Author Topic: Intro / Install / What I'm looking for  (Read 3597 times)

Offline gap

Intro / Install / What I'm looking for
« on: September 30, 2012, 11:47:55 AM »
My name's Steve.  I've been using linux for about 6 years, and while I can say I don't have a lot of experience maintaining a stable system (I'm admittedly an Ubuntu user) I've tried a lot of distros, including such micros as:  slitaz, DSL, puppy, etc.

I come to install tiny core to my hard drive with the goal of having only a base minimal install and installing exactly what I need/want and nothing more/nothing less.  Your philosophies seem similar to Arch, but more GUI user friendly, which I appreciate.

I have the Tiny Core current ISO and plan to install to my hd.  I have a partition set up and ready to go and am sure I can get the system installed on my hd.  Unfortunately, my network is not automatically recognized.  I can search the forums for the info on how to figure this out, but  wouldn't mind some help regarding this issue.  I don't know what information you need, but my IP is:

[EDIT]: Removed what appears to be your public IP.   Rich

I need this so I can network from the tiny core install and I can ask further questions from there.  At the moment I'm on my Ubuntu partition.

What I'm looking for are the following applications.

JWM - which I understand is selectable.
Skype - Video / Audio must work
Pidgin
CMUS - CLI based audio player
LibreOffice Suite
PDF reader of some kind
Flash based firefox
Php / mysql / phpmyadmin support

That's really about all.  I believe tny core can help me realize this, and so I come here bidding you all a pleasant hello and a fond temporary farewell.

Steve
« Last Edit: September 30, 2012, 05:14:30 PM by Rich »

Offline bmarkus

• Administrator
    • My Community Forum
Re: Intro / Install / What I'm looking for
« Reply #1 on: September 30, 2012, 11:57:40 AM »