WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Install to old netbook  (Read 1651 times)

Offline barrowman

Install to old netbook
« on: October 05, 2023, 05:54:29 AM »
I have been running Linux since the 1990's when it was a case of editing files to get on the dialup network but I am completely at a loss with this.
So I have an old netbook on which I installed Mint a few years ago just to see if I could. It worked but of course it was very slow. I saw Tinycore mentioned yesterday and thought I would put it on the netbook.
Now how do I actually install it on the HDD? All 3 options are for downloading iso files. Do I mount one of them and run something from it? Does that install it on the HDD or on a USB stick? I don't want Mint to still be on the drive so it can go.
Can someone point me in the right direction please? 

Offline patrikg

• Wiki Author
Re: Install to old netbook
« Reply #1 on: October 05, 2023, 06:01:29 AM »
As first user of tc you should read free the tiny core book.

http://tinycorelinux.net/corebook.pdf

Offline CardealRusso

« Reply #2 on: October 05, 2023, 10:46:10 AM »
In particular, I recommend getting a dedicated tinycore USB stick.

...case of editing files to get on the dialup network...
Heh. On windows, I used to use my ISP's network cable directly to my computer, so I could access the internet without relying on a modem. I tried to do this on TinyCore without the help of GUI programs and got completely lost, it seems that only a very experienced user can pppoe this way.

Offline linic

« Reply #3 on: October 05, 2023, 05:28:10 PM »
Hi barrowman,
patrikg is right, the book is very good! Section 2.1 shows how to do the frugal installation. That's the one which will install on the hard drive. This page will also be relevant http://tinycorelinux.net/install.html.