
alias du='du -sh'
#!/usr/local/bin/bash
root=$( blkid | grep -i sd | grep -i 93a0 | sed 's/\([/a-z0-9]*\).*/\1/' | sed 's/dev/mnt/')
# here 93a0 is a part of UUID of intended partition
if [ -z $root ];
then
echo tcz not found
echo you are on your own
else
echo you are booting from \"$root\"
if [ ! -f /home/tc/already-run.txt ];
then
echo we will load tcz from $root/cde/optional
cd "$root/cde/optional"
./load-extras.sh
touch /home/tc/already-run.txt
fi
fi
if [ -f /home/tc/already-run.txt ] ;
then
if [ -f "$root/tc/kundli.sh" ];
then
cd "$root/tc"
alias kundli="$root/tc/new-kundli.sh"
echo try kundli
fi
if [ -f "$root/tc/oxford.sh" ];
then
cd "$root/tc"
alias oxford="$root/tc/new-oxford.sh"
echo try oxford
fi
fi
alias ls='ls -phal'
alias ll='ls -l'
# Avoid errors... use -f to skip confirmation.
alias cp='cp -i'
alias mv='mv -i'
alias rm='rm -i'
cd
then /home/tc/.ashrc installs required apps (using load-extras.sh) on first run
Code: [Select]
load-extras.sh
tce-load -i Xvesa.tcz  Xlibs.tcz  Xprogs.tcz
tce-load -i flwm_topside.tcz
tce-load -i  ntfs-3g.tcz dosfstools.tcz pcmanfm2.tcz ntfsprogs.tcz gnome-icon-theme.tcz firefox.tcz foxit_reader.tcz file-roller.tcz
tce-load -i OSS.tcz gnome-mplayer.tcz
tce-load -i  vim.tcz gqview1.tcz  xvkbd.tcz bash.tcz
mkdir -p /tmp/tce/optional
sudo rm /etc/sysconfig/tcedir/
sudo ln -s   /tmp/tce  /etc/sysconfig/tcedir
cd wifi
tce-load -i tc-install.tcz
tce-load -i kmaps.tcz
tce-load -i wifi.tcz
tce-load -i wl-modules-3.0.21-tinycore.tcz
tce-load -i ndiswrapper.tcz
tce-load -i iw.tcz
tce-load -i firmware-atheros.tcz
tce-load -i firmware-bnx2.tcz
tce-load -i firmware-broadcom.tcz
tce-load -i firmware-ipw2100.tcz
tce-load -i firmware-ipw2200.tcz
tce-load -i firmware-iwlwifi.tcz
tce-load -i firmware-libertas.tcz
tce-load -i firmware-myri10ge.tcz
tce-load -i firmware-netxen.tcz
tce-load -i firmware-openfwwf.tcz
tce-load -i firmware-radeon.tcz
tce-load -i firmware.tcz
tce-load -i firmware-ti-connectivity.tcz
tce-load -i firmware-ueagle.tcz
tce-load -i firmware-vxge.tcz
tce-load -i firmware-wimax.tcz
tce-load -i firmware-zd1211.tcz
tce-load -i b43-fwcutter.tcz
tce-load -i pci-utils.tcz
tce-load -i ezremaster.tcz
cd ../../../tc
ossmix | grep -i 'leftvol' | grep -v 'known' | grep -v 'selected'| sed -n 's/ .*//p' | xargs -n 1 ./set-all-volume-control-full.txt
exit
Nothing wrong in this.

Offline tinypoodle

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3857
Re: black screen on startup in tiny core
« Reply #5 on: November 12, 2013, 09:24:39 AM »
Your cd commands might interfere with startx being executed from ~.
"Software gets slower faster than hardware gets faster." Niklaus Wirth - A Plea for Lean Software (1995)

Offline Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11704
Re: black screen on startup in tiny core
« Reply #6 on: November 12, 2013, 01:28:23 PM »
Hi manit123
Quote
Nothing wrong in this.
Obviously, which is why it is working so well. ::) ::) ::)
You appear to be trying to bypass the mechanisms built into Tinycore for loading of extensions when booting. To what
end, I don't know, but I'll offer a few comments/observations.
Quote
alias df='df -h'
alias du='du -sh'
#!/usr/local/bin/bash
It looks like you are trying to add a  shebang  to set the interpreter to bash. To the best of my knowledge, that has to be the
first line in a script. Not to mention the fact that you don't load  bash  until you call  load-extras.sh  about a dozen lines
later.
Quote
Is any component missing ?
Quote
If I kill x server & restart it then I get blue desktop with tiny core engraved on it , as desired.
That would suggest you have all the required extensions.
Quote
root=$( blkid | grep -i sd | grep -i 93a0 | sed 's/\([/a-z0-9]*\).*/\1/' | sed 's/dev/mnt/')
# here 93a0 is a part of UUID of intended partition
if [ -z $root ];
then
   echo tcz not found
   echo you are on your own
else
   echo you are booting from \"$root\"
   if [ ! -f /home/tc/already-run.txt ];
   then
      echo we will load tcz from $root/cde/optional
      cd "$root/cde/optional"
      ./load-extras.sh
      touch /home/tc/already-run.txt
   fi
fi
You might want to put this function into  /opt/bootsynch.sh  instead since it only runs once anyway, or at least let  onboot.lst
handle the loading of  Xvesa.tcz,  Xlibs.tcz,  Xprogs.tcz, and flwm_topside.tcz.
Your cd commands might interfere with startx being executed from ~.
The last command in his  .ashrc  file is  cd  which should return him to his home directory.

