WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Unable to build driver module.  (Read 4911 times)

Offline ferite

Unable to build driver module.
« on: November 09, 2013, 11:47:47 AM »
Hello.

I am relatively new to Linux, and completely new at TC.

I am trying to build the driver for a optical device. I have built it for some distros before. It is just about downloading kernel source package, set the kernel's path in the module's makefile and run make, and the driver should be built.

Now, working on TC, I have downloaded linux-3.8.10-sources-env.tcz, and set the module's kernel source path to "/usr/src/linux-3.8.10", but when I run make, I am getting the follow message:

root@box:/somepath/Driver# make
make[1]: Entering directory `/usr/src/linux-3.8.10'
Makefile:323: /usr/src/linux-3.8.10/scripts/Kbuild.include: No such file or directory
Makefile:578: /usr/src/linux-3.8.10/arch/x86/Makefile: No such file or directory
/bin/bash: /usr/src/linux-3.8.10/scripts/gcc-goto.sh: No such file or directory
make[1]: *** No rule to make target `/usr/src/linux-3.8.10/arch/x86/Makefile'.  Stop.
make[1]: Leaving directory `/usr/src/linux-3.8.10'
make: *** [all] Error 2

I hope that someone can help me on what else should I do, in order to build the module successfully.

Thanks.

Offline gerald_clark

• TinyCore Moderator
Re: Unable to build driver module.
« Reply #1 on: November 09, 2013, 12:02:59 PM »

Offline Rich

• Administrator
« Reply #2 on: November 09, 2013, 01:43:27 PM »
Hi ferite
... I have downloaded linux-3.8.10-sources-env.tcz ...
You need to run one of the scripts in that extension to get the actual sources. The scripts in that extension are:
Code: [Select]
usr/local/bin/linux-3.8.10-sources-basic-env.sh
usr/local/bin/linux-3.8.10-sources-env.sh
I think the one you need to run is:
linux-3.8.10-sources-env.shIt should be the larger of the two according to the info file.

Offline ferite

« Reply #3 on: November 11, 2013, 11:32:30 AM »