WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Tuning TCL  (Read 6884 times)

Offline Matesax

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Tuning TCL
« on: March 31, 2013, 12:34:57 AM »
Hi,
firstly - how can I have more (s)tty screens? No - I not thinking multiplexer - for example Ubuntu - it have six (s)tty screens by default... And secondly - how can i suspend TCL into RAM and HDD? I tried to use pm-utils and suspend utils - it failed... Pm-utils worked properly, but waking up failed - I saw only black screen after this action. Thirdly - how can I modify read only file system? I want remove
unnecessary kmaps, customize JWM and so one... I tried remount with rw attribution, but it did not change ro mode... And last - how can I set properly Czech keyboard? Firstly - in X not work shift modifier. Secondly - diacritic not working. ì¹èø¾ýáíéúù
Thank you.

EDIT - And last  ;D - why gpm not display mouse?
« Last Edit: March 31, 2013, 01:19:15 AM by Matesax »

Offline Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11303
Re: Tuning TCL
« Reply #1 on: March 31, 2013, 06:30:16 AM »
Hi Matesax
Quote
Thirdly - how can I modify read only file system? I want remove unnecessary kmaps, customize JWM and so one... I tried remount with rw attribution, but it did not change ro mode.
You need to run  unsquashfs  on the extension, make your changes, and run  mksquashfs.
JWM is probably best customized by changing its config files and including them as part of your backup.

Offline Matesax

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: Tuning TCL
« Reply #2 on: March 31, 2013, 06:51:30 AM »
Yes - I already customized the JWM. I found configuration files in mounted rw filesystem... TCL is really quite complicated.  :D

Offline bmarkus

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7183
    • My Community Forum
Re: Tuning TCL
« Reply #3 on: March 31, 2013, 07:00:14 AM »
Hi,
firstly - how can I have more (s)tty screens? No - I not thinking multiplexer - for example Ubuntu - it have six (s)tty screens by default...

Use multivt boot option.
Béla
Ham Radio callsign: HA5DI

"Amateur Radio: The First Technology-Based Social Network."

Offline Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11303
Re: Tuning TCL
« Reply #4 on: March 31, 2013, 07:01:05 AM »
Hi Matesax
There are some nice system diagrams in the Wiki that should help you to understand how Tinycore works:
http://wiki.tinycorelinux.net/wiki:tiny_core_file_architecture_diagrams

Offline tinypoodle

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3857
Re: Tuning TCL
« Reply #5 on: March 31, 2013, 07:25:28 AM »
Hi,
firstly - how can I have more (s)tty screens? No - I not thinking multiplexer - for example Ubuntu - it have six (s)tty screens by default...

Use multivt boot option.

or
Code: [Select]
sudo openvt su - tc
to allocate additional vt's without rebooting.
"Software gets slower faster than hardware gets faster." Niklaus Wirth - A Plea for Lean Software (1995)

Offline tinypoodle

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3857
Re: Tuning TCL
« Reply #6 on: March 31, 2013, 08:22:46 AM »
And secondly - how can i suspend TCL into RAM and HDD? I tried to use pm-utils and suspend utils - it failed... Pm-utils worked properly, but waking up failed - I saw only black screen after this action.

FWIW, a script which creates an initramfs to resume from s2disk is posted here:
http://forum.tinycorelinux.net/index.php/topic,14915.msg85358.html#msg85358
"Software gets slower faster than hardware gets faster." Niklaus Wirth - A Plea for Lean Software (1995)

Offline Matesax

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: Tuning TCL
« Reply #7 on: March 31, 2013, 08:45:04 AM »
But s2disk/ram not work - only pm-utils.... And pm-utils display blank screen after wakeup...

Offline tinypoodle

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3857
Re: Tuning TCL
« Reply #8 on: March 31, 2013, 09:00:09 AM »
But s2disk/ram not work

"not work" = not informative!!

Quote
only pm-utils....

I am unable to find any reference neither in repo nor in forum - while there are plenty of references related to suspend (lately renamed to suspend-utils) in this forum.
"Software gets slower faster than hardware gets faster." Niklaus Wirth - A Plea for Lean Software (1995)

Offline Matesax

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: Tuning TCL
« Reply #9 on: March 31, 2013, 09:26:16 AM »
Code: [Select]
tc@box:/$ sudo s2ram
Machine is unknown.
This machine can be identified by:
    sys_vendor   = "eMachines"
    sys_product  = "eME642"
    sys_version  = "V2.14"
    bios_version = "V2.14"

---------------

tc@box:/$ sudo s2disk
s2disk: Could not stat the resume device file. Reason: No such file or directory
tc@box:/$ s2[tab]
s2both  s2disk  s2ram

Offline tinypoodle

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3857
Re: Tuning TCL
« Reply #10 on: March 31, 2013, 10:04:16 AM »
Code: [Select]
tc@box:/$ sudo s2disk
s2disk: Could not stat the resume device file. Reason: No such file or directory

Most likely configuration error in your /etc/suspend.conf
"Software gets slower faster than hardware gets faster." Niklaus Wirth - A Plea for Lean Software (1995)

Offline Matesax

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: Tuning TCL
« Reply #11 on: March 31, 2013, 10:46:04 AM »
My system not contains this file... Can you upload it?

Offline Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11303
Re: Tuning TCL
« Reply #12 on: March 31, 2013, 11:38:46 AM »
Hi Matesax
There should be a sample in:
Code: [Select]
/usr/local/share/suspend-utils/files/suspend.conf

Offline Matesax

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: Tuning TCL
« Reply #13 on: March 31, 2013, 12:17:42 PM »
Code: [Select]
snapshot device = /dev/snapshot
resume device = <path_to_resume_device_file>
#image size = 350000000
#suspend loglevel = 2
#compute checksum = y
#compress = y
#encrypt = y
#early writeout = y
#splash = y

This code contains only 2 commands - really correctly commands... In this file cannot be a problem...

In my test script /dev/snapshot working...
« Last Edit: March 31, 2013, 12:20:30 PM by Matesax »

Offline tinypoodle

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3857
Re: Tuning TCL
« Reply #14 on: March 31, 2013, 12:21:22 PM »
My system not contains this file... Can you upload it?

Well, you showing that you use "s2disk" without any options at all would lead to the conclusion that you rely on a configuration file...  ::)

What Rich said
"Software gets slower faster than hardware gets faster." Niklaus Wirth - A Plea for Lean Software (1995)