WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: VLC is not working  (Read 5244 times)

Offline Maxbillion

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
VLC is not working
« on: February 25, 2012, 12:11:30 PM »
VLC is not working on the new 4.3 version. it will not starts.

Offline AbNoRMiS

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 551
  • nothing can be impeccable in this imperfect world
    • @ß№®M!$
Re: VLC is not working
« Reply #1 on: February 25, 2012, 12:19:07 PM »
what errors are issued when run vlc from console?
Basic Design Concept © @ß№®M!$
please forgive my terrible english :)

Offline Maxbillion

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: VLC is not working
« Reply #2 on: February 25, 2012, 12:20:33 PM »
there is no errors. it can not start the program after i click on it.

Offline AbNoRMiS

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 551
  • nothing can be impeccable in this imperfect world
    • @ß№®M!$
Re: VLC is not working
« Reply #3 on: February 25, 2012, 12:33:17 PM »
vlc works in 4.3 for me
maybe should check missing dependencies
AppBrowser -> Build Reporting Database -> Fetch Missing Dependencies
Basic Design Concept © @ß№®M!$
please forgive my terrible english :)

Offline Maxbillion

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: VLC is not working
« Reply #4 on: February 25, 2012, 12:48:31 PM »
Funny! somehow, it works on tcz. file, but it does not work on scm. file.

Offline AbNoRMiS

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 551
  • nothing can be impeccable in this imperfect world
    • @ß№®M!$
Re: VLC is not working
« Reply #5 on: February 25, 2012, 01:05:59 PM »
this is good :)
but for this you need go to another company department :D
Basic Design Concept © @ß№®M!$
please forgive my terrible english :)

Offline Jason W

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7092
Re: VLC is not working
« Reply #6 on: February 25, 2012, 04:34:17 PM »
I am assuming this means that the vlc.scm is not working.  How does it now work?  Does id not download, does it not start, are there certain media types it will not play?

It seems to work fine here, so more details will help find the issue.

Offline Maxbillion

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: VLC is not working
« Reply #7 on: February 26, 2012, 02:57:36 PM »
I really do not know how is not work that work again. here are the steps I did. Frist, I downloaded the vlc from the Scmbrowser and installed the vlc.scm. Then, I clicked the vlc iron on wbar, and there was nothing happening. After that, I uninstalled the vlc in the Scmbrowswer and deleted the vlc.scm from hard-drive. So, I downloaded vlc.tcz from the appbrowswer. it worked for no reason at all.

Offline Maxbillion

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: VLC is not working
« Reply #8 on: February 26, 2012, 03:06:29 PM »
How does it now work? 
When I click on the vlc iron on the wbar, the media player have no response.

Does id not download, does it not start,
what ID?    Yes, it does not start

are there certain media types it will not play?
there is nothing to do about the media types. the problem is that I can't open the media player.

Offline Jason W

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7092
Re: VLC is not working
« Reply #9 on: February 26, 2012, 04:32:37 PM »
My bad, I see where you stated that it does not start. 

It starts here, but I will download it and try it again.

Offline roberts

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7344
  • Founder Emeritus
Re: VLC is not working
« Reply #10 on: February 26, 2012, 09:59:33 PM »
Do you have dbus loaded and running. If not vlc will not start.
10+ Years Contributing to Linux Open Source Projects.

Offline Jason W

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7092
Re: VLC is not working
« Reply #11 on: February 27, 2012, 06:58:42 AM »
I am in the process of working a load and start of dbus.tcz if not already loaded/started into the startup scripts of scms that need it.  I would like to call on dbus.tcz in the startup script like we would kernel modules if needed rather than build it into each scm, which for dbus I have not had good results with.

Offline roberts

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7344
  • Founder Emeritus
Re: VLC is not working
« Reply #12 on: February 27, 2012, 08:41:32 AM »
This could result in system breakage when only scms reply on dbus. As dbus is a tcz and would be under the control of tcz appsaudit and in such case would be a candidate for removal resulting in inoperable scms.
10+ Years Contributing to Linux Open Source Projects.

Offline Jason W

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7092
Re: VLC is not working
« Reply #13 on: February 27, 2012, 10:58:25 AM »
I guess we are in a bit of a dilemma, leaving the only option to use a self contained dbus installed into the scm and started by the start script, and would need to be stopped if the extension is to be unmounted otherwise the mount point is in use.  I will try to get that working, it is how Apple does it with their self contained packages so it should be doable. 

Offline Jason W

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7092
Re: VLC is not working
« Reply #14 on: February 28, 2012, 02:45:36 PM »
Being unfamiliar with dbus, I overlooked a simple solution, using "dbus-launch --exit-with-session vlc".  That loads dbus for the running session, and then dbus exits when the app exits.  Works with vlc, and no need to worry about a running process from within the scm that would interfere with unmounting the extension.   Each app needing dbus can contain it and run it's own session for only the app's session. 

 I will update vlc and transmission-gtk3 to this approach tonight.