WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: PCMCIA Support  (Read 6940 times)

Offline cortman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 36
PCMCIA Support
« on: April 04, 2013, 05:05:21 PM »
How can I enable PCMCIA support for TC 4.7.5?
I'm pretty sure the PCMCIA slots aren't even being recognized, because dmesg returns nothing after inserting a card.
Copy.com offers 15 GB free cloud storage plus 5 GB extra for both of us when you use my referral link: https://copy.com?r=IlpMD4 :)

Offline tinypoodle

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3857
Re: PCMCIA Support
« Reply #1 on: April 04, 2013, 05:13:22 PM »
You could try boot code "laptop".
"Software gets slower faster than hardware gets faster." Niklaus Wirth - A Plea for Lean Software (1995)

Offline cortman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 36
Re: PCMCIA Support
« Reply #2 on: April 04, 2013, 05:36:49 PM »
Thanks for the reply, added the code, but it made no difference.
I've tried loading pcmcia with modprobe, and it loads fine, but still, nothing (according to dmesg).
Copy.com offers 15 GB free cloud storage plus 5 GB extra for both of us when you use my referral link: https://copy.com?r=IlpMD4 :)

Offline tinypoodle

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3857
Re: PCMCIA Support
« Reply #3 on: April 04, 2013, 05:45:29 PM »
Code: [Select]
pccardctl ls
"Software gets slower faster than hardware gets faster." Niklaus Wirth - A Plea for Lean Software (1995)

Offline cortman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 36
Re: PCMCIA Support
« Reply #4 on: April 04, 2013, 06:03:18 PM »
...returns nothing.
Copy.com offers 15 GB free cloud storage plus 5 GB extra for both of us when you use my referral link: https://copy.com?r=IlpMD4 :)

Offline tinypoodle

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3857
Re: PCMCIA Support
« Reply #5 on: April 04, 2013, 06:24:52 PM »
That means your initial suspicion that slots aren't recognized is probably true.

You could try:
Code: [Select]
sudo pcmcia-socket-startup
"Software gets slower faster than hardware gets faster." Niklaus Wirth - A Plea for Lean Software (1995)

Offline tinypoodle

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3857
Re: PCMCIA Support
« Reply #6 on: April 04, 2013, 07:23:57 PM »
I've tried loading pcmcia with modprobe, and it loads fine, but still, nothing (according to dmesg).

Upon experimenting, i.e. trying to make PCMCIA work after having unloaded drivers (I never had to do that manually as the boot code would always take care of for me), I found that is not enough, a socket driver has to be loaded which with my hardware is "yenta_socket", then the slots get recognized.
"Software gets slower faster than hardware gets faster." Niklaus Wirth - A Plea for Lean Software (1995)

Offline cortman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 36
Re: PCMCIA Support
« Reply #7 on: April 04, 2013, 07:40:37 PM »
Thanks for the replies- I tried pcmcia-socket-startup, but got "command not found".
I loaded yenta_socket, just to see what happened, and it loaded fine as well, but still nothing in dmesg when I plug in the PCMCIA card.
Full specs of the machine are available here, I don't know if that helps at all. http://www.toshiba-europe.com/computers/products/notebooks/satellitepro460cdt/product.shtm
Copy.com offers 15 GB free cloud storage plus 5 GB extra for both of us when you use my referral link: https://copy.com?r=IlpMD4 :)

Offline tinypoodle

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3857
Re: PCMCIA Support
« Reply #8 on: April 04, 2013, 08:27:26 PM »
I tried pcmcia-socket-startup, but got "command not found".

It is 
Code: [Select]
/lib/udev/pcmcia-socket-startupwhich means it should probably been invoked by udev.

Quote
I loaded yenta_socket, just to see what happened, and it loaded fine as well, but still nothing in dmesg when I plug in the PCMCIA card.

It should produce output instantly upon loading without a card inserted.

Quote
Full specs of the machine are available here, I don't know if that helps at all. http://www.toshiba-europe.com/computers/products/notebooks/satellitepro460cdt/product.shtm

Well, seeing a link "Download Technical Specifications (293 KB)" on bottom of page, I downloaded it and found it to end in .doc

Wondering, I ran "file" on it...

Code: [Select]
tc@box:~$ file sat_pro_460_tech-e.doc
sat_pro_460_tech-e.doc: CDF V2 Document, Little Endian, Os: Windows, Version 4.0, Code page: 1252, Title: Technical specifications, Author: PCD, Template: Normal.dot, Last Saved By: Debbie- Ann Brown, Revision Number: 43, Name of Creating Application: Microsoft Word for Windows 95, Total Editing Time: 02:03:00, Last Printed: Tue Apr 15 15:55:00 1997, Create Time/Date: Wed Apr 16 08:26:00 1997, Last Saved Time/Date: Sun May 11 14:16:00 1997, Number of Pages: 11, Number of Words: 2583, Number of Characters: 14726, Security: 0
tc@box:~$

:o

Best output of file ever!! 


"Software gets slower faster than hardware gets faster." Niklaus Wirth - A Plea for Lean Software (1995)

Offline cortman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 36
Re: PCMCIA Support
« Reply #9 on: April 04, 2013, 08:51:36 PM »
Wow. File seems to have returned everything except author's birth certificates and current credit card numbers. :)
Out of curiosity, I booted off a DSL CD I had, and I get a dmesg blurb and a system beep upon inserting the card. Seems DSL has cardmgr running. It's a network card, and nothing in ifconfig yet, but we'll see.
Copy.com offers 15 GB free cloud storage plus 5 GB extra for both of us when you use my referral link: https://copy.com?r=IlpMD4 :)

Offline tinypoodle

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3857
Re: PCMCIA Support
« Reply #10 on: April 04, 2013, 09:11:36 PM »
Check for loaded modules with lsmod while recognized.
"Software gets slower faster than hardware gets faster." Niklaus Wirth - A Plea for Lean Software (1995)

Offline curaga

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11044
Re: PCMCIA Support
« Reply #11 on: April 05, 2013, 09:29:18 AM »
Please try loading the module manually, "sudo modprobe i82365".
The only barriers that can stop you are the ones you create yourself.