WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: setup auto login on TTY2  (Read 2683 times)

Offline evilbob

setup auto login on TTY2
« on: October 19, 2010, 09:17:49 AM »
Hello I have tried searching but it has not helped me so now I have to ask.

I installed Tiny Core to a hard drive and am using the "Quiet, text, and multivt" boot codes.
I then set up my opt/.filetool.lst to include /etc/inittab

I added kill -1 1 to my opt/bootlocal.sh

In inettab I uncommented the lines for TTY2 - TTY6 and added --autologin root so it looks like this
tty2::respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 tty2 --autologin root

Also tried
tty2::respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 tty2 -u root

Also tried to change it to use rungetty
tty2::respawn:/sbin/rungetty tty2 --autologin root

no matter what I try It will not autologin it will prompt for a user and password or not work at all.

I am fairly new to linux and not experienced with Getty or Virtual terminals so please over explain if you can.

The goal is to have a TN5250 Terminal emulator load automatically and have each tty represent a different session. allowing a user to switch between sessions without having to type anything.

Thanks for reading this.

Offline danielibarnes

Re: setup auto login on TTY2
« Reply #1 on: October 19, 2010, 12:29:58 PM »
I've been down this road. Autologin only works for tty1 and only for the first login. I'd suggest simply running tn5250 from /etc/inittab. I use this:

tty2::respawn:/sbin/rungetty -u tc -g staff tty2 -- /usr/bin/tail -f /var/log/messages

to put syslog on virtual terminal 2.

I put this in my /opt/bootlocal.sh:

# Wait for init to finish then reload it
wait $PPID
sleep 1
kill -SIGHUP 1

Offline maro

« Reply #2 on: October 19, 2010, 02:04:54 PM »