WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Using TCL to share files over the local network.  (Read 4323 times)

Offline TCErtified

Using TCL to share files over the local network.
« on: September 22, 2010, 08:18:33 AM »
Hi all!

I'm pretty new to Linux and all, and I usually get by just fine googling and searching, but, I've got stuck with what I want out of a thin client which I've installed TCL to the internal 128Mb flash disk. I just want to be able to put this thing in the loft and use it as a headless torrent box/media server, which I can ssh/vnc into, and share downloaded files over the network to a Ubuntu desktop, a Xbox 360 and a Nexus One.

Now, I've got this 500Gb usb drive which is currently formatted to NTFS, but I can't seem to get ntfs-3g to automount it by trying both these methods described here (I've tried various sleep states from 5-30 too). I can get it to mount like the OP in that thread described by sudo /tmp/tcloop.... but automounting just won't seem to work.

So I've just backed up all the files to another drive and was wondering if reformatting to a different filesystem would make it easier to auto-mount it. Searching/Googled and CIFS looks like the way to share over the network but I ain't too sure how to do that, and looking at the disk in Ubuntu's Disk Utility I don't see any option to format the drive in CIFS. If I formatted it in ext3/4 would I be able to share (Samba?) it to the 360 still?

It's mainly my music I want to share from this to the 360/Nexus, and as for movies I use ps3mediaserver on the Ubuntu box so I'd just be copying them to the Ubuntu box when and as required.

Any help/ideas would be much appreciated as my head's getting a little fuzzy.  ???
« Last Edit: September 22, 2010, 08:28:33 AM by TCErtified »

Offline curaga

• Administrator
Re: Using TCL to share files over the local network.
« Reply #1 on: September 22, 2010, 09:15:08 AM »