WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Newbie questions: persistent settings, qemu image, permanently installe packages  (Read 5038 times)

Offline PF4TinyCore

Hi all

Please excuse my ignorance, I am new to TinyCore.
Here is my plan: I need to use TinyCore for a network lab.
Utils like tcpdump, very very light http and ftp daemons and other small utils would be usefull for me as I am planning to
use these in GNS3 (network simulator) in order to test different scenario (load balancers for example)

Could you please either tell me how to do these or point me to the right docs:

-How do I create a qemu image of an ISO image. qemu-img is the answer but I am not sure what format I should use for the img file. (an exact command line will help)
-persistent settings: I need static TCPIP, where do I configure persistent settings
-I am using this image linux-microcore-4.0.2-clean.img  (google it, I can't post a link here) and I can not seem to be able to stop the qemu at the command promt in order to pass the kernel the boot codes. Is there any way to add some delay to the boot process or force qemu to boot slower ?

thanks
PF

Offline gerald_clark

• TinyCore Moderator
Please spend some time reading the wiki.

Offline PF4TinyCore

I am quite sure that this kind of help will promote this Linux distribution

Offline Rich

• Administrator
Hi
Please post your Qemu questions in the  Tiny Core on Virtual Machines  section of the forum.
For static IP, see:  http://forum.tinycorelinux.net/index.php/topic,13781.msg77070.html#msg77070

Offline gerald_clark

• TinyCore Moderator
Asking questions thoroughly covered in the wiki is a sign that you have not done the required research.
The wiki should be your first stop.
Getting snotty is also not a good way to encourage others to help you.

Offline PF4TinyCore

Asking questions thoroughly covered in the wiki is a sign that you have not done the required research.
The wiki should be your first stop.