WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Persistence  (Read 2613 times)

Offline pnguine

Persistence
« on: March 13, 2010, 11:06:38 PM »
I expect this has been covered many times before but I haven't been able to find the answer I'm looking for so I'll try asking here.

I'm new to tc but not to Linux having tried various flavors over the years but this one seems like it might be what I'm looking for - especially on this old Toshiba Satellite.

I have a kind-of 'ad-hock' HDD install off a CD and I've finally gotten the frame buffer and the wireless card to work without being 'hard wired' to my lan by downloading everything I needed to my desktop box and transferring it to the Toshiba on USB stick and using tce-load -i. Now every time I shutdown I lose everything and have to spend hours trying to piece it all back together when I start up again.

The box has XP and Debian on it and I have /tce and /tce/optional folders set-up in the Debian/Linux partition. I have used the app-browser to install firefox from which I am writing this. So how do I shutdown now so when I start-up again I will still have the same X settings (with framebuffer) and wireless setup?

TIA

Offline alu

Re: Persistence
« Reply #1 on: March 14, 2010, 12:37:51 AM »

Offline pnguine

« Reply #2 on: March 14, 2010, 08:23:18 AM »