             [EDIT] Added bootsync.sh only runs once.
« Last Edit: November 12, 2013, 01:49:07 PM by Rich »

Offline tinypoodle

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3857
Re: black screen on startup in tiny core
« Reply #7 on: November 12, 2013, 01:37:22 PM »
Your cd commands might interfere with startx being executed from ~.
The last command in his  .ashrc  file is  cd  which should return him to his home directory.

Yes, but look at the outpout in screenie and compare with script.
"Software gets slower faster than hardware gets faster." Niklaus Wirth - A Plea for Lean Software (1995)

Offline tinypoodle

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3857
Re: black screen on startup in tiny core
« Reply #8 on: November 12, 2013, 01:40:16 PM »
On a sidenote, foxit_reader.tcz has been retired a long time ago.
http://forum.tinycorelinux.net/index.php/topic,14946.msg85218.html#msg85218
A "get-script" is available in the scripting subforum.
"Software gets slower faster than hardware gets faster." Niklaus Wirth - A Plea for Lean Software (1995)

Offline Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11704
Re: black screen on startup in tiny core
« Reply #9 on: November 12, 2013, 01:58:50 PM »
Hi tinypoodle
Quote
Yes, but look at the outpout in screenie and compare with script.
Yes, you are right. At any rate, I'm not so sure  .ashrc  is the right place to put all that stuff, see:
http://forum.tinycorelinux.net/index.php/topic,12162.msg65125.html#msg65125

Offline manit123

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 315
Re: black screen on startup in tiny core
« Reply #10 on: November 14, 2013, 09:52:05 AM »
The fun thing about tiny core is you can customise software that gets loaded on startup . Compiling a kernel or installing from tarball is not my cup of tea but still controlling the loading of extension is nice.
I know , my method ain't sophisticated but with your suggestions , i can tweak it a bit for good.
Thank you.
Will report ASAP.

Offline manit123

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 315
Re: black screen on startup in tiny core
« Reply #11 on: November 17, 2013, 06:51:09 AM »
Hi ,
I have noticed that adding tce-load commands to /opt/bootsync.sh does not help because that script gets run as root.
Also i have all my settings saved in mydata.tgz of tce folder in hard disk partition.
Where should I create onboot.lst if I want all my extensions to be loaded on startup instead of putting a script in .ashrc (Assume , I want mydata.tgz to be restored as it contains configuration of all my softwares) ? 
 
« Last Edit: November 17, 2013, 06:54:21 AM by manit123 »

Offline Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11704
Re: black screen on startup in tiny core
« Reply #12 on: November 17, 2013, 10:34:02 AM »
Hi manit123
Quote
Where should I create onboot.lst if I want all my extensions to be loaded on startup instead of putting a script in .ashrc
It belongs in the  tce  directory.

Offline manit123

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 315
Re: black screen on startup in tiny core
« Reply #13 on: November 18, 2013, 06:35:46 AM »
that helped a bit
my tce/onboot.lst reads
Quote
Xvesa.tcz
Xlibs.tcz
Xprogs.tcz
flwm_topside.tcz
ntfs-3g.tcz
dosfstools.tcz
pcmanfm2.tcz
ntfsprogs.tcz
gnome-icon-theme.tcz
firefox.tcz
foxit_reader.tcz
file-roller.tcz
OSS.tcz
gnome-mplayer.tcz
vim.tcz
gqview1.tcz
xvkbd.tcz
bash.tcz
tree.tcz
all tcz & dep are in tce/optional which get loaded .

while my cde/optional/load-extras.sh reads
Code: [Select]
mkdir -p /tmp/tce/optional >> /home/tc/log 2>&1
sudo rm /etc/sysconfig/tcedir/ >> /home/tc/log 2>&1
sudo ln -s   /tmp/tce  /etc/sysconfig/tcedir >> /home/tc/log 2>&1
cd wifi >> /home/tc/log 2>&1
cd ../../../tc >> /home/tc/log 2>&1
ossmix | grep -i 'leftvol' | grep -v 'known' | grep -v 'selected'| sed -n 's/ .*//p' | xargs -n 1 ./set-all-volume-control-full.txt >> /home/tc/log 2>&1
exit
Still black screen

Offline tinypoodle

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3857
Re: black screen on startup in tiny core
« Reply #14 on: November 18, 2013, 10:33:52 AM »
Your script seems to  be rather unconventional, and it is not clear what exactly you are trying to achieve.
Maybe you could elaborate on each step and its respective purpose.

Restoring configuration of OSS4 from backup should work fine without any need of a script.
"Software gets slower faster than hardware gets faster." Niklaus Wirth - A Plea for Lean Software (1995)