WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: How do I install a TCE package from the command line?  (Read 14178 times)

Offline PingPing

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 99
How do I install a TCE package from the command line?
« on: May 03, 2009, 03:06:46 AM »
I'm remastering TCL and I've stripped out the GUI.  However, I don't know the command line tool to use to (a) list, and (b) install, the .tce packages.  Could someone please kindly tell me?

Offline mikshaw

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 368
Re: How do I install a TCE package from the command line?
« Reply #1 on: May 03, 2009, 05:53:49 AM »
(a) list: Do you mean list the packages you have?  Or list the contents of them? Or list the available packages in the repository?

(b) install: tce-load /path/to/file

Offline tobiaus

  • Suspended
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 599
Re: How do I install a TCE package from the command line?
« Reply #2 on: May 03, 2009, 09:19:30 AM »
sudo /usr/bin/tce-fetch.sh links-2.2.tce
sudo /usr/bin/tce-fetch.sh openssl-0.9.8h.tcel
sudo /usr/bin/tce-fetch.sh graphics-libs-1.tcel

you probably don't need the graphics-libs.

tce-load links-2.2.tce
tce-load openssl-0.9.8h.tcel
tce-load graphics-libs-1.tcel

links ftp://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/tinycorelinux/2.x/tce/

links will list the extensions. you can view the html tables, but they're too large to fit in an 80-char-width vt. if you can do more than 80x25 you may be able to view the fancier list, but you may prefer the plain list anyway.

Offline roberts

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7361
  • Founder Emeritus
Re: How do I install a TCE package from the command line?
« Reply #3 on: May 03, 2009, 09:57:54 AM »
tce-fetch is not recommended as it does not check md5 sums nor handle dependencies and requires 'sudo'.

$ tce-load appname.tce wget install

Handles md5 checking and dependencies, downloads and 'installs' the named extension as using appbrowser would do.

$ tce-load appname.tce wget

This will handle md5 checking and dependencies and downloads. This is like using appbrowser "Download Only"

If using command line tools, be sure that you are storing the extensions into a proper "tce" directory or you will experience much grief.
10+ Years Contributing to Linux Open Source Projects.

Offline tobiaus

  • Suspended
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 599
Re: How do I install a TCE package from the command line?
« Reply #4 on: May 03, 2009, 10:17:50 AM »
$ tce-load appname.tce wget install

Handles md5 checking and dependencies, downloads and 'installs' the named extension as using appbrowser would do.

SWEET!

i'm sure i've read that, but when you do something one way, sometimes you have to see the better way a couple times before you really figure it out. i didn't know there was a command line option that did deps too. very cool. as an apt-get user in ubuntu, i may use tce-load appname.tce wget install from now on. does this go all the way back to 1.2 or is it newer than that?

Offline roberts

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7361
  • Founder Emeritus
Re: How do I install a TCE package from the command line?
« Reply #5 on: May 03, 2009, 10:25:43 AM »
From the beginning. But be warned that storing extensions is arbitary locations will cause confusion and likely greif. Command line tools represent the 'expert' mode.
10+ Years Contributing to Linux Open Source Projects.

Offline tobiaus

  • Suspended
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 599
Re: How do I install a TCE package from the command line?
« Reply #6 on: May 03, 2009, 11:32:38 AM »
But be warned that storing extensions is arbitary locations will cause confusion and likely greif.

good point. "cd $whateverthevariableforthetcefolderis" should be part of the instructions too.

Offline mikshaw

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 368
Re: How do I install a TCE package from the command line?
« Reply #7 on: May 03, 2009, 01:42:31 PM »
You might make it slightly simpler by adding a tce-wget wrapper to $HOME/.local/bin
Code: [Select]
cd /path/to/my/tce/folder
tce-load "$1" wget install
Then you can run tce-wget appname.tce from any directory.
It's not much different, but saves having to cd