WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: mocp: libdb-4.8.so not found  (Read 7040 times)

Offline chrisb

mocp: libdb-4.8.so not found
« on: March 16, 2011, 09:54:24 AM »
Hello,

I am new to tinycore. I installed package moc and tried to run mocp: "mocp: error while loading shared libraries: libdb-4.8.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory". In /usr/local/lib there exists libdb-5.1.so but no libdb-4.8.so. Did I do something wrong or is this a bug?

Also: can anyone recommend a small tinycore internet radio player that will play AAC streams? I've tried xmms and vlc but neither work (tested on http://di.fm 32k AAC stream).
« Last Edit: March 16, 2011, 10:06:45 AM by chrisb »

Online Rich

• Administrator
Re: mocp: libdb-4.8.so not found
« Reply #1 on: March 16, 2011, 10:18:44 AM »
Hi chrisb
You didn't do anything wrong. The bsddb.tcz  package that moc depends on got updated to a newer
version. Open a terminal and type  sudo ln -s /usr/local/lib/libdb-5.1.so /usr/local/lib/libdb-4.8.so  and
see if that helps. If the libraries are not compatible then one of the experts will have to help you.

Offline tinypoodle

« Reply #2 on: March 16, 2011, 12:47:29 PM »
Also: can anyone recommend a small tinycore internet radio player that will play AAC streams? I've tried xmms and vlc but neither work (tested on http://di.fm 32k AAC stream).

You'd have to specify a specific direct link for testing, but FWIW, random links on that site with extension .pls work fine with Mplayer-nodeps.
"Software gets slower faster than hardware gets faster." Niklaus Wirth - A Plea for Lean Software (1995)

Offline chrisb

« Reply #3 on: March 16, 2011, 05:11:45 PM »
Thank you, I can't believe I forgot about mplayer... it plays the AAC streams fine.

I guess mocp needs recompiling.