WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: some notes on the philosophy behind TC  (Read 6522 times)

Offline jamtat

some notes on the philosophy behind TC
« on: June 16, 2010, 09:54:23 AM »
I generally like smaller distros aimed at running on older hardware and enjoy exploring alternatives in general, so I was attracted to TC. I should also point out that I was a regular follower of TC's predecessor (DSL) and installed and used several releases of that distro. Finally, I've been using Linux pretty much full time for about 10 years and have a fair amount of experience administering my own computers.

I experimented around a bit when I first started using Linux: first with Mandrake, then with Red Hat, then Redmond Linux (remember that one?), Knoppix, and some Slackware variants. I finally settled on Debian, just before Ubuntu hit the scene. I finally switched over to Ubuntu, though in recent years I've also been using Arch. So, though I don't have any formal training in computers, nor do I work in any computer-related job, I have a fair amount of experience with them and with Linux through pursuing this as a sort of hobby.

Despite my decent grounding in Linux I'm still struggling to understand the TC philosophy and approach. One aspect of it I'd like to take issue with in this post is what is referred to as "system rot."

It seems TC has been constructed as it has in large part to address the perceived problem of system rot. Right off the bat I have a problem with that aspect of the philosophy. Why? Because no Linux system I've set up and used has ever suffered from system rot. Lots of Windows systems I've set up and used have suffered from system rot, but no Linux system I've ever set up and used has. Let me explain.