WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: How do I recompile dwm?  (Read 8957 times)

Offline actionbastard

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
How do I recompile dwm?
« on: April 15, 2012, 12:01:15 PM »
Hi, t

Ive been using dwm for a bit and I really enjoy it and would like to customize it. Could someone please tell me how exactly to recompile dwm? Im feeling completely lost.  :-\
« Last Edit: April 15, 2012, 03:16:36 PM by actionbastard »

Offline gutmensch

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 605
  • I can make it disappear, have no fear!
    • remembrance blog
Re: How do I recompile dwm?
« Reply #1 on: April 15, 2012, 03:20:30 PM »
Funny, the project site states "you only have to learn C" (to customize dwm) ;-) Seems to be plain simple to compile dwm, cd into the source dir and type make. Probably with Xorg-7.6-dev and of course with compiletc installed. No configure script needed or included. It's also said you should change the header file(s) to customize your own version of dwm... and if you take a look at config.def.h you see options for dwm (since they don't want configuring at runtime, you have to specify your options at compile time in config.def.h).


[edit]
you have to rename config.def.h to config.h after editing, the dmw.c files says you should read main() to know what's going on *lol* very funny ;)
[/edit]
« Last Edit: April 15, 2012, 03:25:33 PM by gutmensch »
If I seem unduly clear to you, you must have misunderstood what I said. (Alan Greenspan)

Offline actionbastard

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
Re: How do I recompile dwm?
« Reply #2 on: April 15, 2012, 04:06:25 PM »
Im glad you find that amusing. Im really trying to put all the effort I can into this.

Would the source of this file be under /root or another folder? Also ive been looking in MC for config.def.h but cannot find this.  Thanks

Offline gerald_clark

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4254
Re: How do I recompile dwm?
« Reply #3 on: April 15, 2012, 04:30:00 PM »

Offline Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11271
Re: How do I recompile dwm?
« Reply #4 on: April 15, 2012, 05:39:07 PM »
Hi actionbastard
After you download  dwm-tc03192012.tar.xz
xz -d dwm-tc03192012.tar.xz
tar -xf dwm-tc03192012.tar
cd dwm-6.0
You are now in the source directory.

Offline solorin

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 184
Re: How do I recompile dwm?
« Reply #5 on: April 15, 2012, 09:23:35 PM »
Happy someone is getting some use out of the dwm extension as I had some mixed feelings about even submitting it.

Don't mind gutenmensch, actionbastard, I suspect he just finds the suckless *attitude* funny.

Stick with it. Reading the gentoo & arch docs help as well.

Good luck realizing the desktop of your dreams.

P.S. Maybe we should just offer the dwm sources as a package?
« Last Edit: April 15, 2012, 10:03:34 PM by solorin »
. . . if you don't know, now you know. . .
        ----- R.I.P. Biggie Smalls -----

Offline actionbastard

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
Re: How do I recompile dwm?
« Reply #6 on: May 28, 2012, 06:54:30 PM »
Thanks for the support. I was wondering. Do i need Dmenu  or could i use dwm's bar to create a menu bar of its own? Ive seen some pictures and they dont seem to have both bars.

Offline solorin

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 184
Re: How do I recompile dwm?
« Reply #7 on: May 28, 2012, 11:18:01 PM »
http://dwm.suckless.org/dwmstatus/
http://dwm.suckless.org/tutorial/
what the dwm statusbar does.

you are also welcome to use, copy, or modify the attached script.
note: you'll need xsetroot.tcz for this to work.

http://forum.tinycorelinux.net/index.php/topic,12783.0.html
this thread might be informative too.

you don't *need* dmenu per se. it's a pretty sweet utility tho.
dzen and yeahlaunch are other programs that do similar things.

reading some docs would probrably answer all your questions.
cheerio.
« Last Edit: May 29, 2012, 01:47:57 AM by solorin »
. . . if you don't know, now you know. . .
        ----- R.I.P. Biggie Smalls -----

Offline solorin

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 184
Re: How do I recompile dwm?
« Reply #8 on: June 01, 2012, 01:39:51 AM »
improved dwm startup/statusbar script
now with netstats

throw it in ~/.X.d

comments and suggestions welcome

btw, can anyone tell me why:

$expr 1 + 1
2

$expr 1 * 1
expr: syntax error
« Last Edit: June 01, 2012, 01:52:31 AM by solorin »
. . . if you don't know, now you know. . .
        ----- R.I.P. Biggie Smalls -----

Offline gerald_clark

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4254
Re: How do I recompile dwm?
« Reply #9 on: June 01, 2012, 07:59:25 AM »
* has special meaning to the shell.
To see what that is try "echo *"

What you need to do is:
expr  1 \* 1
or
echo $(( 1 * 1 ))

ANS=`expr 1 \* 1`
echo $ANS
ANS=$(( 1 * 1 ))
echo $ANS

Offline solorin

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 184
Re: How do I recompile dwm?
« Reply #10 on: June 01, 2012, 02:33:52 PM »
right, of course. how did i not connect that?
*facepalm*

thanks once again, @gerald_clark.
i'll see myself off your lawn now ;)
. . . if you don't know, now you know. . .
        ----- R.I.P. Biggie Smalls -----

Offline gutmensch

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 605
  • I can make it disappear, have no fear!
    • remembrance blog
Re: How do I recompile dwm?
« Reply #11 on: June 01, 2012, 03:33:25 PM »
...and let me add let for lets sake :)
Code: [Select]
let VAR="1 * 1"
If I seem unduly clear to you, you must have misunderstood what I said. (Alan Greenspan)

Offline solorin

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 184
Re: How do I recompile dwm?
« Reply #12 on: June 01, 2012, 04:08:11 PM »
reading some docs would probably answer all my questions.  :-"
« Last Edit: June 01, 2012, 04:10:15 PM by solorin »
. . . if you don't know, now you know. . .
        ----- R.I.P. Biggie Smalls -----