WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: elinks has same networking problem that wget and aria2 have?  (Read 9809 times)

Offline tobiaus

  • Suspended
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 599
i install links and go to http://google.com ... it works immediately.

i install elinks and go to http://google.com ... it waits ... host not found http://google.com

i open elinks and links side by side in two terms... i put http://google.com in both goto windows... hit enter on elinks and it just sits there...

then i hit enter on "goto" in links... loads google while elinks still just sits.

i hit refresh 10 times for each browser, waiting each time for a download or timeout message. elinks never loads google, links does every time. elinks is behaving the way wget http://google.com and aria always behave in 2.0rc1, but ff and links always work for me. if this is a temporary dns issue, it's only temporary for certain apps. the apps that don't work, haven't since the upgrade. i found this yesterday, it's the same today, and 5, 10, 20 minutes later.

Offline jpeters

  • Restricted
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1017
Re: elinks has same networking problem that wget and aria2 have?
« Reply #1 on: May 01, 2009, 05:47:05 PM »
no problem here.....Can you go to other sites?

Offline roberts

  • Retired Admins
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7361
  • Founder Emeritus
Re: elinks has same networking problem that wget and aria2 have?
« Reply #2 on: May 01, 2009, 05:54:18 PM »
google.com has multiple IP addresses.

What happens if you try by an IP address?


Name:      google.com
Address 1: 209.85.171.100 cg-in-f100.google.com
Address 2: 74.125.67.100 gw-in-f100.google.com
Address 3: 74.125.45.100 yx-in-f100.google.com

10+ Years Contributing to Linux Open Source Projects.

Offline tobiaus

  • Suspended
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 599
Re: elinks has same networking problem that wget and aria2 have?
« Reply #3 on: May 01, 2009, 06:28:04 PM »
What happens if you try by an IP address?

http://google.com
IP Address 1: http://209.85.171.100
IP Address 2: http://74.125.67.100
IP Address 3: http://74.125.45.100

not surprisingly, all 3 ip addresses work in both elinks and links. i realize this is a dns issue, but it's a dns issue that only happens in certain apps, and consistently with those apps.

all 4 (including http://google.com) still work in links.

if rebooting into tc 1.2 and showing that this problem magically goes away proves anything to you, let me know i'll do it (but it's really tedious)

so far there has been one (1) error in what i've reported about this. it's true that installing wget.tce does not make any difference in the behavior but installing wget.tce does not stop appbrowser from working (nor should it.) that was a typo, i never meant to say appbrowser ever stopped working.

but i'm being very methodical and careful about this issue because it's important and obviously isn't affecting everyone. this is why rc's are good, too and you know? i'd love to be wrong, but... i dunno. i'll be happy to try any experiments you need to help me figure it out.

Offline roberts

  • Retired Admins
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7361
  • Founder Emeritus
Re: elinks has same networking problem that wget and aria2 have?
« Reply #4 on: May 01, 2009, 08:25:24 PM »
What is the results of the command
route -ne
on both working TC 1.x and TC 2.0rc?

What are the contents of
cat /etc/resolv.conf
 on both working and non-working versions?
10+ Years Contributing to Linux Open Source Projects.

Offline tobiaus

  • Suspended
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 599
Re: elinks has same networking problem that wget and aria2 have?
« Reply #5 on: May 01, 2009, 09:32:51 PM »
What is the results of the command
route -ne
on both working TC 1.x and TC 2.0rc?

What are the contents of
cat /etc/resolv.conf
 on both working and non-working versions?

it's neither of those, they're identical from 1.x to 2.x.

i figured out why appbrowser works even if wget doesn't. the working apps: netrik, ff, and links will work for 100% of addresses, including http://google.com

the problem apps: wget (both base and tce,) aria2, and elinks will work for some addresses like ibiblio.org and wikipedia.org, but never for google.com or linux.com. not in 2.x, not for me.

Offline jpeters

  • Restricted
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1017
Re: elinks has same networking problem that wget and aria2 have?
« Reply #6 on: May 01, 2009, 11:05:02 PM »


the problem apps: wget (both base and tce,) aria2, and elinks will work for some addresses like ibiblio.org and wikipedia.org, but never for google.com or linux.com. not in 2.x, not for me.

no problem with those sites on this end with elinks......connects about the same for both versions.  Are you using
the updated version of elinks?
« Last Edit: May 01, 2009, 11:14:13 PM by jpeters »

Offline tobiaus

  • Suspended
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 599
Re: elinks has same networking problem that wget and aria2 have?
« Reply #7 on: May 02, 2009, 01:59:55 AM »
no problem with those sites on this end with elinks......connects about the same for both versions.  Are you using
the updated version of elinks?

for now i seem to be the only person affected. i just downloaded elinks "today," (well now last night) but i've been watching this problem since "yesterday" (now technically the day before.)

that's when i first tried tc 2.x, specifically 2.0 rc1. no attached media, cloud mode from cd, so everything is new / 2.x repo, etc.

also more recently than this i tried 1.x and 2.x side by side in qemu in ubuntu. virtualized with identical network access, 1.x and 2.x still behave differently. this is not an elinks issue, it's an elinks, busybox wget, wget.tce, and aria2 issue. those apps work fine with the ip, and with some dns requests like ibiblio and wikipedia (hence appbrowser's not affected!)

neither google.com or linux.com work for any of those. not in 2.x, not for me. (i believe it does for others.) if i use standard ff (tce) or links, or netrik, ALL urls work... including google and linux.com.

Offline curaga

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10992
Re: elinks has same networking problem that wget and aria2 have?
« Reply #8 on: May 02, 2009, 03:57:01 AM »
Does nslookup work for you with those sites?

(I just tried myself to wget & aria2 http://google.com and it worked, twice, with both)
The only barriers that can stop you are the ones you create yourself.

Offline tobiaus

  • Suspended
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 599
Re: elinks has same networking problem that wget and aria2 have?
« Reply #9 on: May 02, 2009, 06:04:32 AM »
Does nslookup work for you with those sites?

no. and the appbrowser mystery is back! because busybox wget http://ibiblio.org will not resolve but appbrowser will still connect and install anything i ask it to. that really makes no sense at all. posting this with ff, but nslookup and elinks don't work, and links and netrik still do.

Offline tobiaus

  • Suspended
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 599
Re: elinks has same networking problem that wget and aria2 have?
« Reply #10 on: May 06, 2009, 08:25:52 PM »
Code: [Select]
tc@box:~$ tce-load aria2 wget install   
aria2
wget: server returned error: HTTP/1.1 404 Not Found
md5sum: aria2.md5.txt: No such file or directory

should work, yes? it works in appbrowser. this wget thing is bizarre. wget.tce is NOT installed. tried this with nano, same thing. add curl to the list of apps that resolve just fine.

Offline ^thehatsrule^

  • Retired Admins
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1726
Re: elinks has same networking problem that wget and aria2 have?
« Reply #11 on: May 06, 2009, 08:57:21 PM »
Wrong syntax: try
Code: [Select]
tce-load aria2.tce wget install

Offline tobiaus

  • Suspended
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 599
Re: elinks has same networking problem that wget and aria2 have?
« Reply #12 on: May 06, 2009, 09:16:05 PM »
Wrong syntax: try
Code: [Select]
tce-load aria2.tce wget install

oh that's a relief...

Quote
tc@box:~$ tce-load netrik.tce wget install
netrik.tce

i thought tce-load was one of the things that was working before. it still is, thanks.

Offline tobiaus

  • Suspended
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 599
Re: elinks has same networking problem that wget and aria2 have?
« Reply #13 on: May 10, 2009, 07:12:13 PM »
1.2 hosting qemu running 2.0rc1 OR 1.2-[ qemu(runs 2.x) ] = network problems in 2.x.

2.0rc1 hosting qemu running 1.2 OR 2.0-[ qemu(runs 1.2) ] = no network problems in 1.2, within qemu.

the diagram at the bottom shows that 1.x native is ok, 2.x native is not.

however, even if 2.x hosts the emulator, 1.2-emulated still works from inside 2.x.

http://img2.imageshack.us/img2/3412/tc20net.png
« Last Edit: May 10, 2009, 07:18:34 PM by tobiaus »

Offline jpeters

  • Restricted
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1017
Re: elinks has same networking problem that wget and aria2 have?
« Reply #14 on: May 10, 2009, 07:34:47 PM »
elinks was compiled on tc1.  Did you recompile it on tc2?