WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: xfe for 5.0 please  (Read 14873 times)

Offline Misalf

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1702
Re: xfe for 5.0 please
« Reply #15 on: September 20, 2013, 12:13:28 AM »
Stripping means deleting unneeded files, right?

I have recreated the same package layout as JW did (*-dev, *-doc, ...) by hand for both fox and Xfe.
Download a copy and keep it handy: Core book ;)

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14812
Re: xfe for 5.0 please
« Reply #16 on: September 20, 2013, 12:23:40 AM »
Stripping means removing the debugging symbols from the compiled files:

Static libs (*.a) --strip-debug
Dynamic libs (*.so*) --strip-unneeded
Executables (usually in bin/ sbin/ libexec/) --strip-all

You can check if a file has been stripped using the file command - "file /usr/local/lib/*.a" for example
« Last Edit: September 20, 2013, 12:31:32 AM by Juanito »

Offline Misalf

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1702
Re: xfe for 5.0 please
« Reply #17 on: September 20, 2013, 12:51:38 AM »
From the wiki:
Code: [Select]
find . | xargs file | grep "executable" | grep ELF | grep "not stripped" | cut -f 1 -d : | xargs strip --strip-unneeded 2> /dev/null|
|find . | xargs file | grep "shared object" | grep ELF | grep "not stripped" | cut -f 1 -d : | xargs strip -g 2> /dev/null
I'm not sure how to run this line of commands.
The trailing "|" on the first line, as well as the leading "|" on the second line are confusing me.
Is that only one line in total?

Like so?
Code: [Select]
find . | xargs file | grep "executable" | grep ELF | grep "not stripped" | cut -f 1 -d : | xargs strip --strip-unneeded 2> /dev/null||find . | xargs file | grep "shared object" | grep ELF | grep "not stripped" | cut -f 1 -d : | xargs strip -g 2> /dev/nullOr like so?
Code: [Select]
find . | xargs file | grep "executable" | grep ELF | grep "not stripped" | cut -f 1 -d : | xargs strip --strip-unneeded 2> /dev/null | find . | xargs file | grep "shared object" | grep ELF | grep "not stripped" | cut -f 1 -d : | xargs strip -g 2> /dev/null
« Last Edit: September 20, 2013, 12:54:01 AM by Misalf »
Download a copy and keep it handy: Core book ;)

Offline Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11618
Re: xfe for 5.0 please
« Reply #18 on: September 20, 2013, 02:08:26 AM »
Hi Misalf
It appears the line happened to wrap around between the two  |  symbols. Since an extension can have both executables
and shared objects I would think you'd want to run both commands unconditionally, so I'm not sure why the  ||  is in there.

Offline Misalf

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1702
Re: xfe for 5.0 please
« Reply #19 on: September 20, 2013, 02:18:28 AM »
Thanks
Executing 'both' lines, ignoring "||" from in the middle, seems to at least have an effect on files in dev folder.
Download a copy and keep it handy: Core book ;)

Offline tinypoodle

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3857
Re: xfe for 5.0 please
« Reply #20 on: September 20, 2013, 07:46:15 PM »
Hi Misalf
It appears the line happened to wrap around between the two  |  symbols. Since an extension can have both executables
and shared objects I would think you'd want to run both commands unconditionally, so I'm not sure why the  ||  is in there.

Erroneous newline in wiki corrected.
Would it be preferable to replace "||" by ";"?
"Software gets slower faster than hardware gets faster." Niklaus Wirth - A Plea for Lean Software (1995)

Offline gerald_clark

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4254
Re: xfe for 5.0 please
« Reply #21 on: September 20, 2013, 08:09:26 PM »
No.
|| means if the left hand part returns false, do the right hand part.

Offline Misalf

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1702
Re: xfe for 5.0 please
« Reply #22 on: September 20, 2013, 08:21:17 PM »
I tryed that and it gave me an error.
I've then used both instead.

Extension already on its way by the way.
« Last Edit: September 20, 2013, 08:23:41 PM by Misalf »
Download a copy and keep it handy: Core book ;)

Offline tinypoodle

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3857
Re: xfe for 5.0 please
« Reply #23 on: September 20, 2013, 09:32:15 PM »
No.
|| means if the left hand part returns false, do the right hand part.

I was fully aware of that, but based on what I quoted I wondered if unconditional execution of both parts would possibly be preferable.
"Software gets slower faster than hardware gets faster." Niklaus Wirth - A Plea for Lean Software (1995)

Offline coreplayer2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3020
Re: xfe for 5.0 please
« Reply #24 on: October 06, 2013, 11:26:52 PM »
nice job Misalf with Xfe   

thanks

Offline coreplayer2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3020
Re: xfe for 5.0 please
« Reply #25 on: December 09, 2013, 09:17:36 PM »
Extension already on its way by the way.


What are the chances of a x86_64 version please ?

:p

Offline Misalf

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1702
Re: xfe for 5.0 please
« Reply #26 on: December 10, 2013, 09:44:37 AM »
Quote
nice job Misalf with Xfe

thanks
My pleasure.
I'm glad it works. Also for myself or Misalf. (:

Quote
What are the chances of a x86_64 version please ?
I did'nt yet set up a 64bit install of TinyCore.
While you're asking, I might do soon.

However, I'm not sure if I bacame the maintainer by submitting an updated version.
Compiling was straight forward except of
Code: [Select]
export CPLUS_INCLUDE_PATH=/usr/local/include/freetype2
 so if you are faster than me I'd be good with it because I don't think I really need x64 and also have no experience in compiling for 64bit.
Download a copy and keep it handy: Core book ;)

Offline Gawron

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: xfe for 5.0 please
« Reply #27 on: January 27, 2014, 11:09:33 AM »
Hi,
On my system (core 5.1 with icewm) xfe has no letters only icons on folders and menu and does not appears on application menu. It can be run only from OnDemand menu and terminal. Earlier on core 4.7.7 all worked without troubles.

Offline Misalf

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1702
Re: xfe for 5.0 please
« Reply #28 on: January 28, 2014, 05:13:50 PM »
I havn't had much time lately to do anything Core related, so I'll have to reorganize a little.
I'll try to look into this in the next couple of days.

--

- Is IceWM the only WM you're using or just the only one where this happens?
- Which X server and Display driver are you using?
- Are you using UTF-8 or locale settings that require those?
Download a copy and keep it handy: Core book ;)

Offline Gawron

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: xfe for 5.0 please
« Reply #29 on: January 29, 2014, 03:22:46 PM »
Hi Misalf,
Sorry for late response.
I use only IceWM.
My X server is Xorg. Display driver xf86-video-nv.
Yes I use locale pl_PL.utf8 that requires utf8.
Here is my locale output:
LANG=pl_PL.utf8
LC_CTYPE="pl_PL.utf8"
LC_NUMERIC="pl_PL.utf8"
LC_TIME="pl_PL.utf8"
LC_COLLATE="pl_PL.utf8"
LC_MONETARY="pl_PL.utf8"
LC_MESSAGES="pl_PL.utf8"
LC_PAPER="pl_PL.utf8"
LC_NAME="pl_PL.utf8"
LC_ADDRESS="pl_PL.utf8"
LC_TELEPHONE="pl_PL.utf8"
LC_MEASUREMENT="pl_PL.utf8"
LC_IDENTIFICATION="pl_PL.utf8"
LC_ALL=