WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: tcl repo  (Read 3310 times)

Offline cast-fish

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1000
  • hi there
tcl repo
« on: November 24, 2011, 04:50:26 PM »
Hello forum,

 my tcl 4.0.1 boot from CD won't connect to the app browser store...no network connection

the same machine works fine with other OS's and the same network internet connection?

any ideas?

V.

Offline gerald_clark

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4254
Re: tcl repo
« Reply #1 on: November 24, 2011, 04:55:16 PM »
Use the multicore iso as it has more network support for unusual and wifi adapters.

Offline cast-fish

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1000
  • hi there
Re: tcl repo
« Reply #2 on: November 24, 2011, 04:58:51 PM »
hello

it is using the "multicore iso" cd......so

It is a regular CD boot....to the desktop.

what could be the problem?

V.



Offline gerald_clark

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4254
Re: tcl repo
« Reply #3 on: November 24, 2011, 05:11:46 PM »
Look for clues using 'dmesg'
Do you have a dhcp server on your network?
If not use the 'network' button in the cpanel.

Offline cast-fish

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1000
  • hi there
Re: tcl repo
« Reply #4 on: November 24, 2011, 05:22:53 PM »
strange

it is working now....wihin 5 mins proper internet connection....so no chron jobs or any network gremlins need be considered...

same boot...same cd disc...same  machine ...same network at my end...

hmm

V.

Offline cast-fish

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1000
  • hi there
Re: tcl repo not working (Compaq nic drv's...)
« Reply #5 on: November 24, 2011, 06:05:24 PM »
no tcl 4.0.1 does not work with this compaq machine....

it boots off CD...

but with a proper install from "multi-core CD"....... there isn't any network connection capability...

not sure why that is.

You mentioned drivers and things. Perhaps the machine over-rides tcl when tcl is installed
and somehow hogs the nic....drv

thx

V.


Offline Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11317
Re: tcl repo
« Reply #6 on: November 24, 2011, 08:28:40 PM »
Hi cast-fish
Since you are asking questions, but not providing any information, I feel this bears repeating;
Quote
Look for clues using 'dmesg'
Do you have a dhcp server on your network?
If not use the 'network' button in the cpanel.

Offline cast-fish

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1000
  • hi there
Re: tcl repo
« Reply #7 on: November 26, 2011, 07:24:55 PM »
Hello

Yes

yes, that stuff was tried...beforehand.

Is it possible that the nic drv is not resident?

the machine is very very old...2001

thx

V.

ps. i don't want to ask too much. It should just work out of the box.

V.

Offline gerald_clark

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4254
Re: tcl repo
« Reply #8 on: November 26, 2011, 07:33:52 PM »
You still have not provided one bit of useful information.

Offline cast-fish

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1000
  • hi there
Re: tcl repo
« Reply #9 on: November 26, 2011, 09:04:39 PM »
Hello

uh...

sorry....i am not on the laptop in question now....because it can't
connect to the web...ye

it must be a problem with nics drv dchp

i will use the earlier tcl that worked!...check and transfer
over the settings.

thx

V.