WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Core v4.5.2  (Read 6559 times)

Offline roberts

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7344
  • Founder Emeritus
Core v4.5.2
« on: May 04, 2012, 09:33:26 AM »
Core 4.5.2 a minor bug fix and adjustments release is now available at
http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/tinycorelinux/4.x/x86/release

Change log:
* Updated filetool.sh & tc-restore.sh improved usage of "protect" with existing backup file.
* Updated ondemand & tce-run improved support for command line arguments containing spaces.
* Updated ScmApps GUI, bug fixed when removing an scm and also have a same-named tcz.
* Updated ScmApps GUI, now updates scmboot.lst when deleting an scm.
* Export correct LANG variable for tce-setup at boot

Note: Updated Xprogs.tcz is required.
« Last Edit: May 04, 2012, 10:50:08 AM by roberts »
10+ Years Contributing to Linux Open Source Projects.

Offline AbNoRMiS

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 551
  • nothing can be impeccable in this imperfect world
    • @ß№®M!$
Re: Core v4.5.2
« Reply #1 on: May 04, 2012, 09:41:52 AM »
* Updated ondemand & tce-run improved support for command line additional arguments.
does that mean that we should remade all on-demand scripts in /etc/sysconfig/tcedir/ondemand?
Basic Design Concept © @ß№®M!$
please forgive my terrible english :)

Offline curaga

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7770
Re: Core v4.5.2
« Reply #2 on: May 04, 2012, 10:31:48 AM »
Only if you need command line arguments with spaces.
The only barriers that can stop you are the ones you create yourself.

Offline netnomad

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 737
Re: Core v4.5.2
« Reply #3 on: May 04, 2012, 12:02:11 PM »
hi friends,

something weird is happening...

"tce-run icecat" opens now icecat with the url icecat.com...

i guess that has something to do with the new script-and-spaces-issue!?

i use tce-run for a shortcut...
« Last Edit: May 04, 2012, 12:49:08 PM by netnomad »

Offline netnomad

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 737
Re: Core v4.5.2
« Reply #4 on: May 04, 2012, 12:07:09 PM »
now i changed my shortcut to "/usr/local/icecat/icecat" and it works as former experienced.
i guess  "tce-run icecat" has some advantages for certain circumstances...
« Last Edit: May 04, 2012, 12:49:37 PM by netnomad »

Offline netnomad

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 737
Re: Core v4.5.2
« Reply #5 on: May 04, 2012, 01:51:52 PM »
wbar is still a problem for icecat ondemand when i load it for the first time.

Offline roberts

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7344
  • Founder Emeritus
Re: Core v4.5.2
« Reply #6 on: May 04, 2012, 04:27:25 PM »
Heads Up! Reposted 4.5.2 as ondemand change had introduced a bug.

Check your md5sums.
10+ Years Contributing to Linux Open Source Projects.

Offline netnomad

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 737
Re: Core v4.5.2
« Reply #7 on: May 04, 2012, 04:49:34 PM »
hi roberts,

i checked the md5sums... no problem.
i even reinstalled icecat ondemand... so in that step the ondemand-img and the wbar-entry were reinstalled.
but nevertheless the problem remained.

thank you  for your help.

Offline roberts

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7344
  • Founder Emeritus
Re: Core v4.5.2
« Reply #8 on: May 04, 2012, 07:22:05 PM »
After repost, icecat.tcz is working fine for me. Both ondemand menu item as well as from wbar.
10+ Years Contributing to Linux Open Source Projects.

Offline AbNoRMiS

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 551
  • nothing can be impeccable in this imperfect world
    • @ß№®M!$
Re: Core v4.5.2
« Reply #9 on: May 05, 2012, 04:57:58 AM »
found issue in apps-browser (tcz)
now selected extension can not be excluded
from the list of extensions which are marked for deletion
apps -> maintenance -> dependencies and deletions -> mark for deletion
apps -> maintenance -> dependencies and deletions -> display marked for deletion
Basic Design Concept © @ß№®M!$
please forgive my terrible english :)

Offline uggla

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 438
Re: Core v4.5.2
« Reply #10 on: May 05, 2012, 06:41:47 AM »
There is still a problem with the ondemand script. Adding a ondemand app now creates the following script:

Code: [Select]
#!/bin/sh
TCEDIR=/etc/sysconfig/tcedir
if [ ! -e /usr/local/tce.installed/fluff ]; then
  tce-load -is $TCEDIR/optional/fluff.tcz
fi
[ $(which fluff) ] && exec   fluff

It should look like this:

Code: [Select]
#!/bin/sh
TCEDIR=/etc/sysconfig/tcedir
if [ ! -e /usr/local/tce.installed/fluff ]; then
  tce-load -is $TCEDIR/optional/fluff.tcz
fi
[ $(which fluff) ] && exec fluff "$@"

By the way, what's the point declaring a TCEDIR variable when it's only used once?

Offline Rich

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4191
Re: Core v4.5.2
« Reply #11 on: May 05, 2012, 07:45:29 AM »
Hi uggla
Quote
By the way, what's the point declaring a TCEDIR variable when it's only used once?
Maintaining consistency with the other system scripts comes to mind. And speaking of maintaining, if
"/etc/sysconfig/tcedir"  were ever to change in the future, a find and replace of  "TCEDIR=/etc/sysconfig/tcedir"
is all that's needed to update all of the scripts.

Offline uggla

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 438
Re: Core v4.5.2
« Reply #12 on: May 05, 2012, 07:53:35 AM »
Shouldn't TCEDIR be a system wide parameter? Why redefine it in every script?

Offline roberts

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7344
  • Founder Emeritus
Re: Core v4.5.2
« Reply #13 on: May 05, 2012, 07:57:43 AM »
ondemand issue fixed and posted.
Even though I asked bugs to be posted in the tcb bugs section we are still using news.
I am not sure what to make of that.  And we seem to be in the nit picky comments.
It is easy to be a Monday morning quarterback. It is always easier to criticize than to create.
« Last Edit: May 05, 2012, 08:04:09 AM by roberts »
10+ Years Contributing to Linux Open Source Projects.

Offline roberts

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7344
  • Founder Emeritus
Re: Core v4.5.2
« Reply #14 on: May 05, 2012, 08:42:52 AM »
found issue in apps-browser (tcz)
now selected extension can not be excluded
from the list of extensions which are marked for deletion
apps -> maintenance -> dependencies and deletions -> mark for deletion
apps -> maintenance -> dependencies and deletions -> display marked for deletion
Yes, I see I forgot to activate a button. It is hard to be perfect. I guess in the future we should have a multi month relese candidate testing cycle, so that some of the nuances can be caught. Bu then many won't touch an RC. Standby I will post another update.
I will post fix shortly.
10+ Years Contributing to Linux Open Source Projects.