WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Using tinycore to repair a machine?  (Read 7701 times)

Offline dyspoid

Using tinycore to repair a machine?
« on: February 05, 2012, 07:36:11 AM »
Hey guys, I'm currently trying to fix up and old laptop that we haven't used in years. It's a good little thing, a bit old, but I'm enjoying trying to fix it. Anyway, it has a pretty bad problem, it seems that a virus has screwed up the HDD, or something like that. As such, I installed tinycore on my usb, and have booted to that. I've managed to view (well, see that they're there) files located on the  HDD, does this mean that it is still in tact? Could I actually resurrect this computer?

Would my next course of action be to install some kind of antivirus, to fix it, or to format the HDD or something? I'm a noob, but I get interested and learn pretty quickly.

Any help is appreciated, and I'm really sorry if this is the wrong place.

Offline bmarkus

• Administrator
    • My Community Forum
Re: Using tinycore to repair a machine?
« Reply #1 on: February 05, 2012, 07:50:01 AM »
If it was not used for years, probably the best is just format the HDD and make a fresh install.

Guess it is a WINDOWS machine. Also you can try to check with CLAMAV antivirus (install ntfs-3g to get access to WINDOWS drive).

All depends on what do you want to use it for in the future. LINUX can be an alternative to WINDOWS reinstall but consider LINUX on laptop is not so triviall due to energie management (well, if your battery is already dead it is not so important). And of course what is the configuration.
Béla
Ham Radio callsign: HA5DI

"Amateur Radio: The First Technology-Based Social Network."

Offline dyspoid

« Reply #2 on: February 05, 2012, 08:00:39 AM »
Thankyou for your response, bmarkus.

How might I do that, while running tinycore? Are there any tools that I need to download?

It is a windows machine, was running XP.