WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: installer  (Read 4477 times)

Offline cast-fish

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1000
  • hi there
installer
« on: October 24, 2015, 08:46:04 PM »
Hello,

here there is a virgin boot off CD disc of TCL 4.3.1

At the desktop the "tc-install" extension has been loaded.

Also there is a download of the most recent TCL "core.gz"
from TCL 6.2.

Is it possible to run the installer tool and point it
to this latest version of the core.gz file and make it
install the whole lot to hard drive.  Resulting in a working
tcl 6.2....?


alternatively if i download TCL 6.2 iso file what way is
there of installing this OS to a hard disc? (without burning
the file to CD disc first)

V

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14568
Re: installer
« Reply #1 on: October 24, 2015, 09:08:17 PM »
Use tc-install to install tc-4.3.1 to hd or usb stick.

Then, using core.gz and vmlinuz from tc-6.2, over-write the files just installed and re-boot.

Offline cast-fish

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1000
  • hi there
Re: installer
« Reply #2 on: October 25, 2015, 08:11:39 AM »
Juanito,

many thanks for your reply.

Your idea has been mentioned before but it always presents lots of file permissions problems
and errors....if my memory serves me correctly

thanks

V

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14568
Re: installer
« Reply #3 on: October 25, 2015, 08:59:01 AM »
all you need is:
Code: [Select]
$ sudo cp /path-to-6.2-files /mnt/sdb1/boot..where you replace /mnt/sdb1/boot with where tc-install put the 4.3.1 core.gz and vmlinuz

Offline cast-fish

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1000
  • hi there
Re: installer
« Reply #4 on: October 25, 2015, 10:32:32 AM »
did this with 6.4 but it does not work.

The Appbrowser only lists the repo............it won't allow anything to be installed.

Also "top" did not work from the TCL context menu at the desltop.

i presume 6.3 and 6.2 etc will be the same story?


V

permissions are identical to what they were for the "replaced" files that were in 4.3.1


Offline nitram

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1054
Re: installer
« Reply #5 on: October 25, 2015, 01:57:27 PM »
Just some suggestions as it's unclear.
Both core.gz and vmlinux were replaced?
You will need to start with an empty /optional as TC4 and TC6 extensions won't jive.
The main repo is down due to hardware issue, try another repository.

Offline cast-fish

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1000
  • hi there
Re: installer
« Reply #6 on: October 25, 2015, 06:23:22 PM »
nitram

yes yes yes to all of those.....i think the only thing i didn't try was an alternative mirror repo.....

otherwise, all things in my test were virgin and fresh .....no orphen 4.3.1 apps lying around or anything like that

also, what about the "TOP" not working?..........also...........?


V



Offline nitram

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1054
Re: installer
« Reply #7 on: October 25, 2015, 08:31:13 PM »
Yeah sorry, just trying to help. Top not working...hmmm. Even if you're re-using your old /home/tc directory, can't see why Top wouldn't work. Maybe bad TC6 download? Have you tried bootcode 'base norestore', just boot into text/TTY, run 'version' to confirm, then test 'top'? Are you using any other bootcodes that may be causing issue?

Offline cast-fish

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1000
  • hi there
Re: installer
« Reply #8 on: October 26, 2015, 06:14:56 AM »
no i did not use any special boot codes or anything..

what bothers me now is that "TCL forum team" don't know that this is the current
situation with their own OS.  They must believe that these age old methods
of "swapping files over" still works okay....it does not work okay...!

i also tried this same method a long long time ago and it did not work then either.

Why do the forum members think these "swapping files over" method work?...... STILL?

what ALWAYS puzzles me about this forum is that, given it's a 10 megabyte distro, why
don't the DEVS ever "simulate" your fault comments...... before commenting back?

do they ever actually use a VM and simulate your fault(which takes 20 seconds on a 10 meg distro)
...........and then reply back?

i fear the answer is NO, in many cases. 

V


« Last Edit: October 26, 2015, 06:16:53 AM by cast-fish »

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14568
Re: installer
« Reply #9 on: October 26, 2015, 06:31:10 AM »
The only way I ever upgrade tinycore is by copying the latest core.gz and vmlinuz over the existing versions and it has worked without problems for years.

Maybe you could paste the exact commands you used, as an example I use:
Code: [Select]
$ sudo cp /tmp/core.gz /mnt/sdb1/boot
$ sudo cp /tmp/vmlinuz /mnt/sdb1/boot

Offline cast-fish

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1000
  • hi there
Re: installer
« Reply #10 on: October 26, 2015, 07:24:28 AM »
ok here is the case

the 6.4 boots to desktop....but like i said in the earlier post.....it does NOT work.

Same goes for doing the whole proces with 6.3 or 6.2 tcl

The way i have managed to get it working is by loading an existing extension i had on my spare THUMB called "mirrors" extension

a) first i used a spare extension i had lying around on my spare thumb drive called
"mirrors"
b) then i changed to a working mirror repo in the 6.4 GUI appbrowser.... (since your default repo is DOWN)
c) then i used a command line appLOADER  (tce-load....) to install extensions that i see in the GUI appbrowser list........... from the live 6.4 repo.....

so 6.4 tcl is functioning (just about)  but........

1) The gui appbrowser does NOT allow you  to install extensions or switch mirrors (see above)
2) "TOP" and maybe other context menu entries do NOT work
3) whatever else is not working

V

« Last Edit: October 26, 2015, 07:33:34 AM by cast-fish »

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14568
Re: installer
« Reply #11 on: October 26, 2015, 07:32:28 AM »
Since you are upgrading across major versions, i.e. from 4.x to 6.x, you would need to start with an empty tce/optional folder or use the "tce=" bootcode to point to a different folder (for example tce6).

This is required due to the incompatibility of some extensions across the 4.x and 6.x repos.

Offline Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11246
Re: installer
« Reply #12 on: October 26, 2015, 07:39:51 AM »
Hi cast-fish
Quote
alternatively if i download TCL 6.2 iso file what way is
there of installing this OS to a hard disc? (without burning
the file to CD disc first)
Download the  CorePlus  iso and copy it to a thumb drive:
Code: [Select]
dd if=the-coreplus.iso of=/dev/sdxBoot the thumb drive and run the install utility.

Quote
The Appbrowser only lists the repo............it won't allow anything to be installed.
That sounds like Appbrowser thinks a tce directory has not been selected. What does the  TCE:  line in Appbrowser  say?
If it's blank, click the  Set  button.


Offline cast-fish

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1000
  • hi there
Re: installer
« Reply #13 on: October 26, 2015, 10:38:19 AM »
Since you are upgrading across major versions, i.e. from 4.x to 6.x, you would need to start with an empty tce/optional folder or use the "tce=" bootcode to point to a different folder (for example tce6).

This is required due to the incompatibility of some extensions across the 4.x and 6.x repos.


-----------------

what do you mean........?..............at what start point.....where.........?

do you mean that when running the installer, you would need to point it to an empty tce folder
and not the folder that 4.3.1. currently has?

V

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14568
Re: installer
« Reply #14 on: October 26, 2015, 09:55:34 PM »
You mentioned that you used tc-install to install tc-4.3.1 and then copied core.gz and vmlinuz from tc-6.x over those from tc-4.3.1

At this point, before rebooting, you need to either rename the existing tce folder to something like tce4 or edit the boot loader config to include the bootcode tce=tce6 and then reboot - this will ensure you start tc-6.x with an empty tce folder than you can then populate with tc-6.x extensions.

tc-6.x will boot to the console prompt where you can enter something like:
Code: [Select]
$ tce-load -w Xvesa Xprogs flwm aterm wbar
$ tce-load -i Xvesa Xprogs flwm aterm wbar
..to get started

At the moment (I could be mistaken) I suspect you have a mixture of extensions from tc-4.x and tc-6.x in your tce folder.