WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: OnDemand icons  (Read 2741 times)

Offline uggla

OnDemand icons
« on: August 04, 2010, 10:53:35 PM »
Hi!

I'm new to TC and I really like what I see. I just wonder why on demand applications isn't given a wbar icon? I have all my applications as on demand items and I think it's annoying that they don't show up on wbar until first run.

(With a few hacks I've now fixed this on my install but it needs some work every time I install a new app.)

Regards
/Uggla

Offline roberts

• Administrator
  • Founder Emeritus
Re: OnDemand icons
« Reply #1 on: August 04, 2010, 11:59:49 PM »
Some users have many of OnDemand items. Wbar is very limited in the number icons that can be displayed in a single instance. On 1024x768 about  30 is max.
10+ Years Contributing to Linux Open Source Projects.

Offline jur

• cycling photo essays
« Reply #2 on: August 05, 2010, 02:45:44 AM »
I think I saw that the guys over at puppylinux are working on a gui to control wbar settings. It may be useful for us also. I'll see if I can find something about it.

Offline roberts

• Administrator
  • Founder Emeritus
« Reply #3 on: August 05, 2010, 07:57:54 AM »
I am amazed at what I just recently proposed in the development area is something that seems to then also appear in the public forum: Case in point. On Aug 02  I posted:

OnDemand makeover
« on: August 02, 2010, 12:21:45 PM »    
Here is what I am contemplating for 3.1...

1. Move OnDemand directory out of HOME and into TCE base directory, after all it concerns extensions.

2. Merge OnDemand menu items into the dynamic Applications menu.
    a) Thereby having a single applications menu area. Cleaner less complex.
    b) Prevent creating menu items for existing OnDemand menu items in the Applications menu.

3. Add OnDemand directory to the end of the users PATH for easy command line use of "load & run" applications.