WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Is it possible to script tce-update with no confirmation?  (Read 1597 times)

Offline teagy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Is it possible to script tce-update with no confirmation?
« on: August 03, 2012, 12:27:30 PM »
I need to be able to run tce-update in a script with a no confirm option so that it doesn't hang waiting for the user to press Enter. Is this possible?

Offline AbNoRMiS

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 550
  • nothing can be impeccable in this imperfect world
    • @ß№®M!$
Re: Is it possible to script tce-update with no confirmation?
« Reply #1 on: August 03, 2012, 12:55:45 PM »
Code: [Select]
echo | tce-update
Basic Design Concept © @ß№®M!$
please forgive my terrible english :)

Offline AbNoRMiS

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 550
  • nothing can be impeccable in this imperfect world
    • @ß№®M!$
Re: Is it possible to script tce-update with no confirmation?
« Reply #2 on: August 03, 2012, 01:20:27 PM »
but sometimes tce-update says
Quote
Checking for Easy Mode Operation...

Unfortunately there is not enough free disk space for easy mode.
You can still proceed with in-place extension update.i

To ensure a safe batch upgrade of all extensions,
the following boot codes are recommended:
base norestore text

Best to run when no other extensions are being used.

The following boot codes are missing:
base norestore

It is recommended to Reboot with the recommended  boot options,
and at system prompt enter: sudo tce-update

At minimum it better to exit from X and at system prompt enter:
sudo tce-update

To ignore recommendatons and force an update, type force, then press Enter

To query which extensions need to be updated, type query, then press Enter

Otherwise press Enter key to exit:

or something else similar
therefore need check return codes
Basic Design Concept © @ß№®M!$
please forgive my terrible english :)

Offline teagy

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: Is it possible to script tce-update with no confirmation?
« Reply #3 on: August 03, 2012, 01:25:12 PM »
Works great! Thanks a lot.

Offline AbNoRMiS

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 550
  • nothing can be impeccable in this imperfect world
    • @ß№®M!$
Re: Is it possible to script tce-update with no confirmation?
« Reply #4 on: August 03, 2012, 01:29:38 PM »
for case indicated above can make following
Code: [Select]
echo force | tce-update
Basic Design Concept © @ß№®M!$
please forgive my terrible english :)