WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Some newbie questions re applications & persistence  (Read 6083 times)

Offline rntc

Some newbie questions re applications & persistence
« on: July 08, 2012, 05:07:43 AM »
I am new to Tinycore though I am reasonably comfortable using linux. I like the Tinycore philosophy very much and want to try it. I have downloaded the tinycore-current.iso and tried to frugally install it on my (ext3) partition sda7. I copied the boot and cde folders /tinycore/boot and /cde folders and used grub setting as "kernel /tinycore/boot/vmlinuz quiet cde". It booted well with gui.

I then downloaded leafpad.scm and abiword.tcz from the application installers. I rebooted with backup option. However, I was booted to the command prompt only. I then copied the contents of cde folder to the newly created tce folder and I was able to boot to gui. However, now I need help with following points:

1. leafpad application is not starting on typing the command 'leafpad' (no such command). How can I set up so that it is available after booting (I do not want it or other applications to load to memory, but they should be available). Will the procedure be same for abiword (of which tcz was installed (leafpad was scm).
2. How can I set up so that leafpad and abiword are available in the menu.
3. How can I make changes persistent? If I create a text file on my desktop, it should appear on rebooting. What folder I need to create for this and what option should I put on the grub kernel line. I want Tinycore to use a folder only and not the entire partition.
4. What is the best way to I install lxde and lxdm in Tinycore.

I tried looking for these in the wiki, faq and forum search, but it is not becoming clear. Any help is much appreciated.
« Last Edit: July 08, 2012, 06:59:57 AM by rntc »

Offline jano

Re: Some newbie questions re applications & persistence
« Reply #1 on: July 08, 2012, 07:10:22 AM »
Not an expert, hope this helps: