WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Tiny Core 3.0 Alpha 3 Testing  (Read 14862 times)

Offline roberts

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7344
  • Founder Emeritus
Tiny Core 3.0 Alpha 3 Testing
« on: May 13, 2010, 08:24:30 PM »
Please continue testing the alpha versions of Tiny Core v3.0. Alpha3 is now posted:
http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/tinycorelinux/3.x/release_candidates/tinycore_3.0alpha3.iso

Change log for alpha3.
* New kernel for support of pci-hotplug modules
* New modules for eeepc-laptop and ssb
* Updated tce-audit/appsaudit for agnostic kernel support.
* Updated ondemand, dropped jwm/wbar improved handling of multiple .desktop elements.
* Removed now unneeded tc2freedesk and add2file.
* Updated exittc to handle rare case of missing BACKUP env variable.

Note: You will need to update bzImage as well as tinycore.gz
10+ Years Contributing to Linux Open Source Projects.

Offline meo

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 454
Re: Tiny Core 3.0 Alpha 3 Testing
« Reply #1 on: May 13, 2010, 11:45:55 PM »
Hi!

I'm impressed of the fast development of tinycore 3.0. Thanks to all that have been involved in the development of this excellent release even though it's still in alpha stage. It has worked extremely well with my laptop that is more than 8 years old. So thanks a lot!

Have fun developing tinycore 3.0 further,
meo
"All that is very well," answered Candide, "but let us cultivate our garden." - Francois-Marie Arouet Voltaire

Online curaga

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7877
Re: Tiny Core 3.0 Alpha 3 Testing
« Reply #2 on: May 14, 2010, 12:42:23 AM »
Eee pc users, the module now depends on both hwmon and pci-hotplug.
The only barriers that can stop you are the ones you create yourself.

Offline sci_fi

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 86
Re: Tiny Core 3.0 Alpha 3 Testing
« Reply #3 on: May 14, 2010, 04:19:10 AM »
Good morning:

I use icewm. I notice that in the move to TC3.0 (all alpha's), the dropdown menu (right click on background) no longer contains a "Applications" ("tce extensions") entry. I am guessing that icewm may need an update, as this was not the case in 2.11.

This does not happen with flwm. The dropdown menu works as expected.

Also, the "TC Tools" entry in this dropdown is incomplete, that is, not all tools are listed. Perhaps not compatible with icewm?

Otherwise, I am having no problems so far with alpha3.

Best Regards,

sci_fi

Offline roberts

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7344
  • Founder Emeritus
Re: Tiny Core 3.0 Alpha 3 Testing
« Reply #4 on: May 14, 2010, 04:35:53 AM »
Good morning:

I use icewm. I notice that in the move to TC3.0 (all alpha's), the dropdown menu (right click on background) no longer contains a "Applications" ("tce extensions") entry. I am guessing that icewm may need an update, as this was not the case in 2.11.

This does not happen with flwm. The dropdown menu works as expected.

Also, the "TC Tools" entry in this dropdown is incomplete, that is, not all tools are listed. Perhaps not compatible with icewm?

Otherwise, I am having no problems so far with alpha3.

Best Regards,

sci_fi
Alpha testing has been focused on the base.
The next phase will be to revisit the various window managers.
They should be ready during the release candidate phase.
10+ Years Contributing to Linux Open Source Projects.

Offline gerald_clark

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3402
Re: Tiny Core 3.0 Alpha 3 Testing
« Reply #5 on: May 14, 2010, 06:21:03 AM »
I want to verify that b44 network driver is working now. Thanks.

Offline jur

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 863
    • cycling photo essays
Re: Tiny Core 3.0 Alpha 3 Testing
« Reply #6 on: May 14, 2010, 07:13:07 AM »
I am going through the various extra things in this alpha.

* Looks like the eeepc hotkeys are back up - thanks!
* I am still having trouble mounting deps with KERNEL. I have to manually change all these to 2.6.33..... to get extensions to load. Examples are alsa, graphics, wireless-tools. If you look with appbrowser, alsa has as dep alsa-modules-2.6....., which itself has as dep input-joystick-KERNEL. That's where the wheels fall off.

Online curaga

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7877
Re: Tiny Core 3.0 Alpha 3 Testing
« Reply #7 on: May 14, 2010, 07:26:58 AM »
@jur, the var is handled on dep download. Try updating deps via appsaudit, if you didn't already.
The only barriers that can stop you are the ones you create yourself.

Offline jur

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 863
    • cycling photo essays
Re: Tiny Core 3.0 Alpha 3 Testing
« Reply #8 on: May 14, 2010, 03:33:36 PM »
@jur, the var is handled on dep download. Try updating deps via appsaudit, if you didn't already.
Is it the idea that on one's machine, there should be no KERNEL deps, but that all are changed at download into the required 2.6....?

I'll start from scratch to make sure there is no "contamination." (Unfortunately my phone line is broken right now, will have to wait till later this week.)

Offline jur

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 863
    • cycling photo essays
Re: Tiny Core 3.0 Alpha 3 Testing
« Reply #9 on: May 14, 2010, 04:05:51 PM »
OK, evidently the leftover KERNEL deps on my machine was indeed the problem. I deleted alsa+deps and tried, and it worked just fine. Also updated deps. (My pnone line is very intermittent so could just squeeze it through.)

Offline jur

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 863
    • cycling photo essays
Re: Tiny Core 3.0 Alpha 3 Testing
« Reply #10 on: May 14, 2010, 11:59:40 PM »
I wonder of I might suggest some re wallpaper: Currently I am using the very nifty core logo but with blue background, the grey I find too industrial. It's just a bit difficult tweaking the color, as each time I start wallpaper, it starts with a default grey and I have to try and match the settings. Perhaps it could start with the current background color instead? That way small incremental tweaks are easy.

Offline Sandras

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 53
Re: Tiny Core 3.0 Alpha 3 Testing
« Reply #11 on: May 15, 2010, 01:27:31 AM »
One more thing about wallpaper. It seems it is not possible to set a wallpaper image with a background color, you always have to leave it black, or, in case you wanna change it, it leaves you with the Tine Core logo in the center.

And I think jur has a good point there about the color picking mechanics.

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6410
Re: Tiny Core 3.0 Alpha 3 Testing
« Reply #12 on: May 15, 2010, 04:30:03 AM »
I didn't try this before in the previous alpha versions:
Code: [Select]
$ ps aux | grep udev
   80 root     /sbin/udevd --daemon
 1584 root     /sbin/udevd --daemon
 1587 root     /sbin/udevd --daemon

It is normal that three instances of the daemon are running?

Offline roberts

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7344
  • Founder Emeritus
Re: Tiny Core 3.0 Alpha 3 Testing
« Reply #13 on: May 15, 2010, 06:48:26 AM »
I wonder of I might suggest some re wallpaper: Currently I am using the very nifty core logo but with blue background, the grey I find too industrial. It's just a bit difficult tweaking the color, as each time I start wallpaper, it starts with a default grey and I have to try and match the settings. Perhaps it could start with the current background color instead? That way small incremental tweaks are easy.
The background color is recorded in /home/tc/.setbackground. By default all of /home/tc is included in the backup. Therefore user selected custom background color persists.
« Last Edit: May 15, 2010, 07:03:39 AM by roberts »
10+ Years Contributing to Linux Open Source Projects.

Offline bigpcman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 719
Re: Tiny Core 3.0 Alpha 3 Testing
« Reply #14 on: May 15, 2010, 10:36:32 AM »
I didn't try this before in the previous alpha versions:
Code: [Select]
$ ps aux | grep udev
   80 root     /sbin/udevd --daemon
 1584 root     /sbin/udevd --daemon
 1587 root     /sbin/udevd --daemon

It is normal that three instances of the daemon are running?

I saw this in tc2.11.
http://forum.tinycorelinux.net/index.php?topic=5871.msg31214#msg31214
big pc man