WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: tcl 4.5  (Read 657 times)

Offline cast-fish

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 651
tcl 4.5
« on: April 27, 2012, 03:22:01 AM »
Hello

is anybody able to get flash working with a typical browser like Opera?

am i doing something wrong?

1) install sound first
2) install browser (run it)
3) install flash

Hmmm

V.

Offline cast-fish

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 651
Re: tcl 4.5
« Reply #1 on: April 27, 2012, 04:36:52 AM »
hello

no luck here with tcl 4.5

tried fresh CD boots and installing ....

1) sound (works) OSS
2) Browsers  ( Firefox)  (works)
3) getFlash  (seemed to work)

but no flash web browsing...in firefox.....?

so did 2 completely clean tcl CD boots and fresh installs of the Above using Opera11 and Opera next, but it was the same story again with both systems.....no flash web browsing.

any ideas

V.

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6475
Re: tcl 4.5
« Reply #2 on: April 27, 2012, 04:46:25 AM »
It's working fine for me, although it's some time since I made my flash extension.

Once flash and firefox are loaded, does /usr/local/firefox-official/plugins/libflashplayer.so exist?

..and what does this give:
Code: [Select]
$ ldd /usr/local/firefox-official/plugins/libflashplayer.so | grep found
« Last Edit: April 27, 2012, 04:50:21 AM by Juanito »

Offline curaga

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7911
Re: tcl 4.5
« Reply #3 on: April 27, 2012, 04:49:16 AM »
For reference, I did a quick test with 4.5, "tce-load -wi opera9 getFlash11" and it ran fine.

See if the flash extension was created correctly, what your browser's plugin page says, etc.
The only barriers that can stop you are the ones you create yourself.

Offline cast-fish

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 651
Re: tcl 4.5
« Reply #4 on: April 27, 2012, 05:00:05 AM »
hello

i got rid of it all now

so i can't test your firefox command

flash certainly ain't working in tcl 4.5 here, with the latest browsers that i listed.

i just tried several browsers....so i can report to you that Flash ain't working in tcl 4.5 with the latest
browsers

V


Offline cast-fish

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 651
Re: tcl 4.5
« Reply #5 on: April 27, 2012, 05:07:43 AM »
Hello

OperaNext is what i am trying now

it reports

in .................... /usr/local/lib/opera-next/plugins:/usr/local/lib/opera/plugins:/usr/local/lib/mozilla/plugins

/usr/local/lib/opera/plugins/libflashplayer.so   

(shockwave flash 11.2 r202 )..........it says

in it's plug ins info page....



seems correct

V

Offline floppy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 577
Re: tcl 4.5
« Reply #6 on: April 28, 2012, 12:54:03 AM »
Hello

is anybody able to get flash working with a typical browser like Opera?

am i doing something wrong?

1) install sound first
2) install browser (run it)
3) install flash

Hmmm

V.
From my remembereing I made one time with opera
1) put sound at boot (and install specific setups in backup at boot)
2) run the browser
3) put the browser setups ".opera" in the backup at boot
4) install getflash
5) run it
6) put the flash.tcz onboot (browser not necessary at boot).
So far I remember, it wqas running (Im using minefield6 now)
AMD K6-IIIATZ 550MHz MB DFI K6xv3/+66
P4 HP DC7100 3GB 3GHz
Samsung NC10 boot from SD card port (via USB reader)
.. all TinyCore proofed

Offline cast-fish

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 651
Re: tcl 4.5
« Reply #7 on: April 28, 2012, 05:50:14 AM »
Yes.

That looks similar to what's normally done.

Have yet to test some settings to discover if the real reason for no
flash is not enough ram memory (new flash needs 512 meg on Linux......this laptop only 256)

will have to do these checks and also try an earlier version of flash than the current

V