WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: [SOLVED] no bug with vlc [subject changed]  (Read 5046 times)

aus9

  • Guest
[SOLVED] no bug with vlc [subject changed]
« on: November 27, 2012, 07:41:26 PM »
EDIT (Last one I hope)

Moderators

pls move post as  confirmed as NOT a bug

--------------------- below is original thoughts on bug possibility--------------

Code: [Select]
fmpeg --help
ffmpeg: relocation error: /usr/local/lib/libavfilter.so.3: symbol av_get_channel_layout_channel_index, version LIBAVUTIL_51 not defined in file libavutil.so.51 with link time reference

cheers
« Last Edit: December 06, 2012, 08:12:39 PM by aus9 »

aus9

  • Guest
Re: ffmpeg possible bug with libavfilter
« Reply #1 on: December 06, 2012, 02:55:28 AM »
Hi

I am still stumped on this one so google tried this post
http://brettwalenz.org/2011/08/17/ffmpeg-shared-libraries-relocation-errors-etc/

ok we have a /etc/ld.so.conf and my contents are
Quote
/usr/local/lib

and apps for libavutil have files
Quote
/usr/local/lib/libavutil.so
/usr/local/lib/libavutil.so.51
/usr/local/lib/libavutil.so.51.73.101

and
Code: [Select]
ls -al /usr/local/lib | grep libavutil*
lrwxrwxrwx  1 root root     51 Dec  6 17:58 libavutil.a -> /tmp/tcloop/libavutil-dev/usr/local/lib/libavutil.a
lrwxrwxrwx  1 root root     50 Dec  6 17:58 libavutil.so -> /tmp/tcloop/libavutil51/usr/local/lib/libavutil.so
lrwxrwxrwx  1 root root     53 Dec  6 17:58 libavutil.so.51 -> /tmp/tcloop/libavutil51/usr/local/lib/libavutil.so.51
lrwxrwxrwx  1 root root     60 Dec  6 17:58 libavutil.so.51.54.100 -> /tmp/tcloop/libavutil51/usr/local/lib/libavutil.so.51.54.100
lrwxrwxrwx  1 root root     58 Dec  6 17:58 libavutil.so.51.73.101 -> /tmp/tcloop/libavutil/usr/local/lib/libavutil.so.51.73.101

hang on whats this?
libavutil.so.51.54.100

that means I have libavutil51.tcz loaded as well

aaah its because of the dependency of vlc

it looks like I need the topic to change to a bug against vlc....do you agree?



« Last Edit: December 06, 2012, 02:58:35 AM by aus9 »

Offline tinypoodle

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3857
Re: possible bug with vlc [subject changed]
« Reply #2 on: December 06, 2012, 03:37:17 AM »
bug in which sense?
"Software gets slower faster than hardware gets faster." Niklaus Wirth - A Plea for Lean Software (1995)

aus9

  • Guest
Re: possible bug with vlc [subject changed]
« Reply #3 on: December 06, 2012, 02:04:22 PM »
Because if you use vlc then you can not IMHO run

ffmpeg or ffmpeg -h  etc

Offline tinypoodle

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3857
Re: possible bug with vlc [subject changed]
« Reply #4 on: December 06, 2012, 02:43:47 PM »
Output of:
"ldd `which ffmpeg` |grep libav"
"ldd `which vlc` |grep libav"
might be helpful.
"Software gets slower faster than hardware gets faster." Niklaus Wirth - A Plea for Lean Software (1995)

aus9

  • Guest
Re: possible bug with vlc [subject changed]
« Reply #5 on: December 06, 2012, 03:54:24 PM »
Code: [Select]
ldd `which ffmpeg` |grep libav
libavdevice.so.54 => /usr/local/lib/libavdevice.so.54 (0xb76e5000)
libavfilter.so.3 => /usr/local/lib/libavfilter.so.3 (0xb7670000)
libavformat.so.54 => /usr/local/lib/libavformat.so.54 (0xb7588000)
libavcodec.so.54 => /usr/local/lib/libavcodec.so.54 (0xb6bed000)
libavutil.so.51 => /usr/local/lib/libavutil.so.51 (0xb6b54000)

ldd `which vlc` |grep libav
(no hits)

I may have no hits as I have just tried changing the depends on vlc to use libav* without the numbers
but vlc still works

Code: [Select]
vlc
VLC media player 2.0.4 Twoflower (revision 2.0.3-289-g6e6100a)
[0x85e70c8] main libvlc: Running vlc with the default interface. Use 'cvlc' to use vlc without interface.
[0x86740a8] qt4 interface error: Unable to load extensions module

I can regain the old dependencies by deleting my libav* stuff and vlc and redownloading if you wish

sorry for thinking it was just a depend and being impatient  :)

Offline tinypoodle

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3857
Re: possible bug with vlc [subject changed]
« Reply #6 on: December 06, 2012, 04:19:36 PM »
Might be best to boot with "norestore base" and load only the 2 extensions in question for troubleshooting.
"Software gets slower faster than hardware gets faster." Niklaus Wirth - A Plea for Lean Software (1995)

aus9

  • Guest
Re: [SOLVED] no bug with vlc [subject changed]
« Reply #7 on: December 06, 2012, 08:09:17 PM »
tinypoodle

yes no bug your way

I downloaded and ran ffmpeg  first and it works as expected
next downloaded vlc and ran it....well I should have run cvlc but could not remember the command vlc but it made no difference, running vlc merely started it but no gui and then I closed it with control + c

redid ffmpeg...still works

therefore not a bug but a borked private tce/optional area I will fix in the fullness of time

thanks heaps tinypoddle