WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Newbie here - Cups problem  (Read 7610 times)

Offline dlw

Newbie here - Cups problem
« on: May 15, 2009, 07:13:17 AM »
Hi all, newbie here.
Linux USER since 98. I am not a techie.
I am a writer/photographer retired.

Really like the concept of Tiny Core Linux.
Install went okay. Obtaining persistence did not. I think I have it now.

Trying to get a HP2300dn printer up and running.
Installed hplip and cups.
Clicked on Cups, did the password thing, went to localhost:631
When it came to username and password I did not know what it wanted so I tried 'user'.
Entered the password and I get a blank white page.
When I enter 'root' and the password it will not accept it. Goes back to enter name and password again.

Any ideas on how to solve this?
Thanks,
dlw

Offline 3rail

Re: Newbie here - Cups problem
« Reply #1 on: May 15, 2009, 09:49:47 AM »
funny, I've been struggling the last few days trying to set up my hp laserjet 1100 under tc 142 connected via the parallel port.  I don't have all the answers yet, but I'm close to getting it working across reboots.

I got past the issue you're talking about by

0.  downloading the ppd for my printer from http://www.linuxprinting.org/show_printer.cgi?recnum=HP-LaserJet_1100
1.  setting a root pw
2.  installing cups
3.  installing hpijs_hpoj
4.  opening a root console, running ptal-init setup and answering all the questions
5.  http://localhost:631
6.  add a printer
7.  cups should list your printer in its dropdown, "ptal" something
8.  select the ppd you downloaded for your printer
9.  print test page

I used to get the prompt for the password over and over in cups (even after I'd set the root pw) until I saw my printer listed as (something like) ptal:hp1100 in the cups port selection dropdown

tricky parts for surviving a reboot (remember, I don't have it all solved yet, my current problem is that cups fails to remember the driver: raw vs ghostscript